We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my first trip to Bali, and we couldnt have chosen a more amazing hotel. I cant recomment the Puri Santrian highly enough. The room was immaculately cleaned, the buffet breakfast was vast and varied from day to day, the staff were incredible with their service and ability to speak and understand english, and the grounds and surroundings of the hotel were superb.
We are already planning another trip to Bali, and are not even going to consider staying anwhere else. Its Puri Santrian for us. Why bother improving on excellence.
I also highly recommend the romantic dinner for two. I didnt think it was possible to have such a perfect meal.

Room Tip: The bungalow is a bit more expensive, but is well worth it for the privacy and experience. The gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    724
    226
    60
    47
See reviews for
353
1,253
79
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room and the bathroom are llittle bit old.Very friendly crew in the hotel,allways smiling and interresting.Beautifull garden and nice beach.Breakfest was more than enough and a lot of variation.The Balinese buffet in the hotel was very special and a very nice performens

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucmarivoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked a basic Garden Room here, and to be honest it wasn't bad, just needed a bit of TLC. It was also way at the back of the complex where some of the rooms had been turned into offices, which made us feel a bit remote and isolated. We were only here for 5 nights, so it wasn't worth all the hassle of changing rooms, and after all, we got what we had booked - I assume if they had a better Garden room available they would have put us there - if not why not? Anyway it was OK. Good breakfast, decent retstaurant and bars, good service and really lovely staff. The main irritation here is the 'reservation of sunbeds' a crime committed mainly by German and Eastern European (Russian, Ukraine etc) whereby they place towels or other items on sunbeds and then go back to bed or go to breakfast or go off for the day and hardly use them. I have never understood the point of going on holiday to get the towel an suntan, but the practice is rife here. The worst example I saw was of one couple (Russian I think) putting a sundress on one of the double sunbathing mattresses, and then their towels on two other sunbeds, and not being around for hours. The hotel states that they will remove such items if the sunbeds are unattended for 30 minutes, but this simply is not enforced. For this reason alone I would not return to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, upgrade to Beach wing and get up early to put your towel out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Me and Husband visited this hotel for 12 nights at the end of September, beginning of October 2012 after travelling from Hong Kong. We were upgraded to a premier deluxe bunaglow on arrival and I can honestly say, it was gorgeous and we could not have asked for anything else.

This hotel is perfect for couples wanting to relax and unwind. The grounds are beautiful, the beach and pool areas were stunning with beds on the beach to watch the sun set.

I would recommend white water rafting - this was brilliant and also the elephant treking was great too.

The staff at puri santrian were amazing and always willing to help. There is always some one there to help and they are so friendly.

The only thing I would say, was that if you were to visit any near by places, do not use the hotel taxis as they were triple the price. The blue cabs outside charge around 50 to 60 rupers to Kuta were the hotel taxi charged us 140 to go.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Mr and Mrs Gibson

Room Tip: Premier Deluxe Bungalow room was fantastic and a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrygent82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Yes, it was my 9th trip having come to Bali since the 70s, then as a travel agent, and now as a mother of 2 boys aged 9 and 11. Of course I wanted my quiet time in Ubud (tho not so quiet these days ) but thought the boys would like a few days by the beach with a big pool, day beds etc. i avoid Kuta like the plague and find Nusa Dua is too cloistered. we did Jimbaran Bay at the beginning of the trip and finished at the Puri Santrian. It was everything I wanted. We got adjoie ning rooms with the boys ( not large but much better to have 2 small rooms when with kids than all be in one big one and they were delighted to have their own TV and balcony. we were on the second floor of the beach wing and could see the pool which is lovely and the beach. Thought the breakfast buffet was great, loved grabbing a huge day bed for all the family and just chilling. The staff were of course delightful, hired some bikes and rode along the beach front. Beware, the hotel doesnt have small bikes for kids so we went out the gate and found one for hire.. the beach is great here - clean and calm and shallow and the free access to a canoe kept the boys happy for hours. All in all very happy to recommend Puri Santrian

Room Tip: Beach wing seemed to have best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We're just back from Bali, 17 days in Puri Santrian.
As honeymooners you get some free gifts (cake, massage) from the hotel. The staff also always remembers to take special care of you :) We had a great time in Puri, been assigned a spacious room with great view (beach wing). All the staff were friendly and helpful, smiling all the time. Hotel is very clean and high standard. Two big pools overgrown with trees, decorated and built to your comfort are placed just next to the beach. Puri Santrian is situated next to a clean, wide beach, with good access to the ocean. Beach is cleaned of seaweed every day, pools, garden and all premises are cleaned regurarly during the day.

The only thing that can bother you is looking for a non-reseved sun lounge. All those big comfortable ones are being reserved by guests since early morning.

Some hotel offers (spa, restaurant) are somewhat pricy and you might find it much better/cheaper to find the services outside of the hotel. Though I have to admit that the quality of Puri Santrian services is very high so many guests don't bother looking for other options. You can also see some people (not hotel guests) walking along the beach and entering Puri's restaurant for breakfast /drink/dinner. If you want the cheaper option there are several good restaurants (we like Toro Toro especially) and massage parlours (Suar was our choice) just along the beach side and the main Sanur street (turn right from the hotel gate).

Additinally we were using some of hotel's recreation offer (yoga, tenis, bikes, kayak... pools and restaurant too) - it's good to have it all available, you just go to the recreation staff and make a reservation for next day.

Although the price of room is not too low, you get good value for money and I can recommend Puri Santrian for your leisure and relaxation in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korsarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Puri Santrian with our 2 children (7 and 10) and really enjoyed the relaxing, welcoming atmosphere of the hotel. The beachfront is quiet (no hawkers!) with beautiful day beds and sun lounges. There is a footpath all along the beach which gives access to local shops, restaurants and warungs - or more upmarket hotel restaurants. The main pool is perfect for children and the smaller pool is nice and quiet to relax. The Spa and the treatments, the professionalism of the staff are to be commended.
Almost on a daily basis we were approached by staff asking if everything was to our satisfaction, a special mention deserves Sonia, a lady who initially checked us in and then kept in contact over our stay. All up - I would recommend this hotel for families and couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing