We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not return to this hotel”
Review of The Griya Sanur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Griya Sanur
Ranked #62 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We will not return to this hotel”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Although the hotel was alright, but we will not return.

First of all the location was very far from the central area and you could get better hotels near the sanur centre. I think their website says they are walking distance to sanur beach (if I am not wrong), but as soon as we reached the girl at the reception said that No, you can not walk as it's very far!!!

The breakfast was supposed to be buffet. The staff at the reception very arrogantly said that today we are not having buffet coz there are very few guests. I asked for a repeat order of some fruits and he plainly refused. When we complained then the restaurant manager took care of us and had much better hospitality manners. So it worked out fine in the end but we didnt appreciate the cold behavior of the wait staff.

The air con was not cooling enough. The staff showed us few other rooms but similar situation of the aircon. Finally we settled with something marginally better. After taking bath, the water would not drain easily. And the security lock was so secure that we could not open it with our own pin code. So had to get the hotel staff to open it for us!

Other things in the hotel were alright.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
49
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rangamati, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

very good stay...nice food. stayed here 6 nights....had dinner every night here because of yummy food....they arranged unplugged concert & balinese dance show for us at night while taking dinner 2 times.....stayed ground floor.....direct facing to the pool....small room...quite pool....so nice...spa expensive....with good breakfast only $60...great staff.....smooth wifi....

Room Tip: ground floor....facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tridibesh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The stay was pleasant enough and the room was nice but the air-con unit had a filter warning and looked like it needed a clean and it was struggling to keep the room cool.
The food was ok but nothing to boast about. The pool area is rather nice and i found the staff very nice.

reviewed by www.leglesswanderer.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked a Garden WIng room for four nights to get away from it all for our wedding anniversary.
The hotel location is excellent and very handy to restaurants, shops, the beach and other hotels. On arrival we were immediately upgraded to a room above the pool and right by the beach. And very nice it was too, spacious, good cleaning standards, nice aircon, good facilities and so on.
The gardens and pool were very well kept and the staff was efficient at all times.
We only ate there once - a breakfast which to be honest wasn't all that flash and the coffee was pretty institutional.
I would definitely go back and stay there again so top marks to the management.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201, an upstairs balcony room - very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardingontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Griya Sanur for four nights in February 2014.
We had a great start with the welcome drink and our free 10 minute massage :-)
The room was pretty, big enough and always clean. The bathroom was really nice, modern and offered everything we needed including big fluffy towels, shampoo, shower gel, soap, hair dryer, ...
The breakfast was included and really good as well: Tea, coffee, two fruit juices, fresh fruit, toast, pancakes, fried rice or noodles, omelette and more. The hotel restaurant was pretty and offered cheap meals thst we really enjoyed. (We had dinner there two times.)
The pool was amazing, we liked it and had a swim at least once a day.
The staff was very polite, friendly and helpful and gave us advice. They even helped us a lot booking tours and drivers. Wi-Fi was available but you have to login every time you start to use it. That might be annoying sometimes. There were two desktop computers available close to the lobby, that was good.
The location is next to the main street but you don't really hear any loud noises. It's a 10-15 minute walk to Sanur centre and the beach. Not the best location but okay because everything else was great! I'll come back!

Room Tip: Choose one with pool access/ground floor - it's the best thing to open the door and walk two met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine-Mueller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolum beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our arrival here was rather a shock to the system. The hotel is located on the extremely busy bypass road and not at all near to the beach - its clean and has a Balinese feel to it. Inside the hotel the road noise is reduced. The rooms are modern and clean - baths in those upstairs. No shower curtains so water does splash. Although some report the rooms to be small we had a queen size bed which allowed room for luggage and we found the space adequate. We did have to be moved to different rooms twice and ended up being put downstairs near to the pool due to a constant, intrusive and extremely annoying squealing sound in the pipes through the ceiling. It was driving us crazy. Hopefully this will be corrected for future guests - otherwise avoid the upstairs rooms particularly 226 - 232. Just check your room first. Breakfasts were fine - a selection of fruits, rice and noodle dish, eggs cooked to order, bacon, toast, croissants, juices, tea and coffee. Every day the same choices, but we were fine with that. We hired a motor bike to get around to the beach and shops and to explore. However we quickly learned that the Police are into harassing foreigners on motorbikes, especially near McDonalds corner and traffic lights. Despite wearing helmuts, carrying an international license and rego papers for the bike, fabricated offences were given to us and we were told to pay up a bribe or go to court. It was intimidating and off putting. Just be warned, be aware, be cautious and drive like the locals.
We discovered a laneway (look for PEARL sign on opposite side of the Griya Sanur Hotel walking south for about 100 -150mts) take the laneway and go through the twists and turns. It will take you out to the main street in Sanur where you will find all the restaurants and shops. There are excellent choices for eating out and very very good prices. We ate somewhere different every night. Hardy's supermarket is tucked away along the street and is great for stocking up supplies of snacks, drinks and fruit. We found the beach entrance in the street down from Mcdonalds. There is a market there as well and the long stretch of beach is really lovely. There is a reef break further out so its a calm and protected water front. Lots of restaurants and bars - a bike path and walkway. We loved to park ourselves down the fartherest end in front of the Hyatt under this enormous shady tree. No hawkers, just peace and tranquility. There are plenty of activities such as diving and day trips for the adventurous. Overall, if Griya Sanur Hotel had been closer to the beach and away from the Bypass road we would happily stay again. The pool is very attractive and all rooms overlook it. There are only 6 lounges, but hanging at the hotel all day is not for everyone. In total...loved the staff, but would not return. It was a package deal at a great price which was a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliet757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I wanted a quiet hotel to relax for the week, the Griya Sanur is certainly that. We choose a ground floor room as it has access directly onto the pool deck. Pool is nice but only has 6 lounges on the deck. Rooms are quite small with very little cupboard space. Shower is large with a nice rainshower head. There is really nothing within walking distance, but taxis to the restaurant district will set you back $2.50. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms lead right out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradtez1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
1.2 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#52 of 78 in Sanur
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sukun Bali Cottages
Sukun Bali Cottages
#59 of 78 in Sanur
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ganga Hotel and Apartment
Ganga Hotel and Apartment
#88 of 277 in Denpasar
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louto Dmell Homestay
Louto Dmell Homestay
#34 of 135 in Sanur
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alia Home
Alia Home
#27 of 135 in Sanur
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griya Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Sanur

Property: The Griya Sanur
Address: Jalan Bay Pass Ngurah Rai Sanur No.402, Sanur, Denpasar 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Griya Sanur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Griya Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing