We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur
Ranked #13 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Mudgee, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good value for money”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Aquarius with my 13 year old son for 12 days at the start of January, we arrived at 10.30pm on New Years eve, We had a downstairs room, I had booked for 2 singles but after seeing the massive 4 poster bed with a canopy instead, I didn't complain. We were offered an extra bed, but I declined, as it would have been a bit of a tight squeeze, upstairs rooms are bigger. We dumped our gear and headed straight down to the beach for The New Years Festivities. Back home in bed at 12.15 with ear plugs in, didn't hear a thing after that. The Aquarius is in a perfect location for our needs, short stroll to the beach, restaurants and shops etc. We didn't miss the usual buffet brekky which is usually on offer at other hotels, plenty of places 2mins away. Luhtus was definately our favoutite, with a full brekky ranging from $2.50 to $5.00 each day. Great meals, cakes and coffee too. I found that our room was cleaned very well each day and the staff were always very happy and friendly. The manager Mahandra (hope I spelled it right) was a lovely man and always on for a chat. Lovely gardens, nice clean pool area, unfortunately there was a lot of rain during our stay so only had short dips, my son enjoyed the pool table. The rooms had ceiling fans as well as airconditioning, so we used the fans more, found they cooled the room nicely. Bathrooms are huge, towels are small. The bed was extremely comfortable with great pillows. I was a bit surprised with the linen on the beds.. only 2 small single sheets, plus bottom sheet and no cover, however this was all you really needed, especially as we were not using the air con. Certainly don't need a blanket in Bali, if you do, you need to turn air con off. Overall I would definately stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a low cost Bali holiday, if you want flash it is not for you, but if you want clean big rooms at a great location, a small quiet hotel, friendly staff, it is great value for money. I paid $70 per night.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are bigger if you need to have an extra bed for a child
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melchestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    67
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
70
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our arrival to Aquarius was in the early hours of the morning to very friendly and helpful staff who were as keen to get us to our room as we were. Unfortunately there was a stuff up with the rooms that were booked – we arranged and had confirmation of 2 upstairs rooms but were initially offered 2 downstairs rooms. After about 30 minutes of shuffling our luggage around we were finally shown upstairs rooms.

The upstairs rooms are large, with a beautiful 4 post canopy bed, large ensuite and private balcony with table & chairs. The rooms also have lovely artwork and are tastefully decorated. A lovely shaded pool area with a balcony for the sunbathers. There’s a lounge area downstairs which is amazing so you can take your drinks down there and enjoy a game of pool as we did most nights. There’s lots of comfy sofa’s and coffee tables as well as a large outside dining table if you want to make use of it. The rooms are clean, you get your towels replaced and new water bottles every day and rubbish cleared and surfaces wiped. I would say the bathroom cleaning was a little less than desirable – we actually bought some bleach at the supermarket and I did a scrub myself mid-stay as there was mould and dirt in the shower recess that I couldn’t stand to be around – I didn’t want to complain to offend anybody – people have different cleaning standards so you get what you pay for. There are no blankets on the beds – you get 2 single sheets – that’s it which was a bit weird but after 2 nights I didnt miss a blanket at all.

The curtains were a bit of a pain as they didn’t exactly block out the light so we woke up most mornings early – so I recommend a mask if you need it dark to sleep – so instead of complaining about something that can’t be helped and is merely a personal preference I got a mask after the first night. The sliding glass doors also do not close properly and there is about a 1.5 inch gap between the door and the glass, so the noise that comes from outside is not dulled at all. Again no use in complaining about something the staff cannot help. Please keep in mind folks that this area of Sanur is still very much lived in by the local Balinese people so you will be woken by the sounds of dogs barking in the early hours, the noise of trucks, motorbikes and garbage collection with the odd rooster crowing thrown in. There is also a local Hindu temple 2 blocks down which broadcasts on loudspeaker their prayers to the surrounding area so you will be subject to lots of ceremonies and offerings and parades and drumming etc. So if you are after peace and tranquillity or are not the multicultural lover – Aquarius may not be for you. We on the other hand were rarely inside our rooms as we were out and about most days. When we were chilling by the pool where we had our ipods & books anyways. We didn’t mind the Hindu singing – after all we are in Bali – in another beautiful cultural country – if you don’t want to experience some different culture then why leave Australia in the first place?! (although one particular lady did sound like a strangled cat) but the blokes sounded great!

I highly recommend Luhtu’s Coffee Shop for breakfast and the Ayu Spa for all your massages and spa needs. All the girls were lovely and friendly and most spoke great English. The Whitesands Sports Bar across the road is also highly recommended – food is great, Bintangs are super cold – they will let you get takeaway cold Bintangs to take back to your room – as long as you return them the bottles!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room (this costs more) towards the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shonapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week. The room was big with nice interior with a scandinavian touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was okay, but there was not much sun. The hotel is located 5 min. walk from the beach.
There is no breakfast included, but there is a very good coffeeshop/restaurant (Luhtus Coffeeshop) by the beach, close to the hotel.
We would stay there again, and can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked directly with the hotel who didn't require any payment or credit card details in advance, just an email a few weeks beforeand to confirm the booking. They offered an airport transfer for 15USD, but I instead opted for an airport taxi for 95000Rp - the taxi didn't have any problem finding the place once I told the driver the street name.
The hotel is about halfway down Jl Pantai Sindhu, just opposite the White Sands bar. Check in went smoothly and the staff were very friendly, no welcome drink was offered. We opted for the upstairs deluxe room, which was nice and spacious with high ceiling, a very comfortable bed, personal electronic safe, flat screen TV with plenty of channels, small fridge (no drinks provided). The bathroom was a decent size with a large walk in shower, no shampoo/shower gel was provided. Towels and bedding were changed daily and unlike the previous Tripadvisor I thought the room was kept quite clean. On a couple of occasions though we returned to the room to a slightly drainy smell, not sure if this was from the water used to mop the floor. There was a nice little balcony outside the room with a couple of chairs and a table which you could enjoy late afternoon sun from.
The hotel itself is in a narrow walled plot, with a two storey block of rooms at one side, the reception opposite, then a kitchen area/pool table/seating area. At the end of the plot is a nice enough pool with sunbeds below and on a mezzanine. Pool towels are provided on a table next to the pool.
As many previous reviewers have mentioned, no breakfast is provided, but take a walk down the street the 100 metres to the beach and there you will find Luhtu's Coffee Shop, Rosetta's etc where breakfast is quite cheap.
Sunbeds can be rented on the beach, we opted to rent them at Andjani for 50000Rp for 2 beds and a parasol.
There is a decent little laundry service offered in an electrical shop just opposite the hotel next to the White Sands.
We arranged a late check out with no problem and at no cost, but the hotel was fairly quiet.
Overall, a decent enough little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happynoodleboy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Aquarius Beach Hotel for 4 days in September. It was our first time in Bali and it seemed like a good deal. The location is excellent as it's about 100 meters to the beach. There are countless shops and restaurants all within a few minutes walk of the hotel. We had the deluxe room which is apparently the larger option and on the upper floor, overlooking the garden. The room itself is very spacious with a fairly comfortable bed. The front desk staff were quite nice and helpful.

The main complaint would be the cleanliness of the room. Our feet were dark with dirt after a few minutes of walking around barefoot. This immediately detracted from us feeling comfortable and 'home' while in our room; it's the primary reason why we wouldn't return. A few other complaints include very inconsistent shower water pressure and temperature, as well as a sewage smell coming into the bathroom when the steam fan was on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinkaminka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

If you feel like sanur, this is the place! Very clean and spacious room, designed to a very comfortable atmosphere. Few number of rooms, makes you feel at home.
Rooms and bathroom equipped with daylight, and again very spacious. Nearby to almost every attraction and destination in sanur. Very very recommended! You should meet Hotel Manager Mr. Mahendra. He will treat you like God treat you in heaven! Very nice person and very professional!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuggy1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

small hotel, very quiet, except one night a group decided to pay pool in the middle of the night,,we had room no 4 directly opposite the pool table which was very noisy. Luckily it only happened once during our stay.. The rest of our stay was very peaceful with mainly couples staying.Staff are very attentive. Lutus cafe is a short stroll away and has great coffee and breakfast.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baligirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#25 of 78 in Sanur
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#32 of 78 in Sanur
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
0.6 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur

Property: Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur
Address: Jl. Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing