We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a fantastic place - away from the noise and bustle of Kuta but close enough to the coast.
We stayed three nights in early July 2013 and enjoyed every minute. Easy to organise day trips to Kuta or Nusa Dua if you fee the need.(but why would you?). Finished in September 2012, it is still new and very well appointed. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant produces a great breakfast menu that was included in the rate. The pool complex is wonderful.
Just stay away from the money changer in the alley way across the road - very bad experience there (nothing to do with the hotel, though). Easy access to beaches and shops and restaurants. Local drivers were very reliable in our experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room (415) and were very happy with it. Great bed, amazing pillows, high qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZafKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear ZafKNZ,

Thank you for staying in Sudamala Suites & Villas and enjoying its facilities and the friendly service provided the staff. We took great care in choosing our bedding and linen to provide our guests with total comfort and we’re happy to know how much you appreciated them.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 823 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights on our first trip to Sanur - in previous trips to Bali we've stayed at Kuta, Ubud and Seminyak. The hotel is more modern in style than many and features original artworks around the property and in the gallery - this was a really nice feature we enjoyed and a walk around the gallery is a must. The gardens are more modern than some but it's a nice, open, airy sort of feel. Lovely lobby with fish ponds, simple open reception, great pool area and although not crammed with loungers, it was never crowded at any time during our stay, and we spent quite some time by the pool. Pool was not too cold - you could hop in it at any time and it was cool enough to be refreshing, but not too cold. We had a downstairs room with a courtyard, which was nice to sit in during the day for a bit - ours had some vines creating shade. It would be good to leave a mosquito cool and matches there for if you wanted to sit outside at night. Semi outside bathroom with the shower and toilet in the "outside" bit, still covered by roof but with an open outside wall. Visual privacy was assured, but people do walk past the outside of the courtyard, and gardeners are often working on the gardens beyond the courtyard so sound privacy perhaps not - something that doesn't seem to get taken account of in Bali generally. If this doesn't appeal an upstairs room might suit better - the hotel has some choices about the room layouts, which is good. The other flaw with the bathroom set up was that while there were blinds to lower at night, these didn't come all the way down, so you can still get mozzies coming in. A mosquito coil is lit every night and placed here, which helps, and there are two doors between the outside area and the bedroom - a good idea to keep these closed. The simple solution would be blinds or lace curtains that provide a total insect protection at night and this wouldn't be particularly expensive - room for improvement on this point. Having said that, we didn't get bitten so it wasn't a problem in practice.

The room itself was reasonably sized and comfortable, large and very comfortable bed and a sofa as well. It was reasonably plain with some nice sepia prints and the very cool original doors really providing the only decoration. Not the lightest, as the courtyard was well fenced and shielded for privacy, but pleasant and comfortable.

There were a couple of odd points. One was that the door between the bathroom and bedroom wouldn't lock, despite their being a lock there, and you could, if sufficiently motivated, climb over the wall and into the bathroom, meaning the room didn't feel entirely secure. I never, ever use hotel safes, but made an exception here - the hotel makes a great point in their brochure of not taking responsibility, using the safe etc. Once came back to find our room unlocked after being cleaned - the housekeeping team appeared to have forgotten to lock it. And on our last day the door was abruptly opened without knocking at about 9 am by a staff member who apologised and said he had expected the room to be vacant. All easy enough mistakes to make and no harm done by any, but a bit more coordination would tidy these things up - for instance housekeeping should always knock even if the room is expected to be vacant.

The other minor niggles were providing a duvet cover but no top sheet on the first night - was stripping this off to have the equivalent of a top sheet at 1 am as it was too hot - fortunately the housekeeping team set us up with a top sheet after that - and originally quoting us more for the transfer to the airport than the hotel's brochure said it would be - this was amended when I queried it, but consistency was lacking here.

Breakfast was great - really nice food. How the included breakfast works was never explained properly - we got told it was the menus on the first page - but it seems you can choose from the wider menu as well. Probably as well my husband didn't realise this til the last day as otherwise he probably would have gone for french toast with chocolate sauce every day! Plenty of food, lovely warmed pastries, great fruit toast and jam, you could have tea or espresso coffees, nice fruit, and plenty of other options there as well. We had an early departure and they made us up a breakfast box to take to the airport, which was brilliant - 4 pastries / breads and 3 pieces of fruit and a water bottle - a great touch.

Our very early transfer, once the price was sorted, went very smoothly.

We liked the bowl of fruit in the room on arrival, the turndown service with the choccy, bedtime story and schedule for the next day. We got the chocolate and flower every night, but sadly only 2 bedtime stories and only the schedules for 2 of the days - they probably ran out or had a printing hiccup.

I did the yoga class that is run on alternate week days - this was fantastic, a really great teacher who really knew her stuff. Highly recommended. You will sweat though! It doesn't feel hot - nice breezy pavilion - but you work hard.

We went to the beach area a few times - ask the staff to point you in the right direction and then it's clearly signposted which lane to go down. Didn't spend much time on the loungers by the sea but they are there and had a good view of the outrigger boats and the beach and sea.

Overall, a really nice place, with some really inspired features. A couple of consistency things that could improve, but nothing that would spoil your holiday. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AngeNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear AngeNz,

Thank you for your thorough and helpful review of Sudamala Suites & Villas. It certainly has given us a lot point to revisit and improve on. As we continue on our journey to provide our guests with the best experience possible, your keen observations are very much appreciated. I am very confident we’ll have ironed out all the creases very soon ensuring you’ll have a smooth experience when you return to Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Sanur is where the bali tourism industry first kicked off and it is there that the Sudamala Suites and Villas is located. Its a large hotel complex complete with its own art gallery, library and a rather pleasant pool plus passable cafe. The rooms are comfy and pretty nicely set up. Staff are also very friendly and helpful. Although Sudamala is huge, it didnt feel busy and we frequently had most of the pool area to ourselves which was both relaxing and peaceful.

The beach access is about a 15 minute walk and the beach itself is pleasant with loungers etc.

If you're looking for a relaxing stay you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear PatrickP,

It had always been the intention of the hotel’s designers to preserve a tranquil and relaxing ambiance of the hotel no matter how high its occupancy. We’re glad it worked out well and that you were able to enjoy the peace and quiet that is Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent two nights at Sudamala Suites and regret that we did not stay longer. The hotel is beautifully designed, very cozy, the staff is super friendly and very attentive.
Good:
The rooms are large and nicely furnished in balinese style.
Breakfast is very good with a large choice of different (continental) food.
The pool is just perfect, not too large, good temperature, you can have lunch there (try the Green Papaya Salad!) or simply relax all day long. There is also a spa with good offers and yoga lessons on Mon/Wed/Fri.
Just a short walk from the beach with own section;
Not so good: lots of mosquitoes, A/C blows directly on the bed (but without sleeping is not possible);

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munich_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Munich_2011,

Thank you for your kind review of Sudamala Suites &Villas and brining to our attention where we need to improve. We continue our efforts to contain the mosquitoes and immediately looked into the matter with the A/C, so these will no longer be an issue when you return to Sudamala to continue your stay. I’ll make sure the Green Papaya Salad stays in our menu!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just stayed 3 nights at Sudamala Sanur and loved the place. Our room was delicious, perfect bed and bedding, big restroom, lovely balcony. The pool is something unforgetable, perfect temperature, beautiffull setting. And the staf, super friendly and lovelly, I wish all hotel staff in the world would be like the balinese ones... Love it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear JessicaDeSilva,

It’s great of you to share how much you loved Sudamala Suites & Villas and how much you appreciated the natural and friendly hospitality of the Balinese staff. Thank you so much.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sudamala Suites for 7 days earlier this month and could not fault it. The rooms were beautifully appointed and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was excellent and the beach a very short walk away. Restaurants and warnings nearby were of a great standard. Enjoyed our stay immensely and will recommend to all family and friends if travelling to Bali.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryandElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear HarryandElizabeth,

Thank you kindly four enjoying your stay in Sudamala Suites & Villas and for recommending it to your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming them to the hotel.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay! We actually stayed there twice during our trip because we liked it so much the first time.

The whole place is so relaxing and peaceful. The facilities are well maintained and clean. The food in the restaurant is delicious! Breakfast was so filling we were usually able to have a light lunch while we were touring away from the hotel. We loved having WiFi avaliable throughout the whole complex.

We actually had the same room both times. It was a second floor garden view room. The room amenities were great too. They provide complementary bottled water. I really liked the Crabtree & Evelyn bath products. The air conditioning worked very well. We didn't have any problems with mosquitoes even though it had a semi-outdoor bathroom. Room service came twice a day: clean up and turndown service.

The employees were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. When we wanted the AC to go lower they didn't have a problem doing it.

We weren't overly blown away by the beach. It seemed more like a private area on a public beach and it wasn't all that impressive. The pool at the hotel was amazing though!

The spa facilities were great! Be flexible with when you want your appointment though. I had two messages while I was there and they were both great.

I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmt213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear mmt213,

It was a double pleasure for us having you stay in Sudamala Suites & Villas. Thank very enjoying our facilities and services, and for noticing the details we put into making all our guests enjoy their stay and feel at home with us, from the turn down service, the bath products, the WiFi connection, the spa treatments, to the pool and, last but not least, the smile of our staff.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#17 of 79 in Sanur
1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing