We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

stayed at sudamala for 5days feb 2013 very nice rooms friendly staff but that was it we got no sleep because dogs barking all night they even moved rooms for us but this was no help then you have roosters crowing along with the dogs breakfast is very plain and boring the diner is the same most people seem to eat out the pool is very warm and has mould around the edges we did not see it get cleaned once there is no service around the pool we got asked once if we would like a drink 6.30pm on last day for nearly 200.00 dollars anight it was very disapionting we will not be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milly1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I regret you felt you were unable rest well during your stay. We will certainly take your comments into consideration as we continue to improve our facilities and services to provide our guests with the best possible experience.

Please rest assured that we take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously and that we clean our swimming pool every day. Of course, not while our guests are using it. It is not heated other than by the natural warmth of the sun.

Whether we like it or not, dogs are a part of the Balinese lifestyle, maybe more so then anywhere else in Indonesia. Many are pets of local residents and many more roam free in the streets and are difficult to avoid. Also, as much as Sanur is a resort area it also at heart still a village, thus occasionally there will be the odd rooster or two reminding us of this.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    212
    49
    10
    3
See reviews for
109
489
29
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a 10 day stay at this hotell. Nice rooms, lots of beautiful art in gallery + around the whole complex. If you get a good rate including breakfast choose it, Their excellent morning meal is otherwise quite costy (around 120' rupiah).
The garden and pool-area is an oasis in the busy surrondings. Next door you'll find a nice nightclub/live music-joint where the owner and his band preforms each night. Ask for "Linga Longa".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernst L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear ErnstLars,

Indeed, the owner and designers of Sudamala Suites & Villas’ main aim was to build an artistic oasis in the middle of a historical village, so I’m very happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. The staff and I look forward to being able to look after you again on your next visit to Bali!


Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Sudamala only for 1 night before our flight out of Bali. The hotel looks very nice, with white marble floors and large well appointed rooms. However the service can be spotty. Check in was very slow, we arrived with another couple at the same time. We waited for 10-15 minutes before we could check in. While we were being escorted to our room, we had to turn midway back to the reception as apparently the check in service was not completed. It turned out they forgot to give us some discount vouchers for the restaurant and spa, which was nice of them, but think an envelope pushed under the door would be better than running all the way back to the reception. Breakfast standard was poor, the pineapple juice looked and tasted like over-sugared cordial. We both ordered poached eggs on English muffins, it took forever for them to come, and when they came, my one was undercooked while my partner's ones were overcooked. I ordered a black coffee with milk on the side, the coffee came (after ages) without the milk. I ordered another coffee but they forgot the order and it never came. The rooms in this hotel cost between $200-300 per night, at this price I would expect much better service and quality. We spent 4 nights in Lombok prior to arriving here, for the same price per night, we had our own private swimming pool and garden, stunning views over the sea and absolutely impeccable service and better quality of food. So if you can afford this hotel, then would suggest heading for Lombok, where you will get much better service and quality for the same price.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms overlooking the roads, you will hear a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying in Sudamala Suites & Villas.
We aim and strive to make our guests feel at home with the best possible service and I regret to hear that you started your stay with a less than satisfactory experience. Your feedback regarding the restaurant is well received and I have discussed it with our Chef and Food & Beverage staff to make sure the necessary improvements are done.
We hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas with an improved service.


Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Sudamala for couple of days during CNY. Hotel has a nice boutique feel to it and is very cosy. Rooms are large with modern interior. Our room also had a patio with a bed outside. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Good location in Sanur but not on the beach so need to walk couple of minutes to get to the beach. Only thing we did not really like was the breakfast which was very basic and seemed to be out of place with rest of high quality standard of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Anthony H,

Thank you for letting us be at service to you during the Chinese New Year break.
I have discussed your feedback regarding our breakfast menu with the team at Ares Resto & Lounge, and will strive to enhance the experience.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

nice place,also there are a lot of warun , shop n beautiful beach near the hotel.
staff was very kindness,friendly.
but,there are many many mosquitos in the business center x(
Ttl is fine!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

It’s good to hear that our staff took good care of you during your stay Sudamala Suites & Villas, and that you enjoyed the surrounding area as well.

Thank you for your feedback about the business center to allow us to further improve.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and cannot fault the place. The staff was amazing, top quality service and all so friendly. The standard room was clean and cozy, with a huge shower. Plus point that they provide L'Occitane toiletries as well! Only thing I didn't really like was that there were no windows between the shower and the outside, therefore mossies could easily fly in. They do try to resolve the situation by putting fresh mosquito coil in the bathroom every evening. However, there were still mosquitoes that managed to get into the room and we had to use our own anti-mos methods to prevent us from being bitten. Overall though, food in the restaurant was good and cheap, drinks were cheap, service was exceptional, spa was good and reasonably priced,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divamama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

It’s good to know you had an amazing experience staying in Sudamala Suite & Villas. With the hotel being an open and tropical design, some insects still manage to come into the room despite our best efforts to prevent this. Rest assured that we continue to look for better ways to manage our pest control.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Before we decided for which hotel we would go in Sanur, we have read all the positive comments at Tripadvisor.com and we were not disappointed at all. All of our expectations were met and we really enjoyed every single day at Sudamala.
The resort is designed in a typical Balinese architectural way and gives a feeling of privacy, but also kind of seclusion in a tropical world. That was important to us as we wanted have a relaxing time without any hassle and too many people around (especially travel groups) as you usually experience it at a typical 4-5 stars commercial hotel. The staff gives an excellent Service and were so helpful, even we had phone called them at 2 a.m. at night to get an additional mosquito coil. They always come with a smile and were very patient with all of our requests.
Our room was the Studio Garden Suite with a direct access to the swimming pool area. The Suite is divided in to the bedroom area, small living area with a sofa group and a big bathroom. The ceiling is also high, this makes the Suite spacious.
The suite was well appointed and decorated in the typical Balinese style. Every entrance door is unique with an own wood carving work, very artistically. Although Sudamala has no direct access to the beach, but this was not a matter at all as it was only a few minutes walk to the Sanur beach (white sand beach) and actually we have enjoyed more the time at the pool and spa surrounding with the beautiful garden and villas.
The hotel locates in a quiet area of Sanur in between all those small roads, but there are also numbers of restaurants, supermarkets and shops. Almost any restaurants or shops are easily to approach in minutes by walking.
This location is also convenient to start your day trip just like to go to Ubud Village, Elefant riding or Kintamani Village where the biggest Volcano from Bali is still active. The scenic view there is fantastic, it's a must for every Bali traveller.
There is no question at all that we will go for Sudamala again for the next time when we come to Bali.

Room Tip: If you like to stay close to the swimming pool and spa area with a direct access from the balcony ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Sudamala Suites & Villas and for sharing your experience, which was very much describe the experience we hope to provide to all our guests. It is very heartwarming to know that our dream of a Sudamala experience for our guests is truly becoming a reality. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas upon your return to the Island of the Gods.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing