We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcome to paradise”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 4 days and have nothing but fond memories of this place. Beautiful rooms, including a huge balcony was a plus. They have Internet access available in their library, which is full of great loaner books.
An example of their excellence is that they allowed me to trade a book I had brought from home with one of theirs that I didn't finish while there... While not officially a book exchange they gracefully accommodated.
The breakfasts were divine... The best coffee (capuchino) I had on Bali.
The hotel has a section of beautiful beach about 5 mins from the hotel, with towels and a staffer there to help you if needed.
We did a spa service which was very professional... Though the $5 massage down the street was pretty good too at a fraction the price :)
Would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsurf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We’re happy to know that you enjoyed Sudamala Suites & Villas and all its facilities and service.

I’m pleased that you were able to utilize our collection of books in our Library. I appreciate your great comments regarding the coffee and breakfast. I will pass on your comments to the Sudajiva Spa ladies.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Sudamala.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    205
    46
    9
    3
See reviews for
105
472
28
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the hotel at the start of January 2013. We were welcomed to the hotel with a drink and check in was quick but smoothe. Our room was beautiful, exactly like the photos. The bed was massive! They cleaned our room twice daily. At night they would leave a flower and chocolates on the side of the bed. We especially liked the do not disturb / please make the room light function, it worked very well. Food in general was pretty good. There was pleanty of choice for breakfast. The only critisism was that there could be more choice on the restaurant menu, or even if they had specials. But we didnt eat there every night. The pool is kept clean and no problem getting a sun lounger and they provided towels. We would thoroughly recommend going to the spa as we had a first class experience and worth the extra cost compared to off the street spas. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay again if we return to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichyfeet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Ichyfeet27,

Thank you for your kind review of Sudamala Suites & Villa.

I’m happy to know you enjoyed our facilities, especially Sudajiva Spa. Your feedback is much appreciated as it will allow us to improve our services further.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at Sudamala from 23 to 26 Dec. Eventho' located on a busy street but inside Sudamala one can find a quiet place. Its' SPA is superb especially the 4 hand massage and the yoga
Corner is excellent.The restaurant offers quiete a variety of western as well as Indonesian food. The Sudamala ice tea is my favourite.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loekiputera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. Loekiputera,,

I’m very happy you enjoyed the tranquility of our hotel, its restaurant, the spa treatments and the yoga classes. Yes, the Sudamala Iced Tea is quite refreshing, especially on hot and humid days Bali is famous for!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My parents and I stayed in Sudamala for 5 days during the Christmas season. Located in a quieter part of Bali this was the perfect place for our getaway.

Only 10 minutes walk away from the beach, I enjoyed my morning runs against the backdrop of Sanur's beautiful sunrise. This was usually followed by a nice, long breakfast at the lovely open-air Ares Restaurant where the menu was a list of delicious East-meets-West dishes. The coffee was freshly brewed, and the Sudamala Iced Tea became a quick favourite of ours in the heat. Sudamala also offered free yoga classes every second morning. Their spa facility is excellent, and it was the first time I ever experienced a four-hand massage, which I would highly recommend.The service was great, and the staff very attentive to the point of giving me Citronella oil to ward off Bali's mosquitoes (it worked like magic!).

Sudamala isn't your typical Bali villa. Instead of a big lobby, it has a beautiful art gallery - Sudakara Art Space. It also has a library, and a warm cozy feel, which would make any traveler feel like they've found a home away from home. I would recommend Sudamala to anyone looking for a calm and peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelPontoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Ms. Del Pontoh,

Thank you for so aptly describing our hotel and the many facilities and services you enjoyed in Sudamala Suites & Villas. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and all those you’ve kindly recommended our hotel to.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We found this place completely by accident. We had originally booked a different hotel which didn't live up to our expectations so we immediately started looking for other accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised to find this place. There's a large gallery and beautiful grounds. We got their most basic room as that was all the was available on short notice and for the length of stay we needed it for and even though it was their basic room it was beautiful. We had a peep at their other rooms and they were all amazing. You won't be disappoint in this resort. The staff were extremely pleasant and our drive went above and beyond taking us around. We truly appreciated how amazing our stay was.

Room Tip: Check for online rates. They matched it for us even though were walked in off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear OliviaWong,

We are very happy you found us as well! I’m pleased we were able to have you with us, and I do hope we will be able to be at service to you again in the near future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in Bali in order to be a bit closer to the airport. For us, the location in a quieter spot in Sanur was good. The rooms (ours was ground floor) were large and well appointed. The outdoor bathroom is beautiful - but was hot when there's no a/c and late afternoon and we did have mosquitos. Bed is super comfy, beautiful swimming pool and common areas. We also enjoyed our made to order breakfast. Nice overall feel to the place. It is a pretty good walk (15-20 minutes) to get to a good restaurant from here or an easy taxi ride. When comparing to our Komenaka Bisma experience in Ubud, Bisma would take the prize, but this was very nice and Sanur is a very different town than Ubud (seemed much more western to us).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Kim H,

I’m pleased that you enjoyed Sudamala Suites & Villas. Sanur is indeed different compared to Ubud. Each has its own charm, and to experience both is lovely. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's hard to describe Sudamala. It's not like any other regular hotels we were familiar with. We were at first rather worried when we just arrived at the pathetic hotel 'lobby', which was just a small space with a writing desk under a hut next to the driveway.

But beyond the reception, on the way to our room, we started to appreciate the hotel's architecture, paintings and sculptures in the open space and along the corridors. It was as if we were in an art gallery of Balinese contemporary art.

The room door was made of 2-piece traditional Balinese wood carving. Every room had a different artistic design. We especially loved the old-style metal door key which gave us the feeling of nostalgic.

We were overwhelmed when saw our room, which was spacious and elegant. The ceiling was impressively high with a long ceiling fan hanging from it. We loved the unusually huge bathroom with an open shower area. The bed was a little too high, but it was surely very comfortable.

We spent next whole day simply relax at the hotel. First we attended the free yoga lesson in the morning. Then we had our late breakfast at the open-air restaurant, sat back, watching people and traffic passing by. We had spa in the afternoon and laid around pool side till the evening. What a good life in Sanur.

Though the hotel was located at the busy junction in Sanur area, it was peaceful and quiet in the room which we had two restful nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barrysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Barrysee,

I’m really glad that you enjoyed the Sanur way of life at Sudamala Suites & Villas. As we are a small boutique hotel, we aim to provide a much more personalized service to our esteemed guests. This includes having a unique approach to our check-in process in our relaxed reception to welcome you into your Bali home. How you described the hotel in your review is exactly what the designers of the hotel had in mind, which is to provide a serene sense of spaciousness, infused with local culture and arts and friendly local hospitality. I’m sure they will appreciate your observations very much. Do let us know if we can be of any service when you return to Bali.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing