We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place in quiet corner of Sanur” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sudamala Suites & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in quiet corner of Sanur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in Bali in order to be a bit closer to the airport. For us, the location in a quieter spot in Sanur was good. The rooms (ours was ground floor) were large and well appointed. The outdoor bathroom is beautiful - but was hot when there's no a/c and late afternoon and we did have mosquitos. Bed is super comfy, beautiful swimming pool and common areas. We also enjoyed our made to order breakfast. Nice overall feel to the place. It is a pretty good walk (15-20 minutes) to get to a good restaurant from here or an easy taxi ride. When comparing to our Komenaka Bisma experience in Ubud, Bisma would take the prize, but this was very nice and Sanur is a very different town than Ubud (seemed much more western to us).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Kim H,

I’m pleased that you enjoyed Sudamala Suites & Villas. Sanur is indeed different compared to Ubud. Each has its own charm, and to experience both is lovely. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    199
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
101
456
28
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's hard to describe Sudamala. It's not like any other regular hotels we were familiar with. We were at first rather worried when we just arrived at the pathetic hotel 'lobby', which was just a small space with a writing desk under a hut next to the driveway.

But beyond the reception, on the way to our room, we started to appreciate the hotel's architecture, paintings and sculptures in the open space and along the corridors. It was as if we were in an art gallery of Balinese contemporary art.

The room door was made of 2-piece traditional Balinese wood carving. Every room had a different artistic design. We especially loved the old-style metal door key which gave us the feeling of nostalgic.

We were overwhelmed when saw our room, which was spacious and elegant. The ceiling was impressively high with a long ceiling fan hanging from it. We loved the unusually huge bathroom with an open shower area. The bed was a little too high, but it was surely very comfortable.

We spent next whole day simply relax at the hotel. First we attended the free yoga lesson in the morning. Then we had our late breakfast at the open-air restaurant, sat back, watching people and traffic passing by. We had spa in the afternoon and laid around pool side till the evening. What a good life in Sanur.

Though the hotel was located at the busy junction in Sanur area, it was peaceful and quiet in the room which we had two restful nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barrysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Barrysee,

I’m really glad that you enjoyed the Sanur way of life at Sudamala Suites & Villas. As we are a small boutique hotel, we aim to provide a much more personalized service to our esteemed guests. This includes having a unique approach to our check-in process in our relaxed reception to welcome you into your Bali home. How you described the hotel in your review is exactly what the designers of the hotel had in mind, which is to provide a serene sense of spaciousness, infused with local culture and arts and friendly local hospitality. I’m sure they will appreciate your observations very much. Do let us know if we can be of any service when you return to Bali.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

If your are looking for relaxation in luxurious surroundings then you cannot go far wrong with Sudmala Suites. Behind the open reception area is a tranquil garden, relaxing pool and excellent spa facilities all beautifully maintained by very friendly staff. The room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden. The only comment I would make regarding the room was that there was not a mirror near to a power point so if you were to use the hairdryer you could not see what your hair looked like - very minor detail but would have helped. Sanur itself provides lots of places to eat & drink and there is an area with loungers on the beach that is reserved for hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollypeg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your lovely review and feedback for us.

I will look into your comment regarding having a mirror near to a power point. I am really happy that you enjoyed our garden, pool and spa – and hope to welcome you back to the Sudamala Suites & Villas soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Sudamala Suites was one of the main things, which made us choose Sanur to our holiday destination in Bali. All the great reviews and pictures of the hotel were totally true and in reality Sudamala Suites was everything we wished for.

LOCATION: If you want to skip Kuta and head to somewhere a bit more quiet place, Sanur is a great option. About 20-30 mins taxi ride from Kuta and airport and 1 hour to Ubud, Sanur makes a great place not only to rest and relax, but also great base for day trips around Bali. Sudamala Suites is located in the southern end of Sanur, which is more peaceful than mid and northern parts of the city.

HOTEL: Sudamala Suites is a true oasis. It´s new, fresh and spotless. The thing which makes Sudamala Suites stand out is that it´s small enough to keep the atmosphere cozy and service personal, but still you can find almost anything you need from the hotel grounds. You won´t see other guests much except at the pool and breakfast, but still there´s also a spa (balinese massage so worth trying for), library, small shop and yoga studio (free yoga class every monday, wednesday and friday mornings at 8am).

ROOM: We had a Deluxe Suite with balcony facing garden on the second floor. It was the most inexpensive room in Sudamala Suites, but still one of the nicest hotel rooms we´ve ever stayed. I just loved the comfortable king size bed, spacious dressing and storage area, sofa on balcony and "outdoor" shower (there´s a window from shower without a glass, just with wooden window blind). In some review people have been disturbed by mosquitos, but we didn´t spot a single one. While we stayed on the balcony, we do had the mosquito coil (provided by the hotel) there with us just in case.

STAFF & SERVICE: Awesome. Airport transfer drivers were extremely polite. Cold water and hand towels were provided right away we got in to the car and the 25 mins drive went fast by chatting with the friendly driver. Warm welcome at the hotel with welcome drinks and smiles. Service at the breakfast was a bit slow on the days there was a la carte breakfast served instead of buffet, but delicious food made that up. We also booked a private driver to get to Ubud for one day and had great trip, cause it was so easy to fix driving routes and pick up times with our helpful driver.

FOOD: Breakfast, both a la carte and buffet, was fresh and tasty. We spent 8 days at the hotel and on the first week (thu-sun) they served buffet breakfast and on the second week (mon-fri) there was a la carte. We also had some lunch by the pool couple of times and I have nothing bad to say about those meal either. Portion sizes were regular in my opinion or at least those didn´t leave me hungry.

NEIGHBORHOOD: Sudamala Suites is located just in the crossroads of Jalan Sudamala and Jalan Cemara. On Jalan Cemara there are lost of restaurants and souvenir shops, but not that much traffic. Although, taxis do are available all the time (prefer Bali Taxi). Italian restaurant Sale e Pepe (Jalan Cemara 72) is worth going for, cause it´s only like 50m from Sudamala Suites and the service might just be the best in Bali, not mentioning about the authentic italian food cooked by italian chef. There´s not that must nightlife in Sanur, but if you feel like going out in the evening, you don´t have to walk far cause you´ll find Linga Longa Bar just next door on Jalan Sudamala. Cheap drinks, great house band and laid-back atmosphere.
It´s easy to walk around the neighborhood and if you want to get more further, hire bikes (first 2 hours free) from the hotel!

If we travel to Sanur again someday, we´ll absolutely stay at Sudamala Suites then too!

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe your experiences with us and Sanur. I’m confident that your comments, photos and recommendations will be very useful for our future guests.

We were very happy to be able to be at service to you, and very much look forward to welcoming you back to your new Bali home soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I recently travelled to Bali to celebrate our 25th anniversary and stayed at the Sudamala. We were very happy with the level of comfort and luxury offered by the resort. It is a haven from the hustle and bustle of Bali. From the moment we arrived we felt pampered. We were picked up form the airport by the friendly driver Loka Loka. We were greeted with a cold drink and a warm welcome. Our Deluxe Garden view room, which had the most comfortable king size bed and clean bathroom facility was fantastic. The outdoor shower is a nice touch. The air conditioning and the ceiling fan worked well in keeping our room comfortable.
Breakfast was fantastic and you are offered a varied menu. We loved the Uleg station and Nasi Goreng. The lovely Gusti Ayu and Eka and Gus were friendly and went out of their way to make us happy. They surprised us with a cake to celebrate our anniversary.
The pool area and the spa is excellent. We had countless treatments and each and every one of them were excellent value and made us feel pampered, loved the couples massage.
The Sudamala has lovely touches throughout the hotel. Art and flower bowls create a heavenly atmosphere. It is also ideally placed, not too far from shops and other restaurants and all the other beautiful sights of Bali.
We had to sadly leave when our holiday came to an end and we felt like we left behind good friends. Oh Sudamala, how we miss you!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have WiFi, but their are hotspots throughout the Sudamala which allow you to con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy 25th anniversary again to you and your husband! Many congratulations and best wishes from all of us at Sudamala Suites & Villas. We were very honoured to have been able to make your special celebration a memorable one. I am very proud of the warmth and service of our staff and have passed on your lovely comments to them. We were sad to see you leave, but am assured that we will welcome you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas when you next visit Bali!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has just celebrated its first birthday. It most definitely deserves the 5 star rating. The rooms are big and spacious. The bed is huge and so comfy. You melt into the pillows and get the best nights sleep. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is one of the best we have had in a hotel. They gave us table service each morning, which was a nice change from the usual Self service most hotels have. The quality of the breakfast was mint and it was a perfect start to the day.
Each night the staff came to our room and offered to turn down the bed, left a flower and chocolate and lit an incense burner to repel the Mosquitos.
The pool area is an oasis in its self. Lovely to relax and unwind.
There is nothing that we could fault about this hotel and would highly recommend staying there if you are planning going to sanur.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation for us.

I’m happy that you had a relaxing stay with us, and that you enjoyed our breakfast table service and the food. There’s nothing quite like starting the day with a good meal!

We certainly look forward to your return to Bali and Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very friendly staff from the time we were met at the airport to the time they dropped us off again. Lovely, good size bedroom although aircon couldn't be directed away from bed. Lovely bathroom area with large in/outdoor shower area. Good size swimming pool. Only downside - safe was in bathroom area with no internal lockable door to outside wall with public access. Other than that, as an alternative to staying in the more popular 'close to airport' areas, would thoroughly recommend. Enjoyable dinner at attached restaurant - live music (very good guitarists but pretty average singing!) and very nice food. Slow breakfast service but content good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteppieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to hear that the Sudamala Suites & Villas staff were able to take good care of you during your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our facilities. I do apologise for the slow breakfast service, and will continue to improve our service for our esteemed guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.5 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing