We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well looked-after in very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very friendly staff from the time we were met at the airport to the time they dropped us off again. Lovely, good size bedroom although aircon couldn't be directed away from bed. Lovely bathroom area with large in/outdoor shower area. Good size swimming pool. Only downside - safe was in bathroom area with no internal lockable door to outside wall with public access. Other than that, as an alternative to staying in the more popular 'close to airport' areas, would thoroughly recommend. Enjoyable dinner at attached restaurant - live music (very good guitarists but pretty average singing!) and very nice food. Slow breakfast service but content good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteppieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to hear that the Sudamala Suites & Villas staff were able to take good care of you during your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our facilities. I do apologise for the slow breakfast service, and will continue to improve our service for our esteemed guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
There are newer reviews for Sudamala Suites & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 803 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Have you ever stayed at a hotel, didn't really enjoy your stay, but are not sure why. That was our experience. To qualify this review, let me say this was our first time in Sanur. We are Australians and the East is usually the province of the Europeans. Still after so many trips to Bali, we thought it would be nice to see other parts of the island apart from Kuta/Legian/Seminyak.
So, long story short, Sanur is more expensive than other parts of the island. So our expectations of acommodation v price may be skewed.
Anyhow, to the Hotel. We arrived at the Sudamala from Ubud. The reception area is basically on a verandah next to the drive thru road. Just a table three chairs and a laptop. Unusual.
Check in was fine. We were taken to our room. We had booked a deluxe room from memory. One of the cheaper rooms, about 150aus. The room was on the top floor and had an open thatched ceiling. The room felt a little harsh and unfinished, ie. slick tiles averagely laid, with a very barren alfresco bathroom. First time I have seen an alfresco bathroom upstairs, and for me it didn't work.
We were on our honeymoon for this trip so while the room was fair we thought we would look at upgrading to another room. So we upgraded to a better room on the ground floor which cost an extra 75aus a night. This was a far bigger room and on the ground floor. We were much happier in this room. The staff did the usual filling of the bath with frangipani's and we got some really lovely towel origami left on the bed. The room had a few failings though. Because of the alfresco bathroom and the sliding courtyard doors, we found that lots of mosquito's were in our room. Also we found that there was a lot of noise heard from outside the room. Our room was next to a stairway, plus the staff every morning would use the the corridor outside our door to trolley things through the hotel. The doors to all the rooms are pretty wood carved double types, with all the noise insulating properties of a piece of paper.
The Food.
The Good.
On check in we were told that we were entitled to a free lunch. So after sorting our room we took them up on this offer. We had to choose from a set menu. All I can say was that the meal we had was really good. My wife is not a big fish fan, but the balinese fish in banana leaf impressed us both.
Breakfast. Sudamala does not offer a buffet. Still we found breakfast good, and it was the first time in bali we were able to get a freshly ground cappuccino as part of a hotel breakfast.
The Bad.
We tried the room service three times. It was bad. I mean 3 out of 10 bad. Worst I have had bad.
Location.
We have never been to Sanur before. It is hard to pick a hotel If you haven't been to an area before. On briefly exploring Sanur we felt that we would have been happier staying further up jalan danau tamblingan which is the main drag up the coast. A lot more of the better restaurants and shops were north of the Sudamala. We had a great meal further north at the Three monkeys which was a long walk away. In fairness we walked past about 20 restaurants to get there. Still it seemed a bit dingy and quiet the area immediately around the hotel.
There are three or four large hotels immediately around the Sudamala. These all have direct access to the beach. The Sudamala does not. In fact to get to the beach from Sudamala you must either cut through another hotels grounds or walk a kilometre via road. This was not a factor for us. But might be for some.
That is all I have to say about that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank padraigthekelpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review.

Your feedback is much appreciated as it will allow us to improve ourselves. I do apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that I will continue to work with our staff to resolve any problems and enhance our services for our guests.

We hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas with an improved service.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If your heading to Bali, over 25 years old and enjoy being spoiled, the Sudamala at Sanur is for you. This is a very new resort and it shows. Large, airy rooms around central open area ringed by large timber arbors. A very swish pool and spa area awaits a early morning run. ( hard to jog in the Kuta / Seminyak region due to the large random holes in the footpath.) Not so Sanur, a 5-10 km is easy to organise from the small streets to the beach boardwalk. (Jogger Paradise)
Amongst the plentiful beach restaurants are some real gems and only a short walk from the Sudamala. Or if pushbikes are your thing they are complimentary. Hotel Breakfasts are excellent and very tasty. Good shopping market style and some seriously nice eateries are just across from the hotel. For the girls there is a very good hairdresser/nails etc just to the left as you leave the hotel about 200metres walk.
The Sudamala Spa is excellent for a massage and general pampering.
We were extremely happy we chose Sanur to extend our holiday in Bali and the Sudamala was perfect. With very friendly and efficient staff, great location and beautiful facilities, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Sanur is indeed a gem, and am very happy that you chose Sanur and Sudamala Suites & Villas to extend your holiday in Bali. Thank you for your recommendation and positive review. Myself and the staff look forward to your return to your new home in Bali!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just spent a 10 day break at Sudamala , can't fault this accommodation at all , everyone was so helpful , staff were very welcoming always smiling nothing was to much trouble , stayed in Sanur many times at different hotels but this was the best , rooms were off a very high standard and good value for money , beds and pillows were amazing , breakfasts were great and service very good , pool area was very nice and relaxing with excellent sunbeds and towels , the grounds and gardens are lovely for saying its still a new hotel , location is good a few minutes walk from the beach , shops and resturants , we will defiantly return to Sudamala on our next visit to Sanur .

Room Tip: We booked a top floor studio suite overlooking the pool , very quiet with afternoon sun .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I’m so glad that you had a relaxing 10-day break with us, and that we were able to be of service to you. The hotel was designed to have a homey feel to it, and I’m pleased that you were able to truly enjoy yourself. Please let us know when you are ready for another well-deserved break in Bali, and I will be more than happy to welcome you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in an upstairs deluxe room. The room was very clean with an extremely comfortable king size bed. The room was tastefully decorated with a high woven ceiling and lovely traditional doors. The balcony overlooked one of the courtyards. The indoor/outdoor bathroom with the toilet & shower was separated from the sink and luggage area with clear glass doors & then separating this area from the rest of the room were double opaque glass sliding doors. The shower recess was large and it was quite novel with the open air feel. Water pressure was good. All the staff were just lovely; genuinely friendly and helpful . The food at breakfast was all very good. Sudamala is in a good location with lots of restaurants and shops across the road and the beach just a short walk away. The resort was very quiet inside and had a lovely pool area with plenty of comfortable pool lounges. Sudamala is a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at Sudamala Suites & Villas. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing holiday and that you enjoyed our resort and all its facilities.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been coming to Bali for over 30 years and have stayed at numerous locations. This is our first visit back to Sanur in 20 years and decided on Sudamala due to trip advisor ratings and customer feedback. We thought we would provide a balanced view of pros and cons - and that these are of assistance to both potential guests and management and staff

Pros:
1. Lovely clean and new boutique style hotel with only 34 rooms. Have stayed in the big luxury ones in Nusa dua and kuta and this one had a lovely peaceful feel.
2. The room light clean and airy - a nice change to the ordinarily dark and musty rooms one experiences in Bali
3. Coffee- really lovely
4. Location - close to many good restaurants and bars
5.free bikes a nice touch as was the best way to go exploring
6. Friendly staff

Cons:
1. Pool - too hot to go in and just couldn't feel refreshed unless stayed in room and had a cold shower
2. Wifi - frustrating - only easy access was at front cafe
3.food and beverage staff - this was extremely problematic. Whilst lovely people, the restaurant staff lacked any training. Once the restaurant reached half it's capacity at breakfast it really fell to pieces! We received half our breakfast - the fruit salad and yogurt was forgotten. It was also impossible to get their attention so just gave up and went without. Means that you do not received the usual plentiful breakfasts one is used to in Bali. You need to go in search of food mid morning. There was also some sort of unstaffed Balinese buffet set up one morning but it was never explained so no one used it. We noted a number of irate guests just not having orders taken, trying to order milk etc.
4. No drinks service by pool. We found someone once, ordered two drinks and took about 20-25 mins to get them. At that stage we didn't really feel like them anymore

The previous reviewer mentioned absentee management. We would concur with this view. Training and the extra service one expects needs to be improved if Sudamala is going to be a serious competitor with all the other hotels and villas around, particularly when not located on or near the beach.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jane1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in such a systematic way. It is through our guests’ comments that we can improve ourselves and your comments are truly useful. The wifi connection did have problems, but we have resolved this with our internet service provider and it is now working as it should. We do apologise for the slow service in our restaurant. It is certainly not our intention to keep our guests waiting. We have addressed this issue with all concerned to remedy the situation straight away.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope welcome you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The building is well designed and housekeeping service is fine. However, one leaves with the impression of an absentee management and an unevenly trained staff. It seems that staff just act their own personalities and there's been no training. Some are nice, and the others come across as rude and unprofessional. One day, my breakfast pastry was served by "what do you want" and the pastry that was crushed as it was laid on my plate, and another day began with a very polite sentence and a nicely laid out pastry.

The location is at the end of a narrow street (alley) with no sight of the beach. The front desk/concierge just told us to go in a direction and then turn after the hotel. When my wife asked for a bit of clarification, the clerk raised her voice and pointed her arm in the direction and said go. Needless to say after a 20 minute round trip and dodging a gauntlet of hawkers, we were back without having sighted any water. The next day we walked up to the next hotel and asked the guard at the Mercure hotel. He pointed us down a narrow alley to the beach. At the beach, I kept wondering why I let my wife influence me into accepting Sudamala as a highly rated hotel on TripAdvisor, while I could have stayed at Mercure (or many others) and be able to take a couple of steps to the beach.

The room service menu lists an all day menu, but when I called at 9:30 PM, I was told the kitchen was closed. Of course, we never tried the spa either as our appointment was given to someone else and the excuse given by clerk sounded so dishonest that made me sick to my stomach. Internet access was very poor, with no bandwidth except a 56k-like access in the wee hours of the morning with everyone sleeping.

As a whole, this is one of the most hyped tourist destinations in the world and definitely not worth a trip by EU/US residents who have a smorgasbord of great choices much closer to home. Leave the poverty stricken Bali to the Japanese and Chinese.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation, as we always aim to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay and experience at Sudamala Suites & Villas. We appreciate your feedback, which allows us to continually improve our service in the future. We have taken up the various issues with everyone concerned. We do, however, sincerely regret your comments about Bali. The Asian economies have continued to grow strongly despite the situation elsewhere in the world and Bali tourism has been one of the main engines of growth for Indonesia.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#17 of 78 in Sanur
2,289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#7 of 78 in Sanur
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#2 of 78 in Sanur
408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $110 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing