We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel , great place to stay in Sanur .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just spent a 10 day break at Sudamala , can't fault this accommodation at all , everyone was so helpful , staff were very welcoming always smiling nothing was to much trouble , stayed in Sanur many times at different hotels but this was the best , rooms were off a very high standard and good value for money , beds and pillows were amazing , breakfasts were great and service very good , pool area was very nice and relaxing with excellent sunbeds and towels , the grounds and gardens are lovely for saying its still a new hotel , location is good a few minutes walk from the beach , shops and resturants , we will defiantly return to Sudamala on our next visit to Sanur .

Room Tip: We booked a top floor studio suite overlooking the pool , very quiet with afternoon sun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I’m so glad that you had a relaxing 10-day break with us, and that we were able to be of service to you. The hotel was designed to have a homey feel to it, and I’m pleased that you were able to truly enjoy yourself. Please let us know when you are ready for another well-deserved break in Bali, and I will be more than happy to welcome you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 847 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in an upstairs deluxe room. The room was very clean with an extremely comfortable king size bed. The room was tastefully decorated with a high woven ceiling and lovely traditional doors. The balcony overlooked one of the courtyards. The indoor/outdoor bathroom with the toilet & shower was separated from the sink and luggage area with clear glass doors & then separating this area from the rest of the room were double opaque glass sliding doors. The shower recess was large and it was quite novel with the open air feel. Water pressure was good. All the staff were just lovely; genuinely friendly and helpful . The food at breakfast was all very good. Sudamala is in a good location with lots of restaurants and shops across the road and the beach just a short walk away. The resort was very quiet inside and had a lovely pool area with plenty of comfortable pool lounges. Sudamala is a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at Sudamala Suites & Villas. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing holiday and that you enjoyed our resort and all its facilities.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been coming to Bali for over 30 years and have stayed at numerous locations. This is our first visit back to Sanur in 20 years and decided on Sudamala due to trip advisor ratings and customer feedback. We thought we would provide a balanced view of pros and cons - and that these are of assistance to both potential guests and management and staff

Pros:
1. Lovely clean and new boutique style hotel with only 34 rooms. Have stayed in the big luxury ones in Nusa dua and kuta and this one had a lovely peaceful feel.
2. The room light clean and airy - a nice change to the ordinarily dark and musty rooms one experiences in Bali
3. Coffee- really lovely
4. Location - close to many good restaurants and bars
5.free bikes a nice touch as was the best way to go exploring
6. Friendly staff

Cons:
1. Pool - too hot to go in and just couldn't feel refreshed unless stayed in room and had a cold shower
2. Wifi - frustrating - only easy access was at front cafe
3.food and beverage staff - this was extremely problematic. Whilst lovely people, the restaurant staff lacked any training. Once the restaurant reached half it's capacity at breakfast it really fell to pieces! We received half our breakfast - the fruit salad and yogurt was forgotten. It was also impossible to get their attention so just gave up and went without. Means that you do not received the usual plentiful breakfasts one is used to in Bali. You need to go in search of food mid morning. There was also some sort of unstaffed Balinese buffet set up one morning but it was never explained so no one used it. We noted a number of irate guests just not having orders taken, trying to order milk etc.
4. No drinks service by pool. We found someone once, ordered two drinks and took about 20-25 mins to get them. At that stage we didn't really feel like them anymore

The previous reviewer mentioned absentee management. We would concur with this view. Training and the extra service one expects needs to be improved if Sudamala is going to be a serious competitor with all the other hotels and villas around, particularly when not located on or near the beach.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jane1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in such a systematic way. It is through our guests’ comments that we can improve ourselves and your comments are truly useful. The wifi connection did have problems, but we have resolved this with our internet service provider and it is now working as it should. We do apologise for the slow service in our restaurant. It is certainly not our intention to keep our guests waiting. We have addressed this issue with all concerned to remedy the situation straight away.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope welcome you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The building is well designed and housekeeping service is fine. However, one leaves with the impression of an absentee management and an unevenly trained staff. It seems that staff just act their own personalities and there's been no training. Some are nice, and the others come across as rude and unprofessional. One day, my breakfast pastry was served by "what do you want" and the pastry that was crushed as it was laid on my plate, and another day began with a very polite sentence and a nicely laid out pastry.

The location is at the end of a narrow street (alley) with no sight of the beach. The front desk/concierge just told us to go in a direction and then turn after the hotel. When my wife asked for a bit of clarification, the clerk raised her voice and pointed her arm in the direction and said go. Needless to say after a 20 minute round trip and dodging a gauntlet of hawkers, we were back without having sighted any water. The next day we walked up to the next hotel and asked the guard at the Mercure hotel. He pointed us down a narrow alley to the beach. At the beach, I kept wondering why I let my wife influence me into accepting Sudamala as a highly rated hotel on TripAdvisor, while I could have stayed at Mercure (or many others) and be able to take a couple of steps to the beach.

The room service menu lists an all day menu, but when I called at 9:30 PM, I was told the kitchen was closed. Of course, we never tried the spa either as our appointment was given to someone else and the excuse given by clerk sounded so dishonest that made me sick to my stomach. Internet access was very poor, with no bandwidth except a 56k-like access in the wee hours of the morning with everyone sleeping.

As a whole, this is one of the most hyped tourist destinations in the world and definitely not worth a trip by EU/US residents who have a smorgasbord of great choices much closer to home. Leave the poverty stricken Bali to the Japanese and Chinese.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation, as we always aim to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay and experience at Sudamala Suites & Villas. We appreciate your feedback, which allows us to continually improve our service in the future. We have taken up the various issues with everyone concerned. We do, however, sincerely regret your comments about Bali. The Asian economies have continued to grow strongly despite the situation elsewhere in the world and Bali tourism has been one of the main engines of growth for Indonesia.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is great and has fantastic facilities.

My husband, 17 month old and myself stayed in a garden suite and was very impressed with the beautiful room.

The weather was insanely hot and humid so we were forced to stay inside for the middle parts of the day which we were happy to do as the beds and associated pillows, sheets, duvets etc were the best!!!!! So we relaxed and watch TV and read.

The hotel is a block from the beach which isn't so bad because the beach is pretty full on and not the most relaxing. The location is also at the end of one of the main shopping streets which made life easy as we could buy everything we needed within a short distance.

The only disappointing things were that the pool (which is gorgeous) was too hot to swim in. I never thought I would have complained about water being too hot but it was too hot to have a refreshing swim in. I've been told it's because of the unusually hot weather they've experience of late.

The other issue was the insects. We had a beautiful open bathroom but it backfired because every day and night my whole family would be bitten numerous times even with the enormous amounts of insect repellent, coils and netting.

The staff were lovely and polite. The breakfasts were the best, definitely get an inclusive breakfast deal with your room.

We really enjoyed our stay and will hopefully be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as (like most of the hotels in Bali) the hotel is covered in tiles which echoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_T131078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We’re glad to hear our room was a comfortable shelter from the weather, which has been exceptionally hot for the past month or so and has unfortunately affected our pool temperature. We continue to do our utmost to keep the insects at bay. Thank you for staying at Sudamala Suites & Villas, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sudamala Suites & Villas is superb. The rooms are beautifully furnished with high quality linen and everything you could possibly need. The interesting art, lovely gardens, quiet pool area, delicious meals, peaceful suroundings, helpful friendly staff and excellent value for money make this hotel the pick of hotels in Sanur. After previously staying at a large beachfront resort in Sanur we welcomed the more friendly 'boutique' feel of Sudamala Suites and the personalised attention to detail frequently not found at large resorts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs. Milo65,

It’ s good to hear that you enjoyed the many facets of Sudamala Suites & Villas. Thank you for staying at Sudamala Suites & Villas. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spending a weekend in Sudamala was a wonderful choice. The resort is new, the staff is friendly and extremely efficient. With its own art gallery, unique architecture, beautiful garden and sofisticated design of the rooms Sudamala is more than a hotel, it is an experience in itself. Small details, like the library with internet access (the rooms and area have a fast wifi connection for free) and a good selection of international books (nicely covered with plastic) are a sign of customer orientation and vision.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Mr. Kai S.,

It is always lovely to know that our orientation and vision do not go unnoticed. Thank you for choosing Sudamala Suites and Villas for your weekend in Bali. I’ll be sure to pass on your wonderful feedback to our ladies and gentlemen.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,592 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#4 of 82 in Sanur
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#28 of 82 in Sanur
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $111 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing