We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible bed bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Pineapple Backpackers
Ranked #44 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Reviewed August 22, 2013

IF you don't want get rash everywhere in your body and itch you crazy for more than one week! You just need to stay their bed for one night and you become the one of the victims as me!
It's terrible! We just stayed 20min in the bed and I saw the bedbugs .. Then we could not go back bed and stayed awake for whole night! There is no staff at night to help.
And the day after tomorrow the staff said the bed bug is harmless,... So we just cancelled our next bookings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank criosphinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali P, Manager at Big Pineapple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We have received 2 reviews from Chinese regarding bed bugs. As we are a Hostel and get many guests from all over the world usually backpackers who have stayed in other budget places we have no control over these guests bringing bed bugs with them into our Hostel. We have a 4 person professional cleaning staff and keep our Hostel exceptionally clean (see the majority of reviews).We also replace all mattresses every 3 months, do regular pest control. However because of these reviews from these guests we are in the process (27th Aug) of closing for 3 days to again replace mattresses and do pest control. Our guests still staying here urged us not to close the Hostel as they wished to stay and said they had not been affected by any bed bugs. Chinese guests are very difficult and we now send a welcome email to all Chinese saying they may be better to find alternate accommodation before they arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had bed bugs on all 6 bunk beds - they look like (brown) ticks and attacked during the night. Some were even still crawling on the floor, walls or the bed frames. There's a DIY kitchen, which was OK and the pool was nice, although initially mistaken as a pond. The room reeked of a smelly stench after showering in the ensuite bathroom, which we suspected had rusty pipes. Location was quite confusing to find but it's close to the beach no doubt.
When we complained about the bed bugs to the service staff, she said her boss only required evidence before they'll act on it. We had to take pictures of the numerous bites (100 to be exact! on one unfortunate friend of mine) and even showed a tick running around before they took action (if any). Apparently previous tenants had been victimized by the bugs too.
The service by the staff, Mia was good though - she attended to our requests promptly and to the best of her abilities. However, her boss - the manager of the backpackers - was un-remorseful about our situation and didn't want our reviews to be up on their website so as to hide their flaws.

Room Tip: Room #5 might be safer from bed bugs..but never know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvidTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali P, Manager at Big Pineapple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We have received 2 reviews from Chinese regarding bed bugs. As we are a Hostel and get many guests from all over the world usually backpackers who have stayed in other budget places we have no control over these guests bringing bed bugs with them into our Hostel. We have a 4 person professional cleaning staff and keep our Hostel exceptionally clean (see the majority of reviews).We also replace all mattresses every 3 months, do regular pest control. However because of these reviews from these guests we are in the process (27th Aug) of closing for 3 days to again replace mattresses and do pest control. Our guests still staying here urged us not to close the Hostel as they wished to stay and said they had not been affected by any bed bugs. Chinese guests are very difficult and we now send a welcome email to all Chinese saying they may be better to find alternate accommodation before they arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

was very unsure about my trip to bali as a lot of my other trips they are short so have to make the best of things once again i seem to have picked a gem so all i want to do is than hi and thanks and i hope this piece in trip advisor helps you get more customers as you deserve them all in all we both found you place very comfy and pleasant thats all i could have asked for plus good very good advice what to do where to go where to eat like a travel agent but with a better smile bye for now we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newtraveldest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Mia the owner made sure my stay was comfortable. She even made a map that specifies where the good and cheap places to eat and good places to exchange money. The hostel was clean and breezy. The communal kitchen and common area was cleaned frequently and has everything you need. Overall, a great place to stay if you're looking to mingle or a few quiet minutes by the pool to yourself. A great value for your money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haist N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stay here for two nights with my friend. Good location. Everything is within walking distance though you might have to cross a busy main road to get to the main area (bars, food, etc.) Room cleaning service every single morning. Friendly staff. Fully equiped kitchen with free tee and coffee.
Everything was great except the fact that there is a old man sleeping in our dorms. We thought there is an age limit for the dorms. Some of the girls the dorm felt a bit uncomfortable.
The wifi is very weak, can't really get it in the dorms upstairs.
But apart from that everything was tip top. Great hostel to socialize and meet other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wnlaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Big Pineapple is easily one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in all my travels. I stayed there for a week and was delightfully surprised at the facilities it offered. Here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
1. Meet like minded travelers/backpackers: I can't think of finding a better place to find people who think like you. I have met some really nice people during my stay.
2. Great location: Just a 15 min walk to Sanur beach - and less than 10 mins to restaurants, bars, supermarkets etc.
3. Awesome facilities: The look and feel of the hostel is really nice. There is a small pool, TV with lots of movies in a USB drive, a big dining table and a fully equipped kitchen. You can just chill out anytime of the day.
4. Very supportive owner - you get all the support you want.
5. Clean and spacious beds - some of the hostels i have been to have had cramped beds but this one has really spacious beds.

CONS:
1. Wifi needs some touchup - the connection is a bit messy at times.
2. The rooms with fans may get a little too hot in summers - you may have trouble if you are not used to sleeping under a fan. I am used to sleeping under a fan so didn't have this issue at all.

Strongly recommended for anyone looking for a hostel in Bali.

Room Tip: Try for A/c rooms first - they may be better considering the temperature in Bali.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AthmaGyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Awesome experience for me as I went their with couple of my friends and it was a budget tour. Mia - the owner is a legend ! very helpful and powerful (we forgot our luggage in the trunk of a random taxi, our passport, laptop, money, dirty clothes everything were in their, and she took less than an hour to get our stuffs back after we informed her ! Credit goes to her, we got rid of such an ugly situation without even spending a single rupeeya) 24 hours security guard, daily room servicing, Standard WiFi, so-so Pool, huge muvi collection, Decent AirCon, chance to meet amazing people, roommates are also very easygoing, beverage & food availability, boat/car/cycle/bike rental facility, trip planning advise and friendly atmosphere...surely um gonna go back their next summer....

Room Tip: Go for the AirCon option...room charges are more or less the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZubaerImran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0 mi away
Suwardika Homestay & Dormitory
0 mi away
Morotai Camp Hostel
Morotai Camp Hostel
#103 of 260 in Denpasar
9 reviews
0 mi away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#26 of 136 in Sanur
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#81 of 434 in Seminyak
222 reviews
0 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#9 of 89 in Legian
319 reviews
0 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pineapple Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pineapple Backpackers

Address: Jl. Tirta Ening Gang Blue Dive no. 6, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: $15 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG Pineapple is BALI’s only certified (100% Green) Mite Mold and bed bug free hostel. (FROM:September 2013). Because unwanted pests can be reintroduced, every month we continue routine maintenance from the professionals to back-up our 100% guarantee. This ensures your stay with us is as comfortable as possible.All pests are removed using a 4 stage -100% green non toxic control.(Ozone, essential oils, steam and Diatomaceous Earth)We stand behind our guarantees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Pineapple Backpackers Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing