We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Pineapple Backpackers
Ranked #27 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly place”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Got there very late to find a note from the owner saying it was fully booked so they put us in a private air con room with private balcony an bathroom for no extra charge.

Staff were great, very friendly and accommodating. Great pool for a hostel and the whole place has a friendly vibe. Would definitely recommend it if staying in sanur, which is actually quite quiet and generally has a much older crowd

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChandyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
13
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I came with the intention of spending only a few nights there and in the end it was close to 2 weeks that I stayed in Sanur. The rooms are clean and nice, the bathrooms good, even with hot water, they have a pool and a kitchen for common use. If you want, you can do a BBQ there! And so many movies to watch! Lovely owner! The only minus is the location. You have to cross a busy road (no traffic lights) to get anywhere...Otherwise it's just great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bourne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Super friendly service! Arrived late at night as doe many other travellers and wasn't a problem. Despite it being overbooked and my booking on hostelworld.com the manager put me on a bed in a hallway (Same as a dorm) just as good as any other bed in the dorm and then the next night put in me a double room to make up for it. Charged only 1 night and was very friendly about everything. Pool was small but nice. (How many hostels have a pool? Especially for $100,000 rupiah a night)

Only flaws was location: Had to walk across an extremely busy 4 lane road to get to all the shops and restaraunts / bars. Makes for an Indonesian cultural experience though lol. Wifi was 3,000 rupiah I think for 3 hours and was pretty quick. They also had 1 computer which you could use without having to pay for wifi. Would definetely recomend!

Room Tip: Taxi is about a 30 minute ride from airport and they will rip you off. You should only pay $95,000...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank znismo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here in Aug 2012,it was amazing.So many facilities like a Kitchen and BBQ,the best ever video collection maybe 600 movies on a 47inch TV.Lounge area,2 big tables to meet and mingle with other travelers.Lots of places to chill and hang out.Outdoor terrace and garden areas.Excellent (so clean) swimming pool.Fastest Wi Fi in Bali.Short walk to beach,shops and cheap places to eat.Very quiet location.Cheap and very clean,even the toilets/showers were so clean,plus there were many.It must be the best social meeting place in Bali.The owner Mia is very nice and super helpful.One of the best Hostels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Siddhartha R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I travelled Bali alone in August 2011, I stayed here for 10 days and had the best time ever!!! The owners of the hostel were so friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was very chilled but fun. I met a few good friends here and met people from all over the world. The rooms were very clean and my sheets were changed regularly, there was plenty of showers and loos to share and they were all very clean too. the hostel is like five minutes from beautiful sanur beach, theres transport everywhere so I found it really easy to explore the rest of bali from this base, I would highly reccommend big Pineapple to anyone who wants to see Bali on a budget and make new friends!! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phillipacoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The relaxed atmosphere and friendly people make the Big Pineapple one of the best places I have found so far. Mia and Axel are caring and trusting hosts, who go out of their way to help you. Of course, as with most things in life, the people make the place and BP brought a group of solo travellers and created a travelling family of all ages, nationalities and backgrounds.

The hostel is a short walk (5 minutes) to the beach, atm and a 24 hour convenience store. Wifi is 5000 for 3 hours but you can log off and on as many times as you like so that time lasts a while. The beds were comfy, as was the sofa outside for those mornings you want to chill out and watch an idiot abroad. This happened often as the tides made visiting the beach impossible before midday. Rooms and communal areas were cleaned every day. Axel and Mia were full of advice on things to do and see in the local area and always happy to call you a cab. You also get useful information when you book which is great for first timers.

I cannot wait to visit Bali again, I know where I'll be staying :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed there for a night during my trip to Bali last year, and I thought it was great. The rooms were clean and beds are big enough for me(I'm 1.8m tall). It's also great that people from different countries gather there together on their trip to Bali, and if you try to talk to the other guests and you'll find them really friendly, exchanging experiences they have had in Bali and also about stuffs back in their home country. Not to mention it's a plus point that Big Pineapple also provides free WiFi and television programmes for those who can't live without them, although the WiFi died once or twice during my one night stay. Overall, I liked it pretty much. (:

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.5 mi away
Suwardika Homestay & Dormitory
5.3 mi away
Gandhi Hostel
Gandhi Hostel
#134 of 237 in Denpasar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morotai Camp Hostel
Morotai Camp Hostel
#111 of 237 in Denpasar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#24 of 136 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.1 mi away
M Boutique Hostel
M Boutique Hostel
#2 of 113 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#12 of 81 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pineapple Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pineapple Backpackers

Property: Big Pineapple Backpackers
Address: Jl. Tirta Ening Gang Blue Dive no. 6, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG Pineapple is BALI’s only certified (100% Green) Mite Mold and bed bug free hostel. (FROM:September 2013). Because unwanted pests can be reintroduced, every month we continue routine maintenance from the professionals to back-up our 100% guarantee. This ensures your stay with us is as comfortable as possible.All pests are removed using a 4 stage -100% green non toxic control.(Ozone, essential oils, steam and Diatomaceous Earth)We stand behind our guarantees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Big Pineapple Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pineapple Backpackers Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing