We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hostel in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Pineapple Backpackers
Ranked #36 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here in Aug 2012,it was amazing.So many facilities like a Kitchen and BBQ,the best ever video collection maybe 600 movies on a 47inch TV.Lounge area,2 big tables to meet and mingle with other travelers.Lots of places to chill and hang out.Outdoor terrace and garden areas.Excellent (so clean) swimming pool.Fastest Wi Fi in Bali.Short walk to beach,shops and cheap places to eat.Very quiet location.Cheap and very clean,even the toilets/showers were so clean,plus there were many.It must be the best social meeting place in Bali.The owner Mia is very nice and super helpful.One of the best Hostels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Siddhartha R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

I travelled Bali alone in August 2011, I stayed here for 10 days and had the best time ever!!! The owners of the hostel were so friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was very chilled but fun. I met a few good friends here and met people from all over the world. The rooms were very clean and my sheets were changed regularly, there was plenty of showers and loos to share and they were all very clean too. the hostel is like five minutes from beautiful sanur beach, theres transport everywhere so I found it really easy to explore the rest of bali from this base, I would highly reccommend big Pineapple to anyone who wants to see Bali on a budget and make new friends!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phillipacoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The relaxed atmosphere and friendly people make the Big Pineapple one of the best places I have found so far. Mia and Axel are caring and trusting hosts, who go out of their way to help you. Of course, as with most things in life, the people make the place and BP brought a group of solo travellers and created a travelling family of all ages, nationalities and backgrounds.

The hostel is a short walk (5 minutes) to the beach, atm and a 24 hour convenience store. Wifi is 5000 for 3 hours but you can log off and on as many times as you like so that time lasts a while. The beds were comfy, as was the sofa outside for those mornings you want to chill out and watch an idiot abroad. This happened often as the tides made visiting the beach impossible before midday. Rooms and communal areas were cleaned every day. Axel and Mia were full of advice on things to do and see in the local area and always happy to call you a cab. You also get useful information when you book which is great for first timers.

I cannot wait to visit Bali again, I know where I'll be staying :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed there for a night during my trip to Bali last year, and I thought it was great. The rooms were clean and beds are big enough for me(I'm 1.8m tall). It's also great that people from different countries gather there together on their trip to Bali, and if you try to talk to the other guests and you'll find them really friendly, exchanging experiences they have had in Bali and also about stuffs back in their home country. Not to mention it's a plus point that Big Pineapple also provides free WiFi and television programmes for those who can't live without them, although the WiFi died once or twice during my one night stay. Overall, I liked it pretty much. (:

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Bali doesn't have too many hostels. You either stay in a low priced or a high priced hotel, so it's nice that there is the Big Pineapple. It's located about 5-8 minutes’ walk from the Sanur Beach, which is a rather quiet beach. It is a nice spot to relax because there are no noisy bars/clubs nearby, but guests can be very noisy at odd hours of the night. Breakfast is not included in the price, which is a bit odd because all the neighboring countries do. The owner's wife makes a couple of dishes for sale (rice and noodles), but you have to find her first. I suggest that she just establish certain hours when she can cook so that no one has to look for her, and she doesn't have to be disturbed by us. I was a bit grossed out to find a roach the size of a mouse crawl out of the bathroom sink. They could have easily prevented this by pouring bleach or some other household chemical down the pipes now and then. The floors were also not the cleanest to be walking around barefoot, which is the rule there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicevarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank Jean-Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.5 mi away
Suwardika Homestay & Dormitory
3.5 mi away
Morotai Camp Hostel
Morotai Camp Hostel
#74 of 252 in Denpasar
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#28 of 137 in Sanur
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
Taman Kesari Villas
Taman Kesari Villas
#20 of 145 in Sanur
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pineapple Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pineapple Backpackers

Address: Jl. Tirta Ening Gang Blue Dive no. 6, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG Pineapple is BALI’s only certified (100% Green) Mite Mold and bed bug free hostel. (FROM:September 2013). Because unwanted pests can be reintroduced, every month we continue routine maintenance from the professionals to back-up our 100% guarantee. This ensures your stay with us is as comfortable as possible.All pests are removed using a 4 stage -100% green non toxic control.(Ozone, essential oils, steam and Diatomaceous Earth)We stand behind our guarantees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Pineapple Backpackers Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing