We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 3 Month Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanur Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanur Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 121 Sanur B&B and Inns
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 3 Month Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Never did I imagine my 3 month vacation away from home would be this enjoyable! From the clean room, to the warm showers, to the most amazing breakfasts served every morning, it was almost like being at home. What made the stay even better was the great hospitality shown by Kelvin and Tammy! Being a solo traveler, it took me awhile to get out there, but Tammy was kind enough to take me out to see Bali and all it had to offer. She not only took me to get a great massage, facial, and cream scrub (which is a hair wash and scalp massage), but she also invited me out to a restaurant and bar for dinner and a chance to see Bali's night life. In addition to the lovely stay, they provided me with a bike so I could get around town. This saved me a lot on taxi cab fair as it was easy to bike just about any place I needed to go. Among my favorite moments while staying here was the great sleep I was able to catch up on. When I am home, it is not often, if ever I can catch a nap during the day. Not only was I able to sleep soundly ay night, I also had some of the most peaceful naps during the day. This place is perfectly located on a quite street, which happens to be close to everything one could want, including the beach and restaurants. Another added bonus was access to the WiFi. As wonderful as it is to get away from the world, it was nice to be able to stay connected. Overall, my stay here was amazing, and I definitely look forward to coming back with friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyMMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The overall impression. The hotel is located in the private sector. It consists of three houses and a cozy green garden. The road to the beach takes about 10 minutes on foot and goes through the narrow streets (not illuminated at night).

Apartments. We lived on the first floor. This is a large bright studio with a garden view, small kitchen, big and comfortable bed. Sometimes at night, the heater is turned off and you can use cold water only. Cleaning is rare, but you can ask for extraordinary cleaning. It's better to take your own towels.

Breakfasts. Delicious and nutritious!

Attitude to the guests. Calvin and Tami (the owners) are very nice people. They answered in detail to all the questions about the island and not just about it, they also organized laundry services and taxi (for a fee).

The most important thing you should know when choosing this hotel, is that in it you will not feel like in a Hilton or 4 Seasons. This is not a hotel for a classic honeymoon. The main advantage of Sanur b&b - is a warm family atmosphere and the kindness of the Indonesian owners. What I would recommend for sure while staying there - are Calvin's wonderful tours. Besides the fact he organizes personal vehicles at the lowest price, excursions are FREE (you pay only for the driver's services) and they will show you the most beautiful places on the island. His tours have nothing in common with group rides on a big buses. Even the driver (a friend of Kelvin) is not just doing his job, and can easily bring you to the village and to acquaint with his friendly relatives. It must be experienced. We are extremely grateful for the amazing time spent with Calvin.

PS There are three great dogs in the hotel yard!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreyStrelkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we had an amaizing room in this really nice B&B. Located very close to the shore, yet in a calm area. We could use some bikes, free of charge, to visit the surroundings. Breakfast is delicious, and, last but not least, the host is very friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked for one night after coming back from Gili and before going to Lovina.
At first our driver wasn't able to find this homestay and it took us some minutes.
The first impression was disappointing.
They don't even have a sign or something like this.
The name is only painted to the door. Not really classy for the money you have to pay.
Anyway we went in and where directly welcomed by the owners 3 little dogs.
The garden is really beautiful and we wondered how our room will look.
We got a bungalow directly in the garden with our own small terrace faceing the garden and a little backyard where our private pool and the bath was.
The bath contained a dirty and old toilet, a washbasin which was not working, but dirty.
Outside of this small building was the shower. You are not able to change the temperature of the water or hide yourself from other people in your room during showering.
In the pool was no water, but a lot of dead animals.
The owner told us he put no water in it because we only booked one day before.
Back to the room.
Our room had no aircon but a fan. He told us that it might be possible to fix the fan to one position but he doesn't know how to do this.
The room was nice equipped but everything looked old and dusty.
On a table was a magazine and some mosquito repellent. The magazine was almost one year old and the mosquito repellent had probably the same age. It was almost empty.
The whole room looked like it took a long time since they cared about its shape.
The bed was surrounded by a mosquito net and a a lot of dead animals on top of it.
When we were asking for the fastest way to the beach the owner told us to take his bikes.
Seems like a nice offer but the bikes were in no good shape and we had to pump it up by ourself in a nearby coffee to use it.
The breakfast next morning was really good and you get definitely enough food to start your day.
At the end our host turned a little bit more friendly and let us use his phone to call a driver.

All in all it was not a bad stay.
There was nothing you can't handle (especially if you are young ;-) ). It's only disappointing that you could have get something much better for this money or cheaper for this quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ichichich3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are looking for a cosy homestay, the Sanur B&B, its a nice choice. Kelvin, the owner, was very helpful and we felt very well taken care of. Within a short 5 minute walk there are good restaurants nearby as well as the beach is not too far away. The property's garden is very relaxing, breakfast was huge and rather a brunch...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reisema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There are some good things about this place. The studio we stayed in on the top floor was spacious with a big bed and sofa. It was very clean too. The breakfast was also delicious and plentiful. The owner took us down to the beach to show us the way.

Unfortunately the plunge pool was very green and grimey- definitely not suitable for swimming in. The location is a good 10 minute walk down lots of back alleys to get to the beach (which isn't that nice). So it is not 3 mins to the beach as advertised. For us the studio did not have a separate bathroom- it is open so not suitable if you are a group sharing and wanting to go to the loo in privacy. Also it lacked a balcony adjoining the room (preferable if you have kids) or any nice seating area in the garden, just a bench.

Also we had a problem of no water supply to our room. When we mentioned this the owner said "ah yes, we are at the end of the line so every day in the busy hours (ie approx 630-830 am and 5-7pm) there is not enough pressure from the main water system to supply us with any water". I appreciate that they may not be able to change that, but they could at least provide buckets and dippers in the bathroom so that you can fill them up in anticipation and then use to flush the toilet when there is no water. Its just a matter of communicating with your guests and being thoughtful to their basic needs.

Could do better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2012. Kelvin was the perfect host. Gave great recommendations and organized whatever we asked for.
The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood, only 5 bike-minutes away from the beach and the busy food-and-shopping-main road. The rooms are typical Balinese-style, the garden is beautiful and the breakfast is delicious. Breakfast was either served in our room or the terrace with fresh coffee, fruit, bread and jam, rice and nudels. Thanks to Kelvin and his wife we had a terrific stay in Sanur!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Germanfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Alia Home
Alia Home
#22 of 121 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanur Guest House
Sanur Guest House
#4 of 121 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sindhu Mertha Suite
Sindhu Mertha Suite
#35 of 121 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise
Sunrise
#73 of 121 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Janan Villa
The Janan Villa
#28 of 121 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sindhu Mertha Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanur Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanur Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sanur Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jl Danau Poso | Gg Wana Sari 10, Sanur, Denpasar N/A, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanur bed & breakfast is a private home stay in harmony with the Balinese environment. Located in a quiet exclusive neighborhood in the Sanur Blanjong area within 3 minutes to a white sandy beach, markets, beach side cafes and spa's.Sanur bed & breakfast is fully equipped with free internet access, Salite-TV, DVD on demand, hot&cold water, kitchen facilities, plunge pool, garden area and air conditioned room. Continental or Asian breakfast on request is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sanur Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanur Bed & Breakfast Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing