We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn how to cook authentic balinese food”

Bamboo Shoots Cooking School
Ranked #2 of 11 Food & Drink in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Learn how to cook authentic balinese food”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We found out about the cookery school while searching for things to do in Sanur and booked by email for when we were on honeymoon in September 2013. We were picked up at 7am from our hotel by Irma who runs the school and taken to the local market where the food we were cooking with was purchased. We were then taken back to where the cookery school is and given breakfast. There were 5 altogether in the class we had. Then we cooked dishes together, everyone doing as much or as little as they wanted. After each dish we would eat what had been cooked. At the end, we were given a copy of the recipes so we can cook them at home.
The food was excellent even cooked by us amateurs and I would recommend this to anyone staying in the Sanur area.
The cookery school can be contacted at bambooshootsbali@hotmail.com

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank leetraveller1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    31
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Legian, but found this school in Sanur. We contacted Irma prior to arriving in Bali, and she organised for a driver to pick us up early and take us to the fresh markets to meet up with the rest of the class. The driver was great and we got there a little earlier than the group. Rosie took us around for a look at the fresh markets while we were waiting. They are an experience in themselves! After this the group headed back to the class to start prepping and cooking the meals. Each meal was amazing and very different flavours. They catered easily for my friend who was vegetarian (thank you!) and the beers towards the end were great. The class was probably a bit too big (10) and sometimes they seemed not quite sure what to do with all of us as once. The driver took us back to our hotel in Legian at the end - the transport was 150,000 IRP, which we thought was very reasonable! We would recommend this class to anyone who would like to experience some traditional Indonesian cooking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dugong72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth doing”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great value for money. Transfers, market shopping, breakfast, 6 delicious dishes made by the participants to sample, plus beer, wine, soft drink and the recipes to take home, great way to spend the morning. Irma and the girls were lovely as well. Suitable for all ages, there were 2 young children cooking on the day we took this tour. They had a great time which was fun for everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth doing”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This hands on cooking class was great fun and has inspired us to give some of the recipes a go at home (you get a recipe book to take home with you). The biggest eye-opener was making the cases for spring rolls - who knew that was how it is done.

Enjoying the food with a glass of wine or a beer while chatting with the others in the group was a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank ShazDwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Morning in Bali”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This cooking school is a must as it offers value for money,great atmosphere and a guided tour around a beautiful market.
Irma & Wati put you to work to produce some wonderful food - Great job Guy's the Ikan Bakar was a favourite I will try at home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Shoots Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Shoots Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing