We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must try ! fish soup or fried fish with hot sauce”
Review of Warung Mak Beng

Warung Mak Beng
Ranked #35 of 441 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“must try ! fish soup or fried fish with hot sauce”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

if u go to sanur..please come and visit this small restaurant near sanur beach.
the food is simple..only one main menu..fish...first plate fish soup..and second is fried fish..with sambal/chili sauce..(very spicy..not recomend if u have stomach ache)

the soup is fresh..and the fried fish is so crispy...

when we enjoy our fish on this place..we must be tolerate with other customer, because the restaurant place its not big , and sometimes when lunch time..there is a lot of customer queuing or wait beside our table and hope we finished as fast as we can..(for some customer this situation its not relaxing)

its not restaurant for relaxing or chit chat...but dont worry....we come to this place for eat delicious fish..after that..enjoy the sanur beach..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eripalgunadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    262
    79
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very delicious fish dish!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was my first time trying Mak Beng and I've heard about this dish a lot from my friends. They only have one menu and it was great! The spices they used and the freshness of the meat are what make this restaurant so famous. Great to try and it is better to come before noon, otherwise the fish may be sold out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenitaPutri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Amazing food and fantastic atmosphere right on the ferry beach to the Gilis. Only serving fried fish with fiery sambal, spicy fish and gourd soup and rice, this is a classic – full of locals and going strong since 1941. You don't even need to order – the lovely ladies will bring you the only dish they serve to your table. Just make sure you're there by 11:30 when it closes. We were the only ferengi in there the three times we ate there. One of the best meals I've eaten in Bali, if not ever. Why aren't there more restaurants just doing one thing, really really really well?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spicy authentico”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

You shouldn't miss this authentico when you are in Bali. *******
The place is a "warung" so don't expect an aircon or any fancy ambience but the sea breeze.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeganJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fish soup”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

simply the best fish soup I ever had. Sambel was very spicy ( loved it)the special package is delicious . I had several meals there and continue to eat there every 2 weeks

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Mak Beng also viewed

 

Been to Warung Mak Beng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing