We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa
Ranked #51 of 137 Sanur B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room was recently refurnished and very pleasant.
The negatives -
- no information or pamphlets available at reception
- made enquiry re cooking class in Sanur and also orphanage we wanted to visit, but there was no information available and staff not interested in checking out for me. I went on the internet and booked both myself. Also had to ask for an information folder for our room (twice) but also not very informative.
- there is a shuttle bus that will take you to Sanur (you have to find your own way back) but in the 5 days we stayed there it was never available, they would however organise a taxi for us.
- you can walk to the beach but you end up at the very end near the swampy area, its about a 10 minute walk to get to the popular section of the beach. Better walking along the main road which is full of shopping and restaurants and then walk through one of the resorts (Mercure) to get to the beach.
- as mentioned in other blogs, the breakfast is pretty ordinary, noodles, rice, scrambled eggs, small sausages and chicken bacon, fruit, croissants and danishes (in plastic bulk packs) - the same every day, not much thought or care taken.

I don't like giving a negative review but at A$115 it was not cheap and we moved (and counted our losses) to other accommodation which turned out to be the complete opposite of the Astana.

This accommodation was booked by our travel agent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icb1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights with my 2 year-old, husband, and my parents. we had the connecting rooms which is excellent. staff are friendly and fast.
i love the kitchenette which is equipped with a microwave, stove, and cooking utilities, including knife and cutting board. those with babies and toddlers woyld appreciate this as we do.

the only disappointing thing is the breakfast variety which is the same day after day; fried rice/noodle, toast, omelette/scramble/boiled eggs, a few types of danish and fruits. the restaurant menu is also limited, and not so much child-friendly menu. but there are many restaurants that do deliveries, so that doesn't bother us much. but varieties of breakfast woyld certainly make me want to visit this hotel again

Room Tip: as others stated, 2nd floor rooms are recommended to those who'd prefer quiet environment as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alcyone a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Alcyone a

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Astana Pengembak and I think that your information our room facilities will be very helpful to our future guests, we appreciate your effort. I am sorry you have not enjoyed our breakfast, we are making much efforts to improve our breakfast quality. We have shortly added sausages, more veggies, more cheese types, more pastries, more fresh fruits season, more juice. Feel free to recommend any further suggestion, that would be very much appreciated.

Thank you very much for such a good feedback, feel free to come back anytime you're in Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the Astana and have enjoyed the apartment very much. The staff has been most helpful with a number of issues we needed help to resolve. Apartment was clean and the swimming pool is one of a few you can swim laps. if there is any criticism it is that that is a bit too far from Sanur centre and the restaurant could possibly have a greater choice.
We can recommend the Sanur apartment to anyone looking for a quite and relaxed stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeiriA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear HeiriA,

Thank you so much for posting a wonderful review about your stay at Astana Pengembak. We are glad to know that you had a great time here and "enjoyed" 5 nights visit in Bali. I am happy that your experience at Astana Pengembak ticked all boxes and you loved our Apartment style. I think that your story will be very helpful to our future guests. Feel free to come back anytime you're in Bali.

Regards

Rudi Rizwana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Yes the room and bathroom are big well furnished and relative new. The kitchenette is small and sparse equipped while the cleaners don’t have good instructions to do the dishes or not. The long pool is nice for swimming however it is difficult to find the right time for this since it is too small to hold at the same time other in the water playing persons. Since the rooms are only a few meters opposite each other with this long small pool in between there can be a noise problem when guest are not leaving the pool according to the house rules. This needs more enforcement. Further is it better to have rooms on the 2nd floor to avoid intruding glares. Their free bikes are a nice gesture to visit the nearby beach and restaurants; they provide as well a free shuttle for a visit to the center of town.

Room Tip: For more privacy take a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terbangbelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are very glad that you had such a great stay in our Apartment. and I thank your for your candid suggestions about our 2nd floor room Thanks a lot for sharing your story, we are always eager to get more guests' review to improve our standards

Feel free to come back anytime you're in Bali, you are most welcome!

Regards

Rudi Rizwana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stay there in August just for a weekend getaway. It was amazing indeed! the physical room conditions was perfect and very pleasant with their whited color concept. The room I stayed in was in 2507 with direct walk path to their private pool. The view was amazing and I enjoyed the stay there. The only weakness is that they do not have GSM repeater in the building, so your handphone will be totally disconnected to the local network be it with XL or Telkomsel (Local GSM provider). We can only connected via Wifi for communication, but no GSM call is possible. That is the only point for improvement.

I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends and colleague, who doesn't bother with GSM connectivity in the room during their stay.

Room Tip: When order some drink from their little cafe, bare in mind that they will not provide glasses. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eko_Purwanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Pak Eko

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Astana Pengembak, We appreciate your stunning feedback for posting such a great review and we are very glad that you had such a good time, Most appreciate for your advice on the GSM repeater and we will work on it to make an improvement for the GSM thing, feel free to join us anytime you're in Bali.

Best Regards

Rudi Rizwana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My daughter and I visited this property for 5 days. We had my two grandchildren with us. The staff were excellent. They were friendly and helpful, with good English. Nice and close to everything, with just a walk to a couple of lovely Warungs and the beautiful Gardenia Guest House and Cafe. Also easy to walk to the beach. The pool was well kept. The rooms were spacious with connecting door and we were very impressed that noise from either room did not carry. The wardrobe, vanity basin and bathroom set up was excellent. The kitchenette a great idea. The breakfast was disappointing, we only ate there twice but it was easy to get into Sanur and access many nice restaurants and cafes. I would certainly visit this property again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Lesley,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the time in our hotel and for sharing your stay experience with us, We appreciate receiving the feedback and it is always shared with our team for improve the breakfast quality and better service. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Rudi Rizwana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fine stay at astana apartment. Rooms are excellent with good beds and a fantastic shower. Too bad some guests still smoking in the room. The breakfast is neat and clean. Perhaps the drive door of a slightly better quality can be. They close not quite right anymore.





Vertaling:







Vertaling:

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binkie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Binkie15,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing such a positive review about your recent stay at Astana Pengembak. I will share the comment with our staff, and improve to be more strict on info to client that no smoking at room and also to upgrade the drive door should work properly.

It has been a great honor to have you with us! We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Kind Regards

Rudi Rizwana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.2 mi away
Prime Plaza Hotel Sanur - Bali (Formally Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel)
0.1 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 79 in Sanur
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
0.3 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#57 of 79 in Sanur
130 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#39 of 79 in Sanur
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa

Address: Jl. Pengembak No. 28, Sanur, Denpasar 80238, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: $31 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing