We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good with some problems.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yulia Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yulia Homestay
Ranked #40 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good with some problems.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Big room, good air/con, comfortable bed, nice staff, great location, beautiful compound. Our room (#4) had a very low doorway which was ornately carved into two sharp points which I hit my head into several times, and it REALLY hurt. The curtains were the grimiest nasty looking things you can imagine. The bathroom window lets in smoke from the nightly garbage fires next door. Every night at 5pm a bunch of men get together in the alley next door and have very loud cockfights till about dark. We still really enjoyed our 5 days there.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
23
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

My experience: Stayed at Yulia homestay for only one night. Another time wanted to stay there also just for a few hours to let our baby to sleep and received a booking confirmation 2 days prior, but when we've arrived to a hotel room we were promised was under repairing. They were painting it. So, was not very pleasant to search for an alternative accommodation with an 1 year old baby.
About the place: good and cheap, big rooms, ether with terrace or balcony. TV with Eanglish speaking channels, breakfast included. WiFi. Bathroom: very shabby and dirty. That was the only thing that makes us not to come back.
Stuff: friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UA_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed at Yulia 2 homestay for only one night but I had a great stay. I was arriving late - 9pm from the airport and when I arrived the staff were waiting for me. The room was huge with a big television which had a full range of english speaking channels. The room was very comfortable; 2 twin beds, TV, fresh linen and 2 big towels. The room was one of the new ones which was 250,000 per night but it was worth it for the hot water shower and a really decent sized room and massive bathroom. I didn't rate this as 5 star as the cafe at the front where breakfast is served was under construction so breakfast was a bit dusty but this will obviously only be a temporary measure. Also the rooms are set in a couryard which is a bare compared to some of the places in Sanur with gardens but this is a great value budget option. The rooms are set in the heart of sanur just back from the main road but it is surprising quiet and it is only a minute to Hardy's on foot and there are plenty of amenities within easy walking distance. The staff were very, very good. They knew when I was arriving, were ready to meet me, showed me the room and very friendly and helpful throughout. Overall, definately recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the new rooms with hot water and TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swormald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed 3 weeks! at yulia 1 last year and really liked the place.
Ketut the owner and his family are really friendly & reliable.

The place has a lovely courtyard with chirping birds. Different price of rooms.
The nicer ones (upstairs) are a little more expensive but really nice & clean and also have hot water.
Breakfast (coffee or tea, toast, jam & fresh fruit) is served every morning on your terrace, just drop by the kitchen and they will bring it.

I have heard there is wifi available by now but can`t confirm.
But next door there is are 2 i-cafes anyways.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belgajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta Bali Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed with my family at this place last month for nightas.
We love the rooms very much. It is large,well maintain and very clean. We also love the restaurant just next to the homestay called billys Cafe where all guest have breakfast every morning. The staff also very helpfull with smile.It is only 5 minutes away walk to the beach and 2 minutes walk distance to the biggest supermarket in sanur. The owner Mr.Nyoman with his wife Mrs.Putu are very welcome.
This is the place for all travellers who wish to stay in sanur with good price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saka_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Yulia 2 Homestay
Yulia 2 Homestay
#69 of 134 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Semarandana
Semarandana
#15 of 134 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirana Homestay
Kirana Homestay
#14 of 134 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Keke Homestay
Keke Homestay
#25 of 137 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radha Home Stay
Radha Home Stay
#18 of 134 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gustav Homestay
Gustav Homestay
#28 of 134 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yulia Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yulia Homestay

Property: Yulia Homestay
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan no. 57, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Also Known As:
Yulia Homestay Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing