We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a piece of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa
Ranked #78 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Bali
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a piece of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

we had a great time in this tiny village with our family,
yes this is clearly not in Sanur,
but, we have been in Sanur, and we did like in fact that we are out of the "city".
the true Bali came to us with every step, the real village life, with offerings, with working locals, while we were in a total luxury in a perfect, even superbbbbb villa at the beach.
i would come back anytime!

Room Tip: obviously the beachfront villas i would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zitary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

As we embarked on our honeymoon we stayed here for one week, and what a week we got! The service level is above what we have ever seen. We were actually offered to borrow the scooter from on the staff members at one point! The place is quiet, sat alone at the end of the road. Nothing much to do rather then relax by your pool and read good books. They offer free transport to and from Sanur, in Sanur you will find a variety of shops and restaurants. The beach by the villas is black, hughe waves and often littered. But the atmosphere is delightful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went to Pandawa in early Nov 2012 for a 5d4n 3rd year anniversary trip. It's our first time in Bali. We purchased a deal through LivingSocial coupon website, of which the rooms based on the pictures and coupon value was hard to resist(incl massage, airport transfer & breakfast)
Finally the day came, we arrived with lots of anticipation. However, the promised airport transfer never came. But lucky us, the chartered transport service that we booked for tour the next day screwed our booking and the driver came to pick us up at the airport instead! We realized that after some conversation, we realized he was not from Pandawa! Funny ha! He was so kind, and sent us to the hotel FOC. True Balinese hospitality :)
We soon discovered that Pandawa was true to what it claimed in the ad. Except that, we didn't know it was at the far end of Sanur, on the black sand beach. Besides the screw up on the airport transfer, we didn't face any problems with the hotel. Our breakfast was good, sent to the room. The porters and receptions was fine, but not with perfect English. Not much of problem since we speak Malay language which is not so much different than Indonesian language.
I was excited to watch surfers surfing at the much less populated area right from our villa. It was my first time to step on the black sand!

One thing you must know, the location is far from the touristy area of the center of Sanur town. So if you want action, lots of shops,dive shops,tour companies and facilities around you won't find them within walking distance. We rent a motorbike, and traveled 15-20 min to town to get a decent lunch/dinner, especially for Halal restaurants.

After two nights, we checked out and head to the very busy city of Kuta. Big mistake. We should've visit Kuta first and head to Pandawa before leaving Bali. Seriously guys, if you want a better holiday, go to Kuta first before heading to other areas of Bali. Only then, you'll be properly rested.

Go to Pandawa if you don't mind black sand and not planning to do stuffs as mentioned above. Just relax!

Good luck on your trip :)

Room Tip: Beach front villas definitely! And ask them to turn on the A/C a good half hour before you came in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The view and intentions of this hotel are good. However, it is NOT located in Sanur, it is in Denpassar. It is on the beach but one would probably not go onto it or swim in its waters. Black sand, very large waves and full of garbage.
The hotel itself is beautifully designed and the staff here are fabulous. They cannot do enough for you. Spa services are excellent. The food menu is extremely limited but the chef/cooks are quite accommodating whereby you can bring food from the market and they will prepare truly gourmet dishes.
The rooms are lovely and tastefully decorated. Only 1 year old, the buildings are already showing serious signs of deteriorations. The gardens are beautiful and well cared for.
I was here for 12 days or so and had to move 4 times to different rooms as previoius reservations were made for my room. The hotel is situated quite far from shopping, entertainment, beaches etc. There is a shuttle service a few times a day into Sanur. Other times, taxis are the best way to go because to have their chauffeur drive you is 2 or 3 times more than my cab.
All in all, a very peaceful place to stay especially for honeymooners.

Room Tip: All rooms are very attractive. One has access to a fully equipped kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loripoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a trip in Bali and I would like to thank the people of Pandawa for making yhe stay a great and enjoyable one.

We checked in in valentines day and was given a complimentary white rose and some chocolates and that was really sweet.Rooms are exactly what you see in the pictures and they are great. Only small issue is that its mainly windows and glass doors so you can only have privacy behind night curtains so some may not feel too comfortable with this kinda setting.

The location of this villa is not in sanur but ketewel, village area hence getting in and out of the villa without proper transport arranged can be an issue and the price of the in house transpory is a little steep.

Room service and food orders are responded to in pretty decent speed and we felt really happy with the srvicws rendered. In house massage is rather steep but the quality is there.

Well done Pandawa!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuzeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was my first trip to Bali. We selected Pandawa Villas based on its website and the relatively lower tariffs (and because we didnt want to be in the heart of too many touristy places). Most people can drive straight into Seminyak or Kuta and never see another part of Bali - if you are indeed wishing to do that, then perhaps this may not be the place. Its important to understand what this hotel can offer and what you can do to enjoy it.

Pandawas Villas is situated in a balinese neighborhood - pat next to local houses and even a temple. The beach is black sand, but unfortunately in a terrible state - this has less to do with the hotel and more from a perspective of Balinese customs and beliefs (temple offerings etc are often discarded into the sea and get washed up on the shore). The positives of the location are that you do get to feel more authenticity of Bali than just what a resort can offer.

The villas are tastefully done with modern amenities - at the time we went, you had the option of renting just a room and not the entire villa. It seemed fairly new - and the pool in our villa was large. If there was a drawback, it would be that the bathroom has no door - something you may want to check in depending on who you are travelling with.

The complimentary 15 minute foot massage was nice; breakfast included was delicious (they took care to make things vegetarian for us, which we were grateful for). SOme of the other dishes we ordered were regular international food (club sandwich, pizza and coffee - the balinese coffee is very delicious). The staff was very polite and friendly. They had some difficulty in english, but nothing that was a hindrance (infact they would go out of the way to try and understand what you meant and wanted). They have shuttle service to Sanur which is well worth it - the beach there is gorgeous and the market street has some nifty spots to cycle up if you want, soak up the atmosphere while tasting some delicious gellato or shop at the multi shops there.

We rented their car services (Toyota SUV) and they took us around to the places we wanted to see and some we hadnt known about (Karma Kandara beach, Garuda Wisnu Kencana Cultural Park). Dreamland beach is a must visit. They took us around east bali and candidasa - always being flexible and courteous. Perhaps we could have taken one of the taxis from the local market and maybe they could have been cheaper. But for us, the Pandawa staff were so kind that we felt it better to use their services.

If you want some authentic flavor of Bali, which is less touristy and yet offers you simple luxury, then this place is an good option. We stayed at Ubud and Seminyak in other properties, but we really liked and would recommend this one above Bali Rich Villas in Seminyak.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rishabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We have been in Pandawa V&S for 10 days. Never again. 10 days to Long. Breakfast: maxinum minimum!!! Very simple, poor :-( The nearest shop and restaurant in Sanur (12km) Transfer from the hotel to Sanur working not perfect. For every suggestion from us we heard "im so sorry sir". This is not 4 star hotel. If U wanna lose Your money and have a bad holiday- this is the right address

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jorn_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
4.8 mi away
Bali Diamond Villas
Bali Diamond Villas
#2 of 3 in Keramas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Samata
The Samata
#10 of 74 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Beachside
Villa Beachside
#1 of 3 in Ketewel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anapuri Villas
Anapuri Villas
#2 of 40 in Gianyar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aishwarya Exclusive Villas
2.5 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa

Property: Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Pantai Gumicik, Br. Gumicik | Ketewel, North of Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pandawa Beach Vila is consist of 5 unit villas, with total 14 bedrooms with exceptional comfort, impressive tropical and modern design with a unique traditional concept. The well prepared service-line infrastructure will provide you an unforgettable Pandawa living experience. Located at Banjar Gumicik, Ketewel, North of Sanur and Ketewel Beach is an ideal location to cherish the glorious sunrises that is exclusive to Pandawa Beach Villa only! Our spacious parking area covered by lush garden and trees will give you a hommy atmosphere, while the main gate a Javanese 'Candi' style will direct you to a wooden bridge over a fish pond to meet our hidden treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandawa Beach Villas Hotel Sanur
Pandawa Beach Villas And Spa
Pandawa Beach Villas & Spa Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing