We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great soup, average babi guling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babi Guling Sanur

Babi Guling Sanur
Ranked #177 of 420 Restaurants in Sanur
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
486 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Great soup, average babi guling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Compared to other babi guling restaurants like Ibu Oka in Ubud, the food is average but the soup is to die for and I will be back for another bowl soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you like eating with the locals and eat what and how they eat, then give this a go. Babi Guling (suckling pig) is cooked freshly every morning...I doubt whether any part of the pig is wasted, it's all cooked up with herbs and spices and presented in various forms. All the bits and pieces are served up on a plate accompanied with rice and (blow your head off) chilli sauce plus a clearish spicy soup of some sort. I like to pour the soup over the rice or the pork but it's nice just to eat as soup as well. Now this is Bali...none of the pork is refrigerated (it just sits in a 3 sided glass cabinet until required), so my very strong recommendation is to plan for an earlyish lunch...I wouldn't risk it after say 12pm (particularly if the weather is really hot). Oh and it costs about 30,000 IDR (about $3AUD) per serve...and while you're at it grab a packet of pork crackles to have with an icey cold Bintang later on...mmm

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank delltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a dissapointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

After reading the fantastic reviews of this place I just had to go and check it out. We were there about 5 pm and there were no other customers. I ordered babi guling and my wife chicken satay. What a huge dissapointment was waiting for us! We received small cups of soup, portions of rice and separate plates of satay and babi guling. The soup contained bones, pieces of skin, some shreds of meat and white, jelly stuff in a very spicy liquid. Neither of us could finish it. Satay was just a few pieces of very, very dry chicken on sticks. But the babi guling plate: only a few small pieces of dry pork meat, some soft shreds of skin, bones, "white stuff" and some vegetables. The portion was so small that even a five year old wouldn't be hyppy with it. All very dry with lots of chili. I guess they had sold out all the delicious parts (if there were any to start out with) hours ago and we were served some leftovers. Two lousy portions together with two beers did all together 90 000 IDR! And this all came with quite rude service, unappetizing smell and about one million flies

Helpful?
Thank Risto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good and Proper Indonesian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere plays a huge part in overall experience and I suspect that if we had seen the pig roasting this review may be more favourable. Dont get me wrong the food was delicious and I could live on the soup alone. I guess I was just expecting to have my mind blown. Go if you absolutely love pork in all of its various forms. Be prepared for warm drinks and the traffic on your doorstep. 70,000 rupiah for 2 people with drinks make this a fair bargain.

Would I go again? Probably not, I would try other locations though in search of the elusive god pig.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“lokal food for balines food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

in bali we get some special food ,we called babi guling this with roosted pig,afternoon near traffic light at sanur if you from the airport,this place on the left side roads,small place with good food,and not expensive in here, average price,more lokal people get some lunch in here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank komangrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babi Guling Sanur also viewed

 
Sanur, Denpasar
Sanur, Denpasar
 

Been to Babi Guling Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing