We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Sanur”
Review of Karma Royal Sanur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karma Royal Sanur
Ranked #50 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

As new Royal members the Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur was our first time using our benefits....a weeks accommodation in a one bedroom apartment with kitchenette. The staff were delightful - friendly and courteous but not in your face. The resort provided varied theme nights ranging from Bali dancing to steak nights. The facilities were well presented and the pool even had a swim up bar.....!!!! The spa centre was intimate and the massages were fantastic and very good value. The resort is on the main road from Denpasar but only a 10 -15 minute walk to the beach. There is a free am and pm shuttle service to the beach or to the main shopping precinct. The Sanur beach front was a great experience - vibrant, colourful and used by many Balinese for swimming, dining and socialising. It was lovely to see local people enjoying their own space. Sanur is a very good quiet alternative to the busier parts of Bali and the Royal Bali resort a peaceful place to relax and wind down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Kate H, thank you very much for sharing a thorough review with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us, felt comfortable with the one bedroom apartment, and enjoyed our pool and dinner. I will definitely share your kind words to the entire team and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at the resort for another memorable and relaxing experience.
Once again thank you very much for stay with us and recommended our resorts. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Royal Beach Club Sanur in the near future
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a week here in June in a clean studio unit. There are 4 two bedroom units on the ground floor with 8 studios on the next floor and another 9 rooms on top floor. Rooms are serviced once daily plus there is an optional turn down service. Rooms have a mini-kitchen consisting of jug, toaster, microwave, drip filter coffee maker and sink. Our large room was on the top floor accessed via steeper than normal stairs as there is no lift although staff will carry up or bring down the bags. Rooms away from the busy Ngurah Bypass Rd are quieter than those at the road end.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and provide excellent service. The pool is a good size and a great spot to relax. We had exchanged some points for daily breakfast and this enabled a large American breakfast or a flexible selection from the a la carte menu. We generally ate out for dinner however we did enjoy the steak night on the Friday which was better value. There are many good restaurants 5 to 8 minutes’ walk from the hotel nearer the beach area. Hardy’s supermarket is a fast 20minute walk from the hotel and there are free shuttles twice a day (walk back or get a cheap taxi ride).
Day trips are offered at reception for about Rp 450K and represented good value as the drivers worked for the hotel and spoke excellent English. The discounts offered at the spa represented good value.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the busy road will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandN449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Land N, thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us, we did regular training to maintained our quality of service and cleanliness.
We also offer special dinner in restaurant and special discount for our member.
Once again thank you very much for stay with us and recommended our SPA, Restaurant and Royal Bali Beach Club. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Royal Beach Club Sanur in the near future
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just spent one of the most pleasant weeks of our frequent visits to Bali. The Resort is intimate and immaculately maintained. The staff is courteous and friendly, without being intrusive. Our two-bedroom apartment was spacious and meticulously clean. The food was excellent and our daily massages were affordable and deeply relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Jenny W, thank you very much for your positive review, we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur. We are glad that you enjoyed our Food and SPA treatment.
We did room cleaning everyday to maintained room cleanliness and make our guests comfort. Once again thank you very much for stay with us and recommended our SPA, Restaurant and Royal Bali Beach Club. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Royal Beach Club Sanur in the near future
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are Royal members, and stayed here again, booking two two bedroom apartments for a week, taking our two kids, my brother and partner and friends who stayed here with us last time. The place was an even better hit this time, and all declared that we all agreed this resort now out performs Royal at Candi Dasa, by quite a bit. Lovely layout, love the newly renovated bathrooms in our 2 bedders, they are fresh and appealing. Loved having a bath in them to soak tired shopping feet! The staff are just as fresh and interested, if not more so than last stay. Cleaning was extra good. Love the spa discount ideas, so much more appealing, and more realistic. Breakfasts were very good. Dinners....well, lets just say I hope the cooks can get some translated cook books for every non Indonesian dish they serve. Maybe a crash Jamie Oliver course on good pasta would be a great start. They also have a shuttle now-nice one, although a taxi for four into the beach area or Jalan Tamblingan still only costs 7500idr (75cents Aussie at the time!).

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartments are the ground floor ones and all have patios onto the pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank switchedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear switchedoff, thank you very much for your positive review, we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur. We are glad to offer you and others member special daily SPA packages, and happy to hear that you enjoyed The SPA and meal in the restaurant.
We did shuttle service 2 time everyday to all members who stay with us.
Once again thank you very much for stay with us and recommended our SPA, Restaurant and Royal Bali Beach Club.We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Royal Beach Club Sanur in the near future
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second time staying at RBBC Sanur and it was wonderful again :-) Our room was located on the ground floor and had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. As se had stayed here before we were happy to use extra points for a 2 bedroom unit. The staff were terrific - very helpful, friendly, smiling - including the maintenance men. The one tweak I could suggest is that if the massage options were more competitively priced with the one being offered outside the resort then they would get more customers. My husband and I are looking forward to going back again next year. Thank you Alit, Eny and everyone for making our holiday a pleasure.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Kate, thank you very much for your positive review, we are very happy to hear that you have a wonderful time with us, also thank you for your suggestion about our SPA and recommended Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur. We looking forward to welcoming you next year.
Best regard,
Staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I chose to use my RCI complimentary stay for 4D/3N at RBBC Sanur and I have to say it was the right choice. The lay-out of the place was really nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful and provided very good service. Found the room big enough, very clean and comfortable with all the needed ammenities. Even if the resort was located along the main road we found the location really good for us, because we were able to explore the area around it. Since we rented a scooter for 2 days it really made our access to and from the resort that much easier. We actually found where the locals have food carts/warungs that served really good local cuisine and ended up eating there almost every evening.

Since RBBC generally caters mainly to the Time-share members, I highly recommend it to those thingking of using their vacation weeks in Bali. Thank you RBBC Sanur.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDiver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Chriss Diver, thank you very much for you positive review, we are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time with us,Please do not forget The Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur when planning your next trip to Bali.Once again, thank for staying with us, and recommended our resort Royal Bali Beach Club.Please feel free to contact the resort, We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Royal Beach Club Sanur in the near future
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked for 7 nights at the Royal Bali Beach Club at Sanur in April 2013, but were forced to leave after only 3 nights due to the disgusting behavior of other guests.

In the outside pool area and surrounding gardens there was continuous foul language, “good time” shouting with intoxicated behavior and also aggressive behaviour at times. At the pool swim up bar there were guests drinking heavily and shouting across the pool and up to the balconies above the pool to other guest. There was also a group of young teenage boys with loud behavior and constant “bommie shelling” into the pool. The pool is very small for a resort and these groups of people around 15 in all had no consideration for other guests, they carried on as though they were the only people at the resort. We were so uncomfortable with the behaviour we did not go into the pool area. All the rooms overlook the pool area.

We did speak to the reception staff on the evening of our second night, they took note of our comments and said they would look into the matter. Reception is in relatively close proximity to the pool area and the noise could be heard while we were speaking with reception so they knew exactly what we were referring to.

The resort is small with only 22 rooms and is badly located in Sanur, it is on a very busy four lane carriageway road with very noisy traffic from cars, buses and trucks. The resort is built on 3 levels built lengthways from the road. We were fortunate to be allocated a room at the back end of the building away from the road, so had minimal traffic noise, but the rooms on the road end of the building would be very noisy.

Our room was a good size, well appointed and clean, a big negative was in the bathroom there was absolutely no shelf area so nowhere to put toiletries etc.

The resort did offer several themed daily and evening meal options a couple of which we were interested in however on our second night we cancelled our booking due to the behavior of other guests around the pool and restaurant area. We did not want to have a meal with rowdy, drunk people.

Due to the rowdy behaviour, we had no alternative but to cut our stay from one week to three nights and leave. We advised the resort that we would be checking out in the afternoon prior to our departure and they did not offer any alternatives to us. When we checked out the next morning the Manager came and spoke to us to enquire about the situation we experienced regarding other guests. He advised us that if he had known he could have arranged for us to transfer to one of their other properties. We advised him that we had discussed our concerns on two occasions with the reception staff and this alternative should have offered to us the previous afternoon and we had now booked and paid for non-cancellable alternative accommodation.

This property is about 10 minutes drive out of the main Sanur area, there are no restaurants or shopping nearby. There is a free hotel shuttle bus going into town but you must book 24 hours before to go and is does not operate every day. We walked out the front to investigate the situation to maybe walk to the beach and towards town but the traffic was horrendous. The only walking area is on the rough edge of the busy road (no footpath) and the traffic exhaust omissions became overwhelming even after a few minutes we were out front of the resort.

We could not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Back from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OzziesDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
10.9 mi away
Karma Mayura
Karma Mayura
#80 of 199 in Ubud
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#13 of 79 in Sanur
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#41 of 79 in Sanur
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Sanur

Address: Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $51 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Karma Royal Sanur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sanur, Bali’s biggest traditional village and one of the most established tourist areas, this newly refurbished property offers access to everything you could hope for. From fine restaurants and modern entertainment, traditional village drama and dance to the Bali Safari Marine Park or the Bali Zoo Park all within a half hour drive there is something for everybody. It is also a great starting point for those of you looking to get out and about to see the island with tours to areas including Kintamani, Lake Batur, Puri Tirta Empul, Bedugul, Botanical Garden and Tanah lot. Relax by the pool in beautifully landscaped surrounds or take a wander along the paved beach side path running the full length of Sanur where you can check out a multitude of shops & restaurants. The Royal Bali Beach Club at Sanur is only 20 minutes drive from Denpasar Airport & Waterbom Park. Ubud, Bali’s cultural centre featured in the famous book and movie "Eat Pray Love" is only a short drive away. With a range of Studio, One-Bedroom Combination and Two-Bedroom apartments, a number of which have their own private balconies and or full kitchen facilities, this resort offers something for everybody giving you the opportunity to not only enjoy the delights of staying on a tropical island but also to gain a real appreciation of Balinese culture and local life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur Hotel Sanur
Karma Royal Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing