We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast, great coffee”
Review of The Glass House

The Glass House
Ranked #17 of 441 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Glass House is that quaint building on Jl.Tamblingan down the northern end of Sanur that you may have seen with the white plantation shutters at the front and misters cooling the passersby. It is renowned for its fabulous cappuccino , espresso and all types of coffee and home made cakes. Full breakfast for $15 includes an array of house baked pastries, muffins and breads. Cooked items include full offering of American and Australian breakfasts. Our speciality is a Benedict Bagel with a delicious sauce. A great place to have a fresh salad or baguette for lunch and the tastiest homemade hamburgers in Bali. Many popular seafood and other dishes including vegetarian and the popular local Indonesian favorites are served with love to the customer Funky tunes play, whilst you watch the world go by. Free wi-fi for doing business or just catching up on emails. Friendly staff, fresh organic ingredients, vegetables washed in bottled water for extra safety. Frosty juices, ice cold smoothies and milkshakes are a winner here. Fine quality Australian, Californian and Indonesian wine are available by the glass and the bottle at very competitive prices. You may also bring your own if you wish. The famous fresh Kelapa Muda , (young coconut) is available here for enormous health benefits.The Glass House is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the friendly atmosphere and delicious food. A place where you actually get what you ordered!! Oh and remember IDR50,000 cocktails every afternoon between 4 - 7pm Very trendy hang out.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good breakfast, great coffee”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is lovely modern looking cafe. If you are a lover of coffee than I would suggest you give it a try. The best in Bali in my opinion. Breakfast was also good, very laid back & relaxing atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank balitribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
thank you for your kind review and positive comments about our breakfasts. We do have them nailed I think and the coffee speaks for itself. Great to hear comments like yours though as it vindicates our bringing in the coffee from Australia to serve that "best coffee in Bali" to the Sanur crowd. thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    281
    74
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid North Coast
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stopped for coffee in the morning , the iced coffee was delicious. We chatted to the owner who said they had just started opening for dinner. We decided to book for dinner that night. When we got there, there was no-one to be seen so we sat at a table and checked out a board leaning against the fence with menu. Finally the waitress came out to serve the other couple inside the restaurant and saw us and brought the lunch menu over. The meals we chose were good but the poor waitress was the only one there. It really needed a front of house person to meet and greet,possibly the manager needs to be there of a night to promote and encourage the clientele to come back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScrapbytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solmate30, Manager at The Glass House, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks for the review. We have now changed our menu and got more staff. It is an evolving thing having a business like the Glass House. Challenging but exciting at the same time. I think you will like our new menu and we welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice drink, quiet place”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had been meaning to stop and try this place out. I ordered a nice iced coffee beverage and got the wifi password and relaxed in cool inside area. No one else seemed to be around and it was really quite lovely to be alone and not be hassled like other places can do. Give it a try for sure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melbfamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you very much for the feedback. The Glass House is great for just chilling out and catching up on some emails. We love it when people can come and just relax and enjoy the quiet ambience even though we are on the main street. So glad you enjoyed your time here and just know you are welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We spent five days in Sanur and went to The Glass House without having read any reviews on it. Mum and I had the green chicken curry and we both loved it. Great flavour and not too creamy as some can be. The kids lived the pancakes too. Wheatgrass shots were as good as a wheatgrass shot can be but the best part of it all was the excellent coffee we were served. Mum had a cuppacinno which had the right amount of froth and flavour. I had a Bali coffee, served black, no sugar, just the way I like it and at a perfect temperature. We returned several times for coffee, pancakes and wheatgrass shots but also because the staff were so kind to us and friendly without being over-the-top about it. The two people currently being trained here should certainly do well. Will certainly be returning on my next trip to Sanur.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your compliments. Our food is simple and fresh and I am pleased that you loved it all and most of all the great coffee which we hang our hat on. We will welcome you back to The Glass House when next you are in Sanur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great coffee”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

best coffee we had,breaky okay.waitress delivered broken runny egg giggling.l prefer to make them run.nice & clean.worth it for the coffee.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kianaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
aaaggh sometimes things like the runny egg are out of my control. glad you enjoyed your time here though. Aren't the eggs in Bali magnificent though, they really taste different to the Western variety!! Thanks for your feedback and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glass House also viewed

 

Been to The Glass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing