We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Villa in Sanur!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahagiri Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mahagiri Villas
Ranked #1 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa in Sanur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have stayed at many villas in Bali, and this ranks as my all time favourite! The property itself is fairly large, enough to feel the privacy if you need it. The villa is nicely laid out, and the size is just nice. The pool has nice touches like spouting water from a Balinese sculpture; airconditioning in the room is cool; amenities are excellent, including adequate water for drinking (some villas stinge on this); and there are more than sufficient power points to charge all your electronic devices.

The spa is great, and Dewi was an excellent therapist. The Restaurant features unique touches in terms of food variety and quality. Even the tea served in the villa are high-end TWG tea bags.

Location-wise, it's about a 15 minute walk to the beach, although the villa provides free shuttle service.

As for the service staff, they were all very friendly and efficient.

Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerenceSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
133
255
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here in Jan 2014 as part of our honeymoon.
Was a great experience, the staff here are perfect.
Everyone is always smiling and happy. Whats good to see is they all are happy even when they think none of the guests are around.
The room we had was perfect and private, very large comfy bed and well sized bathroom.
Outdoor shower is nice but may not be everyones cup of tea.
The plunge pool and daybed is a great way to cool off after a hot day, and with the large walls and privacy makes it great swimming as a honeymoon couple would.

Food always tasted great, we ate in the villa most days, this was good as it allowed us to order breakfast while getting ready in the morning and have it ready to eat when we had gotten ready for the day.
We ate at the restaurant for their Wednesday night performance, this was a great way to sample many different foods, they also specially made my wife and I special items as we request no pork and beef. This probably was a little bit steep with cost (compared to what we later saw on offer on the main sanur strip) but still was good none the less.

The spa here is amazing. I would say that it easy competes with the 5 star spa that you find here in New Zealand. Professional clean and the perfect atmosphere. Really (and i mean really) well priced, they had an offer on while we were there that is about 10% of what we would pay in NZ.

Only real negatives are the mosquitos (but they supply repellant, and you see them constantly spraying), and it is a little bit far from the beach and restaurants (they make up for this with bikes and shuttles)

Overall I would highly recommend Mahagiri, and would go back. If you are considering for a honeymoon, then look no further. Privacy is what you want and that what you get!

Room Tip: We where closer to the road which didn't really bother us as we live on a main road back here in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rk_lal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely stay in very beautiful villas in a good location. The Mahagiri deserves the credit of being a luxury place. It is not only beautiful but provides an amazingly relaxing environment and services.

Staff is very attentive and professional. The villas are a piece of beauty and you can easily spend your entire day inside; but don't do it because Sanur is a ncie place to go around also :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved this accommodation and the location. Although not on the beach it wasn't a long walk and the drivers were always available to drop us of. We stayed with four other groups and the booking of different arrivals by each group was done efficiently so thank you Ria you were a pleasure to deal with.

The villas are spacious clean and lovely to spend time in particularly jumping in the pool after activities. The restocked mini bar was used a lot and afternoon tea was delicious. The food at the villas was also very yummy and the breakfast that was included in the rates very generous with lots of options to try.

As stated in previous reviews the staff are wonderful and would go out there way to help you. We used the drivers a lot to drop us of to the beach and other areas in Sanur and they were happy to pick us up as well.

The spa was lovely and we used it a couple of times the 60 min Balinese massage was divine and was great to get before our flight out.

This is the first time staying in Sanur instead of Seminyak and found the area to be a lot quieter and more relaxing. It was a good location as well for activities and getting into kuta was about a 15 to 20 min ride. Some nice places to eat are Little Warung Bird on the same road as Hardy's about a ten minute walk from the villa's. The Three Monkeys and the Fire station. We also ate a lot at the villa restaurant or room service and we were not disappointed.

Our only criticisms which doesn't detract from the rating is to consider piping the doorbell into the rooms as it was easily missed when inside the rooms we had to leave the door open when expecting someone to hear the bell. This was also the case for the phone inside you could not hear this when outside. The 30 minute welcome massage was not 30 minutes at all it was around 15 minutes so a bit disappointing.

We will be back to this place when we revisit bali again thanks again to all staff for making our stay wonderful

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lentil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

While this accommodation seems a bit expensive for Bali, you do get a lot for your money. The villas are incredibly well appointed, super clean, with housekeeping visiting everyday to make and/or turn down your bed, change towels etc. Breakfast was included, with lovely fresh juice, fruit and a choice of Indonesian and Western options. Our package also included a '30 minute' welcome massage, which was a bit short, and a one hour massage, which was fantastic. The food served at the restaurant for lunch and dinner was good - particularly the Indonesian meals.

The staff at the villas were very attentive and often drove us if we were going somewhere nearby. We did have a few minor issues with drivers, so I suggest you provide an address of where you want to go if possible.

The location of the villas was about a 10 minute walk from the beach and other restaurants. I found that the villas were so nice we were happy to lounge around by the pool if we wanted to relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We returned to the Mahagiri during this CNY (31 Jan - 3 Feb 2014), and we wanna go back again already! We experienced the same smiling and cheerful welcome at the reception, and because they remembered us, it made us feel so at home. We came with high expectations as the Mahagiri had set the bar so high when we last came in Aug 2013. The Mahagiri doesn't disappoint : it is still beautiful, and the warmth and smiles of all the staff made it so hard for us to leave. Although we were told 15 of the 18 villas were occupied, the Mahagiri wasn't crowded at all. In fact, it was still so quiet, we thought we were the only ones as the attention we received was amazing. We enjoyed the lovely breakfasts and afternoon teas in our villa. The reception also made quick transport arrangements for us to go to Ubud, and we met the same driver as the last time. Thank you everyone for putting up the CNY decorations and even playing CNY songs for us when we were having our dinner! Thanks too for arranging our laundry to be returned on the same day. We also pampered ourselves with two visits to the Spa - the hot stone massage was still great, and the Spa staff were always attentive. We were given another 1-room villa this time, which we felt was a little worn out, compared to the first one we stayed at. This time, maybe because of the rain, there were more mosquitoes and we had a few bites. Nonetheless, we are already planning on coming back, so we do hope that the excellent standard can be maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weifong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

It was our first visit to Bali and stayed at Mahagiri for a week with another couple in a two bedroom villa.
The experience was fantastic! Mainly because of the smiley staff who just couldn't do enough for us the entire week. They were friendly and prompt regardless of the circumstance.
My new bather bottoms came apart at the seams the day before we were due to go out to the Water Park. After bringing them to the fabulous receptionist at the front desk on our way out to try and find a sewing kit, I was assured to leave them with her and no sooner we returned from an afternoon out they were professionally re-sewn and handed back to me with a smile and at no charge.
She was an amazing receptionist (I wish I had her name as both she and a couple of the waiters really did make the trip amazing for us), even putting together an itinerary for us based on a few key restaurants and attractions which we mentioned we wanted to visit, booking them for us and arranging transfers.

The grounds were beautiful, pool immaculate and the outdoor shower was brilliant. Only negative, which was very small was a dirty coffee cup at the breakfast table - quickly replaced after a prompt apology by the waitress - and by no means would this ever deter us from re-visiting. Can't wait to get back there!

Location was tucked away a bit from the main street and a little away from the beach, but the shuttle was always available to bring us out if we didn't want to make the 5 to 10min walk. They even arranged a pick up time when dropping us off and were there on the dot to bring us back.

Big thanks to the staff - especially the receptionist (so annoyed I can't remember her name!), as well as waiters Alex and Suma!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahagiri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahagiri Villas

Property: Mahagiri Villas
Address: Jl. Pungutan 31, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mahagiri Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahagiri Villas Sanur is a charming complex of 18 luxury villas designed to capture the essence of a traditional Balinese community in the spiritually charged village of Sanur. This exclusive collection of Bali villas in Sanur is a well-balanced fusion of island artistry and modern elegance. The entire property is a boutique enclave encompassed within a landscape of tropical greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mahagiri Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahagiri Villas Hotel Sanur
Mahagiri Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing