We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahagiri Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mahagiri Villas
Ranked #1 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

"Welcome home" was our greeting as we arrived at the beautiful Mahagiri Villas... all the staff from the gardeners to the head chef proceeded to make us feel very welcome and very at home. Most of the time we felt like the only people there even though most villas were occupied.
We stayed in a three bedroom villa with a large private pool and beautiful garden. The rooms were spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated with amazing bathrooms and outdoor showers.
The breakfasts were lovely, one day in the villa and the other days in the very friendly restaurant. Dinner, prepared by Chef Mudana and staff was delicious and highly recommended, I had the Indonesian set menu ... a "must try".
A driver was always available to drop us around Sanur and pick up if necessary.
Even after checkout we were welcomed back to collect our bags, shower and change for our late flight and provided with two vehicles to take us (4 adults) to the airport at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be a little noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
133
255
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was an enjoyable 4 days at Mahagiri, everyone was so hospitable making our stay an extremely pleasant one. The rooms are clean, toilets were spick and span. When we ordered room service, they've arrived to our villa in less than 5 mins. We will definitely bring our families over and am very sure that they will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EjazMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city of busters
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went here on my honeymoon for 2 weeks and it was the best experience i've ever had in a hotel/villa. The staff was very helpful and a few of them called me by my name everytime I saw them, it was comforting. They provide airport pick up and drop off which is very nice. The villas are huge and have their own pool to boot. They offer a 3 course breakfast of your choice of 4 different menus with so many choices and the food was excellent. I've never been to a place that includes room service every morning for free. The spa was very nice and clean. The gym needs work but who realy goes to Bali to work out?. They have drivers as well to get arround the city, free of charge of course. This place is very clean and away from the noise. Everytime we got dropped off from a tour everyone in our vehicle was jelous!...dont think, book it! you wont regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was a little unsure arriving to the villa's down the back alley road but as soon as we came around the corner we were greeted by the lovely entrance and cortyard of Mahagiri Villas.
From the very moment we arrived we were made to feel like we were the most important people in the whole resort. walking down from the entrance to our villa was some of the most perfect gardens i have ever seen, nothing was out of place and the double row of massive palm trees were magnificent.
We had a 1 bedroom villa, Never have i stayed at at a place like this before where your privacy is their utmost importance and yet with the big walls surrounding the villas you still had an open feel amongst the villa, I swam in our private pool every day and it was always kept clean.
The outdoor shower was really nice the room itself was of one of the highest quality rooms i've stayed in, every part of the room, every fixture was of high quality, the room had a big TV and free wireless internet that was a good speed.

The service i received from all the staff is what makes this place special, they offer a service to have you meals in your villa and it was just as nice as eating in their restaurant, I enjoyed eating most of our meals in there restaurant all the meals were really nice and i enjoyed talking and getting to know the staff in the restaurant. there were several nights when we were the only people eating dinner in the restaurant we were quite surprised when we asked the staff how many people were currently staying at the villa's and they were at 80% capacity and yet we had the place to ourselves and the place was so quiet it made you feel like you were the only people there.
When it came to wanting to do activities nothing was too difficult for the Mahagiri staff they went above and beyond to organize activities for us and usually managed to get us a discount when doing it.
We even decided last minute that we wanted to spend the day shopping and wanted to hire a personal driver rather than have the hassle of using taxi's, One quick call to reception and told them we wanted to hire a driver and did they have anybody they recommended and it was no problem they had a driver there in 15 minutes, We was very polite and the car was late model and very clean.

to sum it up i was skeptical paying as much as we did to stay in Bali, but after staying there i can honestly say that the level of service and quality of the resort as a whole was exceedingly high
We came here for a couples getaway and i was so impressed with these villas that i will be back again but next time i will book a bigger villa and bring the children so they can experience Bali.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm not going to lie. I came to this property with very high expectations. After meeting the General Manager at a travel conference while he was still working at another villa, I had chased him here to the stunning Mahagiri Villas. The sheer luxury of this place blew my expectations to pieces.
Set in the local village district of Sanur, the Mahagiri is a hidden gem, down a narrow road of small stores and houses obviously for the locals rather than the tourists. After moving down this road the apprehension rose, until you are met by an intimidatingly bold sign announcing the Mahagiri.

From the moment you are at the front desk, you realise this one is a step above the rest. Being escorted down the vast pathway towards the villas the space opens out to a glass encased outdoor style restaurant with what looks like a teppenyake chef set up in front of the tables. While you're staring at that you are led to a 15 foot wall with a door in the middle, and into your villa.

To say the Mahagiri villas are impressive is a huge understatement - we stayed in both the one and two room villas, both exquisite. The single room villa has a private pool, with a decking and outdoor kitchen and dining area, next to which is a outdoor shower in a garden setting. Within the room are you have a huge king sized bed, vanity room, room for storage, and split bathroom.

The two bedroom villa was unbelievable. Same as the single regarding the pool, but a huge living area with full dining table, full kitchen, 5 seater lounge and flat screen in one living area, with the bedrooms being similar to the first but with the bathroom leading a hall which goes to a long pathed garden with an outdoor shower at the end.

The service is impeccable. Room service delivered to your door by two enthusiastic staff, brought into your room where they set up the cutlery and glassware, leaving you with an immense feeling of guilt that you hadn't done it sooner.

Front desk are there in half a ring, 24/7. Their driver is a treat and will take you anywhere, and upsell you everything on the way with the subtle touch of a true veteran bali driver.

Food is brilliant. silver service restaurant style with flashie meals, seafood is a focu but lots of western options.

The travelling businessman could do no better than this place. romantic getaway for couples, big villas with modern elegance and deluxe pools for the famalies.

Will without a doubt return, for those happy to spend more for the best, they will leave Mahagiri thoroughly satisfied.

Room Tip: Go for the two bedroom - or ask in advance if your 1 bedroom has hot water outside - a very minor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful setting and room - but it is the people that make the experience so very, very special. A perfect place, full of warm and caring people. The room was beautifully appointed - with a special deal we got a 3 bed villa with the most amazing pool. A fantastic place for anyone wanting a complete relaxation break with the excellent service that comes with the most beautiful people. A joy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for only 2 nights and I wish we had another night. It was LOVELY. The pool was large, clean and inviting. The living and dining area was big and classy. Our beds were comfortable and the kids cots (we had 2) were nice and clean. The bathroom was huge and I like the outdoor shower.

However, my parents in law were a bit annoyed with the chickens 6am wake up calls and the dogs barking (their room was against the edge I think). The dog wasn't impressed with my late night shower either cos he kept barking till I was done ahahaha. Also, the mosquitoes... oh goodness... do not even think of walking around without your a spritz of OFF (provided).

Food wise, I wasn't impressed. We had lunch there and was in a word - MEH. Nothing to scream about and rather expensive. The breakfast was okay, I've had better in Bali. I also asked for suggestions on dinner and they pointed me to a large lobster along the beach DO NOT GO THERE. The food was rubbish and expensive, I wish I didn't waste my money there, go to Toosties instead.

The Spa, they have promotions and it still wasn't cheap but as least you get to go back straight to your really nice villa and relax.

With kids - the staff were very nice and very patient with them and I was really grateful.

The shuttle service is free to take you around Sanur and to their bit of private beach (please check the tide times). Transport from the villas to the airport was 150,000 - someone from reception can hook you up or 100,000 if you can get your own driver from the main street.

We loved our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ze_succubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahagiri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahagiri Villas

Property: Mahagiri Villas
Address: Jl. Pungutan 31, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mahagiri Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahagiri Villas Sanur is a charming complex of 18 luxury villas designed to capture the essence of a traditional Balinese community in the spiritually charged village of Sanur. This exclusive collection of Bali villas in Sanur is a well-balanced fusion of island artistry and modern elegance. The entire property is a boutique enclave encompassed within a landscape of tropical greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mahagiri Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahagiri Villas Hotel Sanur
Mahagiri Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing