We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You cannot go wrong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mona Lisa Cafe

Mona Lisa Cafe
Ranked #14 of 420 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You cannot go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We discovered Mona Lisa's last year during our visit to Sanur. The food was wonderful and we ended up eating there 3 times during our stay as we could find nothing else to compare to just how good the meals were in taste, size and value.
It was with great anticipation that we returned this year on our holiday, to find it still as good as ever, we do keep trying other restaurants but find ourselves time and again comparing them to Mona Lisa's, and this will keep us coming back.
It really would be hard to beat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMackPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    427
    112
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Angela and Colin Brown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Bumas hotel in Sanur and visited The Mona Lisa restaurant frequently. It was close to the hotel and was clean and cheerfully run by lovely efficient staff. the food was great and reasonably priced. We particularly liked their "Black Rice Pudding". The food was nicely presented and the place had a romantic atmophere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overall ,fantastic .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

6 of us arrived well before our booking time and were seated immediately . The staff were very friendly and their service was exceptional . The food was very well priced as our total bill came in under 1,000,000 rupiah including drinks .
I can't reccommend this restaurant enough .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We dined at Mona Lisa last night based on the positive reviews. Luckily we did not experience a problem with others smoking in the restaurant. I would have left. I had the seafood curry, and my husband had gado gado. Both were average but were well priced. We were tired of Bintang and ordered a glass of white wine from the anemic wine list. I know Bali isn't known for wine, so we learned our lesson the hard way. It was terrible. The atmosphere was nice (no AC). They are a cash only establishment as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScorpioJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate as a family of five, for lunch. I shared a chicken Caesar salad and seafood salad with my friend. Both were fresh and tasty, and presented on beautiful plates. The staff were very professional and the other meals were tasty, well priced and delivered in a timely manner. The lumpia was so beautiful, we took a photo.

We went to eat there on our last night, without a reservation, and could not get a table as the restaurant was fully booked.

I can't wait to go back to Sanur, to taste some of the best food I have eaten in Bali - fresh and flavoursome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jogaryluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mona Lisa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing