We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beachfront Restaurant”
Review of Isola Restaurant

Isola Restaurant
Ranked #384 of 467 Restaurants in Sanur
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We ate at Isola a couple o times on our trip and were very happy. A mix of Italian and international food with some local dishes also available. Service was a little on the slow side, but the food was decent and the setting was superb,it's beautifully lit at night. We also liked having drinks at the bamboo beach bar, which is a great place to relax before or after a meal. Lunch is nice here, but the best is on a full moon night with live jazz playing in the background.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spotted Isola Restaurant on a day trip to Sanur Beach and reserved a table on the beach for the evening. The sea views were gorgeous and the food was also excellent, with the seafood and the beef rendang in particular highly recommended. The service was a little erratic but the staff were very friendly. If you're looking for casual dining with quality food amidst the many restaurants on Sanur Beach then Isola is a good choice.

1  Thank EmJNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We chose to eat at isola (on 16th november 2011) because of its tranquil setting, calming spaces and simple, delicious sounding menu. The service was good, although one round of cocktails was suspectedly forgotten as they took a while. Our mojito cocktails were delicious, but we had to change to something different after our first as they had run out of fresh mint. The jazz music was lovely and the look of the restaurant is great.

We were really excited about our meals and they sounded good on paper. Unfortunately in reality, they did little to impress. For starter i had baked riccota with cramelised tomatoes. My baked riccota was bland and the tomatoes were cooked, not caramelised. The dish as a whole lacked flavour. The caramelised garlic bread entre was delicious but could have done with some salt. The pizza had a perfect, crispy base and tasty toppings, but the portion of toppings was disappointing.
The pear poached in red wine was fantastic- lovely taste and still crunchy, which I liked.
Presentation of the meals was good.

It was a pity that isola failed to deliver what promised to be a delicious Italian meal. A consultant chef was preparing meals the night that we were there, which makes me think improvements to the dishes are in progress.
With more attention to the taste of the meals, I think this restaurant could improve ratings. The food is, after all, the main reason for dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MoniquevdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

An italian menù but absolutely fake...is impossibile to' have pasta without italian Style like the menu description cooking....served too cold and too oily.The bar is The only valid part of this restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank saverioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Having travelled to Bali over 20 times, we decided to revisit Sanur which we last stayed at 10 years ago. As was the case 10 years ago, we were with the same crew from Australia. The night we went, there was an excellent jazz combo playing, great music but not so loud as to overpower the dinner conversation. On arrival the service was fast, friendly and witty. The food was excellent and compared to the best we have eaten in Bali this 3 week stay. Can highly recommend the fish soup as an entree and the scallopini. Only one downside was one of the party ordered the fish with lemon butter with fries potatoes and got an Asian style fish with ginger which was a little dry. Never the less all in all excellent. Due to the outrageous prices of wine in Bali, 400% tax we believe, we had the carafe of the local Hatten red at 200,000rp a 750ml carafe. This wine is not going to win any medals but competes well with local Tuscan wines. When restaurants in Bali charge between $30 to $85US for a bottle of Jacobs Creek which averages $5 to $8 in Australia, you get the idea. The restaurant is well laid out in a pavilion style beside the pool with ocean views and provides plent of space between the tables. We found it to be the nicest restaurant we visited in Sanur and whilst not at the standard of the bridges in Ubud or Ultimos in Seminyak, it beats the hour drive in the dreadfull traffic to get to them. All in all very pleasant and will bring us back for our last evening in Sanur.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Keggfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing