We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of The Porch Cafe

The Porch Cafe
Ranked #23 of 442 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have only been in Sanur for 3 days and already eaten at the Porch 3 times. That's how impressed we were. Staff is friendly and everything seems very clean. Food was fresh, ingredients looked wonderful, bread is delicious, and my chicken caesar salad was crisp with just the right amount of dressing, a delicious sprinkling of bacon and parmesan and some additional garlic bread. Fresh fruit and vegetable/wheatgrass juices are generous portion. Love this place. The menu has everything from yummie breakfast with eggs and sausages, to home made soups, salads, sandwiches, chicken pie, and more elaborate dishes such as nasi goreng (was excellent) and pasta dishes. Particularly for breakfast and a casual lunch this is the place to go if you are after a western menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    324
    80
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Got a sweet tooth? Try the caramel slice....to die for!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been to Bali a few times but this was our first stay in Sanur. Our mission was to try different cafes and eateries and see which we liked. We fancied some coffee so the Porch was our choice. We looked at the menu and thought lets have the caramel cake. I really wish l had taken a picture of it as it came in 2 triangles fair size and we could have shared. But l am a huge caramel slice fan and this was an OMG experience. Really yummy and the coffee was good as well. Next time l will try the meals. But hey don't pass by... just try it, the staff are friendly and l don't believe you will be disappointed:-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Sanur, without a doubt!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went to the Porch for beakfast last week. Ordered the eggs Benedict. Presentation was spottless, combination of flavours was remarkable, and finnally, the Holindays sauce was one of the best I have ever tasted, bar one.

I would highly recomend anyone that is going to Sanur to visit this restaurant. I have lived in Bali for seven years now and have frequented all of the restaurants in Sanur that exist, including the Warungs, both little and small. And I can with out a doubt in my mind say that the Porch cafe is the best for breakfast.

On a side not, the cafe is run by two Australians that keep their kitchen clean and their staff on the ball. Furthurmore, if there is any problems or breakdown of communication between the costomer and the staff, Jan and Pete (the owners) are almost always there to assist with a smile on their faces. Wonderful to see that level of customer service here in the small area of Sanur!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaeEdward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A little disappointing this time around”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here July last year and were very happy with the whole experience. I did a review at the time. This year though, not quite the same.

Although I don't have a menu or the receipts to compare 2012 and 2013, I do know that the cost was quite a bit more than for similar style food available in the area. Again we only had breakfast here so the comments only relate to that.

Apart from some of the juices, I don't think there is anything about the place that makes it stand out among other breakfast places. Our meals came out at very different times as well; the last one to come was the pancakes which was a bit odd as I thought they would be the most simple to prepare. Unfortunately these were for the person in our group that needs to have regular sustenance so caused a bit of anxiousness.

They do add a 10% tax and 5% service which does make the bill a bit of surprise when paying if you don't notice that on the menu ( I didn't).

We only went the one time and probably won't bother next time we are in Sanur.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustAnotherDayIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meals, proper bread”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Flashbacks Bungalows behind/attached to The Porch Cafe for 4 nights. We had breakfast at The Porch every morning & were very happy with the quality & service. Like other Aussie friends who've shared their exp of Bali, we too find it hard to get nice toast (i.e. good texture & NOT sweet! Most local bread is white, sweet & quite awful to us...we don't eat much bread but it's nice to have decent stuff when you do). The coffee was the best we had in Bali (we drank espresso or ristrettos but the milk coffees looked good too). We had a very nice lunch there too. Service was friendly & good. Would recommend The Porch for sure :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deri-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Porch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing