We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhouse Guest House
Ranked #16 of 137 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Sunhouse and really enjoyed it. The owners were extremely hospitable and lovely. The room had everything we needed: comfy bed, fridge, safe, aircon, fan, hot water, adapters and a great pool. Only a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Would certainly come back here next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at Sunhouse Guest House for 4 nights. The price is unbeatable, and the owner and staff were totally accommodating and helpful. The location is very convenient for the south end of Sanur Beach - just a short walk through the Mercure Hotel (as mentioned by previous reviewers). Sanur is very quiet, not a party town at all, but walking to the beach every AM for sunrise is spectacular! Restaurants and shopping are a short walk away, and though many of the highly rated places are the north end of Sanur it is an inexpensive taxi ride or you can take one of the available bicycles and ride the beach path.

Our first night in Lotus room was very comfortable, but we moved to Plumeria for the remaining stay - it is larger. They started remodeling Lotus when we moved out, so there may be improvements. Both rooms had good A/C, large king sized bed, and clean bathrooms. The water pressure and temp in the shower in Plumeria were a bit variable, but not too bothersome. WiFi was very reliable. The in-room fridges keep everything COLD.

The pool was the perfect temperature for cooling off, though the courtyard around it is mostly shady so not set up for tanning. All in all you really can't ask for a better place for the price!

Room Tip: Lotus is a little small but had a better shower. It has large windows all around it with curtains fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidih88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this place and enjoyed it. The owner and the staff were very nice and helpful.
Rooms are nice, clean and equiped with everything you need. The pool is nice and beach, restaurants and shops are in walking distance. There is a small road nearby but it was very quiet at night.
We can totally recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Micha_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 6 nights in Feb 2014 and we were pleasantly surprised.

Nice spot with very friendly staff. They really could not do enough to help. One day my wife got a
Touch of bali belly and so the staff knocked on her door with some ointment to help.

Communal kitchen works well and security on site at night as well as in room safes.

Well located at the southern end of Sanur, there are several good restaurants and massage joints nearby. Highly recommend Flames Cafe opposite the Mercure.

Also, you can jump on Mercure
Shuttle bus into town and a quick walk thru Mercure is a short cut to beach.

A taxi into Sanur is only about Au$2 to $AU5

Would certain stay at sunhouse again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Made a return trip to the Sunhouse and once again I wasn't disappointed. For a small family run place, this one ticks all the boxes for me. The beds are very comfortable and the attention to detail in the rooms really impresses. Adapters, mosquito repellant, good wifi, fridges and pool towels for a sensational price. Although they don't serve breakfast, there are restaurants a short stroll from the Sunhouse or you can prepare your own in the kitchen. We will certainly return here whenever we are in Sanur! Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Baligirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Years. This is a very small, basic, Indonesian owned guesthouse that is perfect if that’s what you need. There is courtyard, small pool, nice cabana, and a couple bicycles you can rent for $3 usd per day.

The rooms aren’t anything special but the bed is comfortable, the shower is nice, there’s a safe in the closet, and there is a small refrigerator to stash some drinks. They don’t sell any drinks or food so you can stock up at the Circle K if needed.

Pros: Great place for the price, very friendly staff and owners, comfortable and safe place to stay.

Cons: The walk is a bit far from the beach and the busy restaurants/bars. We don’t mind walking so it was okay for us but it’s about 1 kilometer to get to the start of the long stretch of beach with shops, restaurants, etc…

Extra Credit: The owner and his wife are very nice and helpful. We asked the owner to call a taxi to take us 5 km’s to the Sanur Harbor where we were taking a boat to another island. Instead of calling a taxi the owner drove us himself and didn’t charge us anything. So nice!

Overall it’s a good place and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_and_Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at Sunhouse twice during June and July 2013. This was based on a recommendation from a friend.

The room I stayed in was modern, nice and clean. I loved the pool.

The management were great. They really looked after me and I appreciate what they did for me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#57 of 79 in Sanur
130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sanur House
Sanur House
#27 of 79 in Sanur
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sanur Guest House
Sanur Guest House
#8 of 137 in Sanur
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rai House Sanur
Rai House Sanur
#36 of 79 in Sanur
74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tropical Bali Hotel
Tropical Bali Hotel
#1 of 137 in Sanur
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: $21 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing