We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardenia Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
perth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in room one, which had disability access ~ a rare find in Bali !!! Level access shower and appropriately installed rails, lots of space to maneuver a wheelchair if needs be. There was even a small ramp to the veranda and thru the cafe to the street!

Our 4 yo loved the pool which is ample size for the area. It needed a bit more attention re: chlorine on occasion, and was quickly rectified. None of us got sick from the pool water.

Our room was always immaculately cleaned and early on in the morning too , often whilst we ate brekkie, which suited us. I think you could have had brekkie on your veranda if you had have asked, as we often ate other food and drinks from the yummy cafe. And nothing was ever too much trouble for the friendly staff. All the food and drink is comparable in price to the rest of Sanur and definitely not over priced.....and oh so YUMMY !!! especially the lemon meringue pie :D
Our sheets were always clean, a mozzie net and room repellent were provided and also a room plug in repellent. the grounds are sprayed once a week.....
The towels need to be replaced, though I think maybe this was in the works as I did see other rooms getting very white towels towards the end of our stay.
We arranged a late checkout and this was no problem, we just paid an extra day as we had a midnight flight...
Free bikes are available to take out and these are well maintained by the staff.
I wondered when the staff slept!! They were relentless in their sweeping, cleaning, filling orders, etc etc...... and super friendly without exception. They area a credit to the owners as it is one of things that would make me want to return.

This place is quirky, retro, (in a good way!), well maintained, friendly, relaxing , (did I mention the great lemon meringue pie?? ), and definitely NOT worthy of the "terrible" label from one reviewer.....it is a gem ,a hidden paradise and has the feel of something from the Greek Islands. The location is perfect ~ a stroll along a gang to the beach and a stroll to the street, surrounded by massage salons and warungs! and a whole plethora of places to eat !
Would definitely recommend this place for others to stay at... and would be perfect for a group to rent out the whole place

We loved it!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms thou I think number 7 stands alone and is a suite room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spannagottatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
27
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PERTH WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 8 nights here is September, 2 adults and 2 kids (3y.o and 4y.o) and absolutely loved the location. Within a 100m of Gardenia is the 'road' to the beach and 300m the other way is a busy and vibrant street that offers bars and restaurants galore as well as easy access to transport.

The guesthouse it self, located begind the Gardenia Cafe felt like a little beach house nestled amongst tropical surrounds. The pool is small but has a shallow platform and a deep end, perfect for children and adults. All rooms have a good view of the pool except room 6 which is tucked away around the corner. Room 6 is probably the most secluded room so best for privacy but also the closest to the eary rising roosters. We stayed in rooms 5 and 6 which have an interconnecting doorway so we sat on the verandah of room 5 when the kids were in the pool.

The rooms were spacious with queen beds, mozzie nets, mini bar, safe and separate bathroom and toilet in each. Unlike other places that I have stayed in Bali, there were no midgies coming out of the drains and no odours from the toilet or bathroom either. The rooms were well aired with no mustiness and staff were efficient with house keeping each morning. All requests made of the staff in the cafe/reception were met cheerfully and with haste.

The food in the cafe was awesome. Yummy mee goreng, black rice pudding and homemade lemon meringue. The background music in the cafe kept us singing along - Elvis, The Beatles, Carpenters, Johnny Cash, sometimes making us linger longer...... ;o)
Coffee, milk shakes and cocktails all made well.

We laughed with the owner of the Guesthouse that a tablespoon and a half of vegemite was a bit rich as a side serving with our morning toast! The breakfast included in the Guesthouse was limited (eggs or muesli with fruit and yoghurt or pancakes with coffee or juice) but the option to purchase other items cheaply (bacon, sausage etc) would certainly cater for the fussy!

The linen in the room was clean and changed frequently, our only complaint was that the towels were a little tired.

Overall, Gardenia Guesthouse (and Cafe) is a busy and vibrant little gem, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the Sanur nightlife but still within easy waling distance. We give it an excellent rating for its value for money, food, location and hospitality!

Room Tip: Room 1 caters for the disabled so the shower is open and the toilet is within the bathroom. Room 6 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PINKFLICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at Gardenia Guest House in August...........
You couldn't ask for any more from the Staff who were fantastic !!!!!!
Nothing was too much trouble from them.
You wanted to ride instead off walking 5 mins to the beach here take one of the Guest House Bicycles.
If you wanted a late breakfast .No problems ........
You had a query and the Friendly Staff had a Solution...........

Room Tip: All the rooms are so close to the Pool you can't go Wrong !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spinnersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

we stayed at a nearby hotel which did breakfast and we found the gardenia guest house and coffee shop very close by and ate there for three quarters of our evening meals. great food, service and a lovely shop with bags, clothes, decorations, etc. lovely gardens too. would go back for food any time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

What a stunning place to stay. Quiet, but only minutes away from the main strip with great food, massages either side (or they will call one into the hotel if you want) what more could you want.

The breakfast was served fresh every day, and you had your pick of something different each day. We found that by staying there over 7 days many that were staying at other hotels came just for the food.

Great place to stay and every time I go back to Bali I will go there - going back in March 2013 infact! My new home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tubsy_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We have stayed there and when we dont stay there we eat there lovely prepared food and desserts and great place for coffee and hot chocolate as well .Plus great homemade cakes and desserts as well all hours .plus the staff and owners are great too

Room Tip: room 7 its the best as well as any room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandimports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Holidaying in Bali from the 16th of April to the 2nd of May we stayed in 3 different places. By far my favourite for a variety of reasons was the Gardenia Guest House.
To start with check in was easy and painless with staff appearing to be more concerned with our comfort rather then bombarding us immediately with a pile of paperwork to be filled in and demands for copies of passports etc as was the experience in the first two places (of course paperwork was required but it didn't feel the same "move them in" impersonal process that the others had.)
I travelled with my teenage son and a number of my friends. In total there were six of us staying and we used three of the rooms. My son and I stayed in room 5 and contrary to a previous reviewers comments found the location of the room perfect. A little set back from the shared 'courtyard' feel of all the other rooms it allowed us privacy but in no way made us feel isolated from the others.
All rooms were reasonable in size, tastefully decorated and well kept with some beautiful paintings on display.
The gardens, courtyard and swimming pool are delightfully laid out and provide a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere for those wanting to wind down, which we often needed after a day of sight seeing or shopping. Although on first appearance the pool seems quite small it's perfect for cooling down in and ample for the 7 rooms at most it needs to cater for. To be honest I wasn't planning on swimming laps any way.
The restaurant on the front of the Guest House was fantastic and had a mixture of options that would suit those wanting to try some traditional Balinese fare or if you had a hankering for a 'home cooked' meal (the Friday night chicken roast was brilliant as was the chicken parmigiana and tuna patties). My personal favourite was the sea food basket, but between my son and I we tried a number of different menu items and found all generous in size and delicious to eat.
The highlight for me was the warmth and consideration displayed by the staff and owners of the Guest House, it appeared nothing was too hard and most (if not all) requests were responded to promptly.
Staying at this location added to our overall enjoyment of our holidays and what was most pleasing was it was the cheapest of the three places we stayed in.

Room Tip: I had the opportunity to see all rooms and would have personally been happy with any. Rooms 4/5 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Casis
Villa Casis
#21 of 137 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu
#48 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunhouse Guest House
Sunhouse Guest House
#13 of 134 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Tree House
Little Tree House
#39 of 137 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kesumasari Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Guesthouse

Property: Gardenia Guesthouse
Address: Jl. Merta Sari no. 2, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gardenia Guesthouse Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing