We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a cheap room. 15 minute drive to Sanur.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Puri Maharani for 6 nights in June. I needed a cheap base to do a few little day trips and be close to Sanur beach. I booked it through expedia very affordably.
Firstly, the location is not Sanur as per the website. Its a15 minute cab ride to Sanur. i believe the suburb is called Topati. I chose Puri Maharani as I had read reviews about the free shuttle bus service to Sanur Beach Hotel, which is a big hotel with an enormous pool. I am a swimmer and enjoy swimming laps in a decent sized pool and of course proximity to beach was perfect to while the day away, but I could not afford the location of Sanur Beach Hotel.
On the second day of my holiday I was told their contract ended and guests could no longer go to Sanur Beach Hotel. I explained it was the main reason I had booked and reception staff were apologetic and said they were working hard on sourcing a new hotel contract. I cannot tell you what the name of the new hotel is, as I utilized the free shuttle service the next day to drop me in Sanur and I organized to take a boat on a day trip to Nusa Lembongan Island instead (a good trip, but be prepared to hire a scooter if you want to see anything. I am an experienced biker so this was no problem).
But, a little off track. Back to Puri Maharani.
The grounds are beautiful, and the staff work tirelessly to maintain it -the sweeping would wake me up every day at 7am and I would see gardeners tending to the beautiful fauna every day.
The staff are wonderful, very customer oriented and honest too - I had filled out the laundry form and dropped off my laundry to reception in the morning and when I came back from my day out in the evening I had my laundry waiting for me and staff let me know I had miscalculated and put too many shorts on the form. and they didn't want to overcharge me. I so wouldn't have even noticed!
My garden view room was very clean and excellent value for money. Huge comfy king size bed.
I travelled alone so it was great for me, although for a couple you would lack privacy when one person uses the toilet, your partner would have the displeasure of hearing every tinkle, if you get my drift, as there is no door separating the bedroom from the bathroom - Just a wall. The room was HUGE! Floors spotless. There was a funny smell that came from the shower water, but it didn't bother me too much. It's Bali and its the tropics.
There's a main road outside the resort but as you go down a long driveway it's a actually very tranquil and quiet which surprised me, and I slept great.
Breakfast was basic but tasty. Served quickly by staff who genuinely seem to care. I got a little bored with it after the first few days as the small a la carte menu doesn't change. But I stayed for 6 days, for a shorter stay it would be
adequate enough. Don't expect big filling American breakfasts.
The pool is clean and cool.
There is free wifi at the pool and restaurant area but it is intermittent. If you had a pool side room there's probably wifi range in there but it didn't reach my garden room up a flight of stairs.
Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aussiejrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 316 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Sanur after a very long day only to discover that the private villa we had rented wasn't exactly as advertised. Thankfully we managed to get out of the booking with no penalties but now we had no place to stay. Someone suggested heading to the Mercur hotel but we didn't like that either. However, I was able to get on internet in their free wi-fi cafe and found Puri Maharini. I booked it immediately!

What a delight. Yes, the room can have a musty odor at times but this is the tropics and that is a problem with many places. However, leave your door open once or twice a day and you'll get it aired out.

What I loved about the place was the peace and quiet, the friendly, helpful staff, our room was right at the poolside, the bed was super comfortable, the bedding perfect for a good night's sleep. They have lovely chaise lounges, a great happy hour, breakfast was more than adequate, the shuttle to the Beach Club is fabulous and the Beach Club that you get with your room is amazing. We had full access to the beautiful pool and area at the Beach Hotel in Sanur for what we were paying at Puri Maharini! What a deal!!!

Just make sure that your taxi driver knows where Tohpati is, as our taxi guy got lost and charged us $10 US because of his mistake. A taxi should be about $4 from Sanur downtown to the hotel.

Honestly, we were beyond happy all week with our choice and so glad that our first accommodation didn't work out. We felt like we won the lotto finding this little gem hidden away in Sanur.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great little place, very tranquil. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Staff in the restaurant doesn't speak much English but the food is quite good and the service is excellent. Room is quite big, could do with a bigger air conditioner .
The hotel away from the tourist area but the shuttlebus does regular trips into town and to Sanur Beach Hotel. This hotel lets you use their facilities and Puri Maharani will give you cards for towels and usage of this resort.
All in all a very pleasant stay for our onward trip to Europe

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank 65AndreaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Can not fault this hotel if you are looking for a quiet and secluded stay just near Sanur. The staff, especially Operations Manager Cici, could not do enough for us and were friendly, helpful and so easy to deal with and communicate with. The shuttle service and access to Sanur Beach Hotel is the perfect combination. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orlagh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is very small. We had an impression that it was absolutely empty when we were there. Hotel staff are smiling and nice but extremely slow and don't understand English very well. Breakfast is standard as everywhere in Bali. Restaurant's menu is not great. We preferred to have lunch and dinner elsewhere. There is no another restaurant in the close neighborhood but as we were staying on the beach until late this was not a problem for us. They have a shuttle to Sanur beach hotel and they provide you with cards to have full access to that hotel facilities including hotel's private beach. The shuttle service schedule is not very convenient, last return shuttle is at 4:30pm. We used taxi for return journey. That was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yaJully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We enjoyed 4 night at Puri Maharani, flexible and helpful staff with excellent shuttle service. Also great added bonus to have access to Senur Beach Hotel including pool towel. They also have bikes but not sure if also evaluable to Puri Maharani guest. Bikes are very useful around Senur as it's quieter than Kuta and Legian. Clean, fresh and well maintain property. Only complaint would be that the air conditioning unit was a little noisy and it is a long way from the centre of Senur but when you consider it's only a $3 taxi ride away I can compromise as the room price reflect this. Would happily return.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Puri Maharani is excellent !!!!
Excellent staff, clean hotel, friendly staff!!!!
This hotel could meet all guest satisfaction
we will be back.

Excellent shuttle service, flesible service make us like in our own home
we're realy happy with our holiday in Puri Maharani

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miraclepoetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
4.7 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#56 of 79 in Sanur
129 reviews
3.6 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#38 of 79 in Sanur
484 reviews
4.6 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
4.4 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#13 of 79 in Sanur
727 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#30 of 79 in Sanur
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: By pass Tohpati - Sanur Jln. Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar 80237, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sanur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#14 Family Hotel in Sanur
#23 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $22 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Puri Maharani Hotel is owned by the King and Queen of East Bali. The Royal Family lives at the hotel, it is one of many they own. We can arrange a package so you can also visit and stay in the Royal Palace in East Bali as well. Please ask us for details. Puri Maharani offers a very nice landscaped garden, The King as a hobby raised many tree's over the years and created the beautiful garden area there. There is also a pool, a restaurant, a spa, and a free shuttle to Sanur Beach that leaves every 2 hours, and picks you back up as well. The property has a lot of very nice Indonesian art, and you will feel the peace and warmth of staying in a modest, Royal Family Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel Sanur
Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel And Spa
Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing