We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable villa in Sanur” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starling Villas Bali

Starling Villas Bali
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starling Villas Bali
Ranked #70 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable villa in Sanur”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Let me start by saying these suites are beautifully clean, very comfortable beds, and great air con in the bedrooms. A very welcome touch is the 20litre filtered water on tap in the kitchen area.Another thoughtful touch is the torch supplied(in the wardrobe) to help light your way back from the main street after dark. The staff are very friendly and do their best to look after you- communication can be a problem sometimes with not very fluent english, however, any problems were quickly sorted out. Must commend Oka for his exceptional service and attention to detail.
There are some details that need attention in this villa. The breakfast is adequate but really quite boring after a week there. A 4 slice pop-up toaster would be a big step up on the present toaster/oven which takes 5 mins to toast 2 slices of bread! Particularly when there are 9 people staying who are not related in any way!
As mentioned earlier, the rooms are kept spotlessly clean and fresh. However, during our stay,the supply of towels was haphazard at best.The cooktops were a welcome addition to make a morning cuppa but only if they have switches to operate them!!( one of our party had a 2 burner stove but no knobs to turn it on, and the other 2 guests had 1 switch each!)
The pool is a very welcome oasis after a big trip to Hardy's supermarket!! Even though the area is small, I'm sure that more than 2 sunbeds could be accommodated- perhaps some sunchairs around the area?
All in all, our stay was enjoyable as we were a group who were really looking forward to our own very special reunion. The above comments can be rectified with very little effort from management and Starling Villas could then truly become an oasis in the pretty town of Sanur, as they advertise.
Best wishes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ms.Hooge,

Thank you for your frank and fair review. As you recommended, we have swiftly remedied the situation after your visit :
1) we could not source 4 slice toasters but have bought 2 toasters with 2 slices each and that hopefully will ease any peak logjam :)
2) we have also bought a large thermos flask so 3 litres of fresh coffee will already be on the table when guests arrive for breakfast. and a fresh pot can be percolating away.
3) we immediately sourced new cookers with 2 gas rings each for every suite so hopefully that has been dealt with. Safety first for all kind guests.
4) we are not quite sure what happened on the towel situation as we have ample supplies of monogrammed bath towels as well as separate pool monogrammed towels. We recently did have some guests who did not return our pool towels as they seemed to have taken them out of the resort so fresh ones are being ordered.

We do hope we may see you again when you visit Sanur!
Warmest regards,
Jessica and Kadek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a marvelous 10 day stay at Starling Villas. The room itself is spotlessly clean, very large and comfortable, great bathroom, aircon and cooking facilities and pool. Staff very helpful and willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable. Breakfast is simple but very adequate.. Located 5 minute walk behind Hardys, (a bit dark at night) but so close to all the action, loved seeing the back street life ....so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duckegg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are delighted you found our B&B "wonderful". Having surveyed the local competition and what is on offer in the Sanur area, we remain confident that our property will not disappoint especially at these prices. It is our sincere wish to cultivate regular clientele for whom we are able to provide the highest standards of service and a safe, comfortable and convenient stay with easy access to all the activities the guests wish to indulge in.
Yours sincerely,
I Kadek Sudita
Onwer/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at Starling villas from 1st May till 25th May 2012. Stayed here last year when it was under other owners. Rooms are spacious and clean. Having only 6 rooms,3 on either side of a central courtyard and pool so reasonably private. Staff are friendly and very helpful and deal with any issues immediately. 5 minute walk to Hardy's and the main road. We enjoyed the walk everyday greeting the locals etc. If im to complain about anything it would be the lack of any seating outside of the rooms ...other than in the central courtyard. I love to read...but dont like being inside all the time...would be nice to have a couple of chairs and a little table or even a bean bag on the balcony area ...overall enjoyed our stay again...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We apologise sincerely for this tardy response. We immediately took your advice and ordered bespoke garden furniture for all 6 suites. There are now 2 foldable chairs with a matching casual table in every suite which can be moved to the front or used in the rear patios as a guest wishes. In order to maintain the period style we have stained the furniture with a distressed white wood effect.
We hope that you will find time to visit us again and we look forward to showing you a warm welcome in Sanur.
Warmest regards,
I Kadek Sudita
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way through Sanur. The apartment was spacious, clean quiet and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. American breakfast only was on offer, so we missed out on nasi goreng, but it was adequate, and being only a short stroll down the lane to the main strip of Sanur, we could top up on more lovely Bali kopi etc. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here on and off for about 3 weeks when we were travelling in Bali last year - me, my husband, 3 yr old and 1 yr old. It is a wonderful place, lovely decor, stylish, great amenities, perfect for those with kids because of the kitchen area and also in the back streets of Sanur which we really liked as it was quieter. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and Hiroko the owner is so friendly, polite, professional and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place as great value for money and we hope to stay there again when we return to Bali in a couple of years on our way to australia to live! Next time we will definitely book ahead and stay for as long as our visa allows!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jords31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We booked the Kuei for a family reunion and stayed 14 nights (3 apartments, 6 adults, 2 toddlers). The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help, even getting curtains made up for the dividing section of our room in only two days after we complained about the light. The apartments themselves are spacious and modern, and the cleaners did a great job every day. The shared courtyard is very pretty, and we were pleased with the decision to opt for breakfasts, which included fresh melon, eggs, bacon and sometimes strawberries.

On the downside, the building work all around the compound detracted from our stay. It was noisy and dusty, and made the walk to the beach road unpleasant and unsafe (especially with toddlers). The speed at which the building work was developing was impressive and may well be completed in 6 months' time but we regret that the current situation wasn't made clear to us at the time of booking. Bali has a problem with stray dogs, and we did sometimes find the packs of strays around the compound intimidating, especially walking home at night.

Families planning holidays with toddlers would need to keep them under constant supervision because of the open pool, and open gate (with dogs and building work outside). The staff were great with them though, and very tolerant of the mess and disruption.

Room Tip: 3 of the apartments have
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Cogs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My family stayed there for 9 nights, it was pleasant & value for money.

Before we went there I asked the owner if there was any microwave & washing machine in the room, she told me there wasn't but I could use the ones available in her staff room, and when I reached there, I was surprised to see a microwave already available in my room. Great job.

One of the staff (name Ketut) even helped us by becoming our driver for 3 days. Initially I was a little bit worried about hiring someone on the street, so I approached him if he knew anyone I could trust to drive us around Bali & he actually offered me his service at a very reasonable rate.

It would be good if the owner can put up a blind in the bathroom as some people may feel uncomfortable with those small holes on the bathroom windows.

The only drawback is the location is a bit out, pretty dark at night and you really need a good/bright torch light, however it was very safe, nobody disturbed us throughout our stay.

I would recommend this place for budget travellers, and definitely not for honeymooners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyPinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#44 of 74 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#46 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sukun Bali Cottages
Sukun Bali Cottages
#56 of 74 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#29 of 74 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#20 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#59 of 74 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starling Villas Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Villas Bali

Property: Starling Villas Bali
Address: Gg.Jasmine Gg.Gardenia No.1 Jl.bumiayu, Sanur, Denpasar 0001, Indonesia (Formerly KUEI Condominium)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 74 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Starling Villas Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Starling Villas Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuei Condominium Hotel Sanur
Starling Villas Bali Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing