We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant cafe”
Review of Cafe Smorgas

Cafe Smorgas
Ranked #52 of 436 Restaurants in Sanur
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Swedish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Its the only place in Bali for proper sandwices, homebaked cakes and coffee, salads, great breakfast, healthy juices, dinner and more.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A pleasant cafe”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is one of the better spots in Sanur for coffee. I dropped by frequently during my trip here for a double latte. The café is a little north of Hardy's, on the opposite side of the street. Service was efficient and friendly. The overall ambience of the café is pleasant and relaxing.

I had the Spaghetti once for lunch. It was generally tasty, but a little lukewarm when it arrived. The prices include tax and service. Cost of a double latte was 32,000 IDR; the spaghetti 45,000 IDR. Overall I was quite satisfied with the value and returned a number of times.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry-of-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting our Cafe and for your review, Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    222
    45
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“IKEA furniture and kötbullar -”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

in Bali is weird - but probably great for swedish kids who are doing Asia and have been away from home for a long time. For the rest of us - well - a poor lasagne is a poor lasagne, also in Bali.Cafe Smorgaas is rated as one of the best restaurants in Lonely Planet - we never understood why. The food is average - not directly bad, though.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for visitng us, and for your feedback. We value your review, Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Get the double shot latte”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I went twice to this cafe with my husband. It was recommend by our hotel for coffee & cake. The 1st time we choose a cake each and a coffee. The double shot latte was the best as we found it hard to get a good coffee in Bali. We liked the food so much we came back for breakfast.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Honeybee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you very much for being Smorgas customer, and for your kind review, Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Healthy Meals and Juices”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A new expat took me to this restaurant and it seems to be full of regular expats which indicates that it is good. The menu caters for cafe culture including freshly blended fruit juices, baked cakes and pastries, coffees, sandwiches, salads and other fare. There is good outdoor seating under the shade of trees and the busy main road of Sanur adds to the flavour for people watching.

The staff are typical of Balinese culture so may need some prompting although are generally willing to oblige when requested.

I visited for breakfast and went back for more hearing about their infamous carrot cake, neither visit was I let down and I will be going back for more.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us and for your kind review, Welcome back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude, passive aggresive staff ruined the experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

A shame.. Nice setting and a refreshing menu ruined by wait staff that were too preoccupied with their mobile phones and got nasty after requesting an ice coffee without sugar in it. Made the experience uncomfortable for my family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OffshoreJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback! We are very sorry that your visit did not meet up to your and our standard. We have taken care of the issue and would hope if you ever back in Sanur would come back to us and see the difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Smorgas also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Smorgas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing