We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good music”
Review of The Ducks Nutz - CLOSED

The Ducks Nutz
Cuisines: Asian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, good music”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

"Good food, good music" is what one of the patrons said to us as we stood out the front deciding if we would go in. He was right. The food was great, some lovely burgers and prices were reasonable. The bill snuck up on us because we ordered so many delicious mocktails but that's our fault. :) The music was great, yes it is a little odd to hear a Balinese person singing "Land Down Under" but the band did a great job. Service was also great, and I can't understand why previous reviews had such a bad time. This place is extremely Aussie, so if that's not your style then perhaps you won't enjoy the ambience, but if you do enjoy it, or if you are Aussie and are feeling a little homesick, it's great.

Helpful?
Thank KarynJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    69
    31
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices, but a bit tatty”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The food at The Ducks Nutz is really good, and the menu is varied. The pies are excellent, and the lasagna is bit enough to sink a battleship. They have live music some nights. There is a good choice of seating: indoor and outdoor tables, higher "drinking" tables, and at the bar. The staff were friendly. Overall, the decor could do with an overhaul, but this the only time I've ever seen a brown toilet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RandomGuy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Too awful for words. The food was extremely ordinary and the owner was the same. There's really nothing to add. Would never go there again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank werrimadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“bad food and bad people”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

please don't go there, my wife had tasteless prawns and they tried to give me a nasi campur without tempe and sambal sauce (only rice, a chicken leg and some vegetables) and wanted me to believe it was a nasi campur, then they made me wait 10 minutes so I gave back the food and said I was not paying for it as it was already cold and it was still missing tempe and sambal sauce, by that time my wife had finished her prawns so I asked for the bill with my empty stomach and they even tried to trick me by giving me the wrong change : 50'000 IDR were missing ! a mistake they said... I don't believe them. and to top that the waitress was smelling really bad, everything couldn't be more wrong at this place !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank asartoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“At least the beer was cold”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

If you aren't deterred by chain smoking and jokes about Jim Beam and Jack Daniels then this is probably the place for you. The food was pretty cheap and was passable but given that there are plenty of other good options within 2 minutes walk there is no reason to go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthDeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ducks Nutz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing