We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Quite Beach Far From Crowded”
Review of Sanur Beach

Sanur Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.50*
and up
Seawalker Tour in Sanur Bali
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Sunrise Cycling Tour in Sanur
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Seawalker Original Underwater Walking in Bali
Ranked #3 of 79 things to do in Sanur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Sanur Beach Promenade is lined with brightly painted outrigger boats along the water's edge, and good restaurants and cafes opposite. Treat yourself to a massage offered by one of the many masseuses with divans on the sand. If you're there in July, catch the Bali Kite Festival, a colorful international competition.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Quite Beach Far From Crowded”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is the first time we visit Sanur beach and instantly we fall in love with its atmosphere. Travelling with family consistof older people and children, definitely Sanur is a good place to visit. It's less crowded far beyond compare to Kuta area. We travel on Xmas time during peak time, but seem time of holiday is no effect on Sanur area. No traffic jam, no loud of bang from night club/pub. No people sell offering things you didn't want to buy. And even the beach is clean and sea's wave is calm in the morning. A perfect place for children to play and spot to lay on the beach. Many hotels available there from front beach type or just a walk minutes away range on its price

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,679
    2,236
    1,356
    335
    146
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“water sports”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

They provide few water activities and you can negociate the price. Make sure don't pay the fee on paper, you have to deal the price before you pay it!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank nayakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane QLD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The last best place in south Bali”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I hesitate to write this review lest others believe me and flood to south Sanur, where some locals still live and the streets are narrow, enchanting and tree lined. Thirty years ago people told me Kuta was ruined and thankfully I did not believe them. Now I say: Kuta is ruined and so too Legian and despite what many say, Seminyak has had its day too. They have killed the goose that laid the golden egg and there is nothing much left in south Bali that is not polluted by noise and traffic and an excess of foreigners with no interest in anything more than alcohol and hard partying.

Nonetheless isolated pockets of calm and tranquillity do persist: for now at least. Try south Sanur, south of the high priced resorts, down in the remoter laneways, where a completely different tempo can be felt.

Bali is as beautiful as ever she was, away from the tourist haunts. Enjoy her still while you can.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Chitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunrise, wake boarding, and boats”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The beach is very crowded every day but it's a good place to play volleyball and water sport activities such as wake boarding and kite surfing. There are also many places to eat, but the price is quite expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AyuningKendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowaramup, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nicest beach on this stretch of coastline I have visited”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was quite amazed that some of the other reviews found this beach average or unappealing?

The Sanur beaches, especially those in front of the Hyatt area were we've stayed a couple of times, are quite amazing - they are palm lined, free from erosion, almost entirely rubbish free, have minimal motorised watersports and an enormous area has been dedicated to swimming only.

Given that I live in West Australia's south west that has some of the most pristine beaches in the world, and also surf (so have visited many, many beaches around the world), Sanur beach is still one of my favorites in Bali that I have yet visited outside of the Bukit penninsula.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanur Beach also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sanur Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing