We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty french cuisine”
Review of Charming

Charming
Ranked #15 of 441 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Prices all included. Free pick up and drop off within Sanur area.
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Tasty french cuisine”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our group (8 people) had dinner at CharMing on a Saturday night. The food was very tasty and the service was friendly. The escargot and frog legs were delicious, as was the lobster and other specialty dishes. We tried every item on the dessert menu (and ordered seconds of the crepes suzette and panna cotta). The live acoustic band was also a nice touch. The wine list was also very impressive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hapitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    298
    116
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good produce and very entertaining”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having eaten here twice I heartily recommend the food and the experience. Decorated in Javanese woodwork with wonderful reclaimed hardwood, table are well spaced and the service is excellent. The Javanese house band are great fun and despite the dross they get asked to play by most tables have some wonderful classic Javanese tunes they really enjoy playing - and don't forget to tip, it's just polite.
Anyway, back to the food - anywhere that is comfortable offering tuna steak and lamb chops rare is confident in their suppliers and both dishes were excellent quality. Perfectly cooked vegetables refreshed in ice water and very naughty mashed potato just added to the meal. The wine list is extensive and the staff very well trained - it was refreshing to hear staff who were knowledgeable about their menu as well as attentive. The little touches like limoncello at the end of the meal were welcome, as were cool towels on arrival. All in all,very good indeed and we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkandDebbieLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brekshire, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we're so glad we gave it a visit. The whole experience was fantastic. The setting of the restaurant is very relaxing with the tables well spaced apart and I had a little chair to put my handbag on. The menu wasn't completely to my liking as it's quite french influenced but the food we ordered was amazing - I couldn't fault it. The live band were a highlight - we're not a couple who like bands playing while we're eating and normally avoid those places, but this was a local Balinese band who played soft music in the background. Near the end of the meal they asked for recommendations and they played all the songs we requested. We had a great night and would definitely recommend to others.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holibobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Charming Char Ming”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A remarkable dining oasis in Sanur with the right atmosphere. This is what you directly feel when you are guided to your table and being served with some nice cold towels. The menu has a wide choice of Asian & Western dishes with an Asian twist. We tried out many of them during our various visits and none has disappointed us. The right taste and a wonderful presentation, the quality justifies the higher pricing. On top of this there is a small band playing and besides the food you are as well presented with your favorite music at your table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terbangbelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely charming!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved this restaurant. First stumped upon this place when looking for post dinner cocktails but after seeing this place we wished we'd had dinner here. We came back the next two nights for dinner and more cocktails. The food was delicious as were the cocktails. The prices were at the higher end and I think they'd be considered reasonably expensive for Bali standards. However it is definitely great value as everything is good quality. As is the service, decor, atmosphere etc. We are coming back to Bali next January and can't wait to come back to CharMing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charming also viewed

 

Been to Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing