We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would return in a heatbeat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charming

Charming
Ranked #15 of 425 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Prices all included. Free pick up and drop off within Sanur area.
brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would return in a heatbeat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lovely restaurant with attention to detail. Felt very well looked after,from welcome small plates of nuts and bread to small drinks and a special chair for you bag! Meals were really nice. We had 2 adult meals plus 3 kids meals. All 3 kids enjoyed their kids meals from the menu.I had the salmon. A little overcooked but still tasty. Hubby said his prawns were great! Loved the overall ambience and music. My 8yo daughter was mesmerised by the singers who went from table to table singing requests. My boys (being boys!!) thought the artwork to the toilets very entertaining!
One of the dining highlights of our stay. Would happily return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fidgetgidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    289
    109
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Dined here for my partner's birthday. Beautiful ambience, lovely carvings, gorgeous service. String quartet played happy birthday and a request for him. Lovely manager came and chatted to us.thanks so much for making our dinner so special! Loved the birthday cake and other complimentary goodies. Try this restaurant! Only $80 for bottle of wine, starter, mains and dessert all of high standard.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Simply the best in Sanur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Cannot rate Charming highly enough. The restaurant is beautiful and characterful. The food is essentially world classics, and they are cooked absolutely perfectly, cooked to perfect.

The service in particular certainly makes you feel special. They offer you complimentary bread and dips as an appetiser, a small welcome drink, and another small drink after your meal.

Highly recommended. Do not hesitate to visit at least once whilst in Sanur.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great restaurant, we tried both French and Indonesian dishes and were impressed. Dessert in particular was a highlight. Fun atmosphere with a quarter of musicians playing different songs on request, good quality music.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bruin4life93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Don't expect a flavour punch from the rijstaffel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had visited this restaurant earlier in June and was impressed by the ambiance and the service. Upon returning to Sanur, it was high on my list to revisit. Unfortunately the rijstaffel was just as bland as last time - a pity because it'd be a great opportunity to try a range of Balinese/Indonesian dishes. I think sticking to the Western dishes is best - what was coming out of the kitchen looked incredible in comparison :)

The ambiance and service, however, lived up to expectations. Both were faultless. A nice place to go for a nice meal if staying in Sanur.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charming also viewed

 

Been to Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing