We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hot and sour soup!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Cookie

Fortune Cookie
Ranked #73 of 420 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: At Fortune Cookie Restaurant we offer a unique experience of San Francisco style Chinese cuisine in Bali. We believe in fresh & healthy Chinese food with no MSG. All our dishes are prepared fresh - made to order. We use Organic vegetables as much as possible, we serve Australian beef and our chicken is all breast fillet. Our famous 'potsticker' dumplings are handmade to order.. You won't find any frozen dumplings here! We pride ourselves on having the freshest ingredients, healthy recipes and fast delivery service. Please enjoy!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hot and sour soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic food. Very cheap. Friendly service. Highly recommended. Trust the Chef's Favourites - we did and were very happy.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SneakyFishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    122
    33
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lost quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I used to have good food from Fortune Cookies. But recently I had the experience that the prices really went up and the quality together with the sizes of the portions got down.
A pity as I really liked there food before.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OliverG591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortunecookiebali, Owner at Fortune Cookie, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Oliver, Thank you for the feedback... prices and portions at Fortune Cookie have been the same for the past 2 years. Our portions are known to be some of the largest in Sanur and our prices are very competitive! Our food is all made to order, we use all fresh ingredients, top quality sauces and spices with no MSG. We hope you will try us again! Thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chinese meal ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Amazing meal.

I can't profess to be a true judge of Chinese food as my travels haven't taken me there yet- but this meal was a world away from the usual salty, greasy gloop we get served in the UK

The szechuan chicken was amazing, sauce so light and fragrant. Could really taste the garlic and ginger. Chinese pork ribs were so seductive- the meat slid off the bone and melted in the mouth... mmmmmmm

The place was almost empty, but dont let that put you off, just go and have a really nice munch, you wont regret it :p

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonJoseph85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england west sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We ate here 2nd night in Bali it's tucked away but my god it was amazing we have large noodle medium egg fried rice broccoli cashew one medium chicken mushroom and one medium chilli beef ( very spicy and the food was out of this world!!! We had 3 cokes and bill was around £23 with tips we choose not to have starters but to have the 5 dishes we finished the lot!!!! We are are still in Bali and we can't wait to go back they even do take away :-))) we been Bali 6 times and this food was the best ever x

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackiefw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delivered to our Villa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We decided to have a night in at our Villa and ordered various dishes from Fortune Cookie. They delivered promptly and everything was piping hot. Food was great, and nice to see chicken breast was used .
Fortune Cookies were yummy - the best I had ever tried and I am normally not keen on them at all!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank birdseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortune Cookie also viewed

 

Been to Fortune Cookie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing