We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Respati Bali Bougainville Garden
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Respati Bali Bougainville Garden
Ranked #73 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Respati Hotel is sadly not what it is advertised as, the only redeeming feature is the lovely staff they have. My husband and I have just spent a week there, we booked a deluxe room and upon arrival were shown to a room that smelt so bad that I could not get in the door, it was near the front of the hotel right near where they were doing renovations, fortunately for us they offered us a free upgrade to a deluxe bungalow, this was quite nice, roomy and had no offensive odour. The breakfast area is far too small, although they offer you upstairs, ok if you are young and fit and dont mind going up and down stairs to the buffet. The breakfast (which is included in the price) is very ordinary and the only thing hot is the eggs you get cooked for you. Our room was cleaned every morning early, the pillows were very shabby as were the pillowslips, sheets towels etc. The problem with the bathroom is when you have a shower the water cuts out after a couple of minutes not even giving you time to rinse the soap/shampoo off. The pool was closed on the hottest day, all in all not the greatest hotel I have stayed in in Bali over the many times I have visited since 1985, and to top things off when there was a downpour of torrential rain the roof leaked through the ceiling into the room, we had to use a rubbish bin with a plastic liner to catch the water.

Room Tip: There is no privacy in the Deluxe Rooms or Superior rooms no balcony to sit out on without being on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

Spent 5 nights here in March. We had a superior room at the beach end of the hotel near the pool. The room was lovely, clean with a modern Bali feel but it was really small and the bathroom was even smaller. These rooms all have only Queen beds in them. We had booked with two female friends and had asked for a room with twin beds.They paid an extra $10 a night and were upgraded to the deluxe rooms in the same wing but on the ground floor and these rooms were bigger with a lounge in them.Worth the ten dolloars.Breakfast was small but fresh and looked good everything you needed.Staff were really nice from reception to the cleaners. The position was excellent. It was our first time in Sanur a little quieter than Legian but I for a change was great.Lot better for walking in the streets for the oldies or parents with young kids. The beachfront path is great for walking,shopping and eating. We booked on Agoda and got an excellent rate

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room near the beachfront for more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0pend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Respati was ok - on the plus side, the room was large and clean, it was a great location right on the beach and close to the markets and some great restaurants, staff were very friendly and it was reasonably priced for a beachfront hotel. The negatives - the beach umbrellas were covered in mould, the shower was a hand held one over the bath, which would have been fine, but it was mounted at chest height so you couldn't stand under it. We were the only English speaking guests which made us feel a bit like we were outsiders. We were there for Nyepi day and received no information about what would happen - we were lucky that other people told us or we would have wandered straight out onto the beach! Overall it was ok, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Fantastic spot to stay , not to far from anything good shops close by and also spas , hardys supermarket a good 10 minute walk or $1.00 by car only negative is they should not allow guests to hog all the sun beds !!! It should be a rule that after not returning within 1/2 hour they re move the towels and let other s use them

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebaliwyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just to let you all know - be careful to check your bookings and make sure that you are getting what you paid for.
We had booked (and had written confirmation) of a Deluxe Double Room, located on the ground floor and very close to the pool. The booking was made through AsiaRooms for 7 nights @ US$108 per night.
When we arrived on the first night, we were shown to our room, on the 2nd floor but very close to the pool.
The room itself was tiny and the bathroom was so small that 2 people could not be in it at the same time. The shower had so much black mould on the walls and the floor that we were not prepared to use it until we had bought our own bleach and washed it down thoroughly.
The next morning we discovered that we had been given a cheaper Superior Room and had not been told. When my husband queried this with the Front Desk, he was told that they would check with the manager (who was not in yet) and get back to us.
4 hours later we got a call from the Front Desk, who said that the manager (who still
wasn't in) had said that we could either stay in the room that they had given us or that we could have a Deluxe Room right at the back of the property next to the laundry and the staff quarters.
When we asked the cost of the cheaper room per night, we were told that they could not give us a price as they would have to get the price from AsiaRooms, and we were also told that the manager would not be available until after 3PM later that day.
At 3.45PM we went down to the Front Desk to speak with the manager, only to be told that the manager had already gone home, would not be back and that they were still unable to give us a price for the cheaper room.
At this point we told the Front Desk that we would pay for the 2 nights that we used the room, but would be checking out the next morning. We also tried to ring AsiaRooms and had sent them 2 e-mails advising them what was happening and our decision to leave.
The following morning, we went down to the Front Desk to speak to the manager about checking out and to find out the price of the room. The manager was again not in and we were told by the Front Desk that the hotel policy was that we had to pay for the full 7 days that we had originally booked and that the hotel wanted to charge us US$140 per night for the cheaper room.
Luckily at this point we managed to talk to someone at AsiaRooms who could not believe that the Respati was treating us this badly. AsiaRooms rang the Respati who finally agreed that we only had to pay US$98 per night for the cheaper room and also that we only had to pay for the 2 nights that we had stayed at the Respati.
Finally we managed to check out and into another hotel for the remainder of our holiday in Bali.
The moral of the story is be aware of not only what you are booking but what you are receiving for your holiday dollars. In our case the Respati was deceitful by putting us into a cheaper room without telling us and then still expecting payment for the more expensive room.
We did feel sorry for the Front Desk staff who were not able to make decisions, but the manager was conspicuous by their absence - a 2 minute call and then not being available for 2 days is just plain bad service.
I would certainly NOT stay in this hotel again and would NOT recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthBarossaPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is my second stay at Respati Hotel in six months. First visit I had a standard room which I found a little small but an upgrade to deluxe is far more comfortable.
Very friendly staff all through the complex, great massage room with a variety of different types of massages and very friendly efficient and fully certified girls.
The food in the restaurant is delicious with free room service and free self-serve breakfast. Omelets are cooked with a variety of fillings while you wait.
Free wi-fi in and around the restaurant and pool with less service in the first blocks (unfortunety not available in the rooms) but free and pleasant to sit up by the pool on the lounges.

Room Tip: I would recommend deluxe but only that you have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Me and my mate was staying here for 9 days in December 2011. I am very surprised to find a place like this. Beautiful cabins with good space, and top service every day.
Clean and well furnished rooms, silent nights, and also silent days. Food is good, and staff do all the can for you to feel comfortable.

Its a nice pool area, and very short way to a clean and nice beach. Its stores close to the hotel, and its many nice restaurants where you can enjoy your meals.

Room Tip: Cabins are nice - and they are silent and good, with a small terrace outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanHaugesund_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.2 mi away
Besakih Beach Hotel
Besakih Beach Hotel
#43 of 79 in Sanur
498 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#26 of 141 in Sanur
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.5 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.5 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#19 of 79 in Sanur
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Respati Bali Bougainville Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Respati Bali Bougainville Garden

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan no. 33, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Respati Bali Bougainville Garden Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing