We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fair price but very basic rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramayana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramayana Hotel
Ranked #63 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“fair price but very basic rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I paid 300.000 IDR for a double room incl tax and breakfast. Rooms were very old and worn down and the bathrooms are very smelly -mold and musty plus some sort of insect repellent. However, we had nice hot water all the time. The breakfast was served at the Swastika hotel next door and we could use the pool there - great deal because that was a nice hotel! We had a groundfloor room with a small balcony which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
10
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks and originally had the down stairs garden rooms, they are disgusting with mouldy pillows with musty smelling sheets, and the matresses, I wont go there! The bathrooms were bad also. We upgraded to the upstairs which are new and very nice, but there was a rat or something bigger waking us up all night, in the attic. It took 2 days for them to do anything and after that it still wasnt fixed properly, not good when ur watching a scary film! Ha ha. Then twice the male cleaner walked in without knocking! One time when my girlfriend had no clothes on. Then I went to ask receptiom who it was and they said they didnt know? Even though there are only 2 cleaners on shift a day. After gettin knowhere we checked out, there was also loud building work goin on from early hours so we bearly slept with everything going on. So dont bother!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conradmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

This was not our first choice in Sanur but we decided at the last minute to spend New Year there so options were limited!

The rooms were pretty dated and tired looking - especially the bathroom - but the aircon was fantastic, the shower was hot and powerful and we had a lovely terrace overlooking the garden. And the real bonus is that guests were able to use the pool at the Swatika Bungalows next door.

It was really well-priced given the facilities and in a really great location for restaurants, bars, shops and the beach and the staff were friendly and helpful.

It certainly exceeded our expectations.

NB - building work was going on during our stay so they may well be upgrading the rooms. Hope that doesn't mean a big hike in prices!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Let's start by saying the we paid £15 (US$25) for the room per night, including breakfast, so our expectations were not high. This is budget accommodation. However, the room had A/C, hot water, TV, daily maid service with fresh towels every day - what more could you ask for?

Yes, the bed was a little tired but the sheets were clean. The bathroom had well seen better days and could have done with a really good clean (in fact needed ripping out completely) but for the price it did the job.

We have seen/stayed in much worse accommodation for a lot more money.

The best thing is that you share the facilities of the Swastika Bungalows (right behind Ramayana) which cost quite a lot more. There is a lovely pool area in quiet, tropical gardens where towels are also provided. The pool bar is cheaper than out of the hotel and there is also a spa where we had a very cheap hour long massage for about £3 each. You also have breakfast at Swastika which we have read some complaints about but believe us it was absolutely fine - again, talking from experience it was delightful compared to other places!

The staff are very friendly and helpful. We arranged to be picked up from the airport and then hired the services of Ketut, our driver for another day, to give a whistle stop day tour of Bali which he allowed us to tailor make for ourselves, instead of having to stick to the hotels itinerary. This was a fabulous day especially since we were only in Bali for such a short time before going to the Gilis and we wanted to see as much as possible. The receptionist was also very obliging and rang several fast boat companies on our behalf without asking for any payment

We met several aussie couples who stay at the Ramayana for a couple of months every year and have done for many years.

For what you pay this place is an amazing find.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nathsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.2 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#33 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#29 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nyaman Guest House
Nyaman Guest House
#49 of 137 in Denpasar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amansari Villa
Amansari Villa
#98 of 137 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Svarna Hotel Sanur
Svarna Hotel Sanur
#49 of 134 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Hotel

Property: Ramayana Hotel
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan No. 130, Sanur, Denpasar 80030, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramayana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ramayana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing