We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Sale e Pepe - CLOSED

Ristorante Sale e Pepe
Price range: $3 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We've been topping the charts as one of the Best Italian Restaurant in Sanur, Bali. Opened in December 2008, we're a casual all day dining, catering uncompromising Italian food to local expatriates and tourists alike. We've gone through a total renovation and expansion of the restaurant in March 2012. With a brand new look, a larger open kitchen, a bar, and an indoor and outdoor dining area, we're ready to serve you with a totally new atmosphere starting in April 2012.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visit Sanur at least twice a year, and Sale e Pepe is a definite on our eating list due to their consistently great food - we have tried everything, from entrees, delicious thin pizzas, pasta (seafood pasta is our favorite) to main meals!

We are always greeted warmly by the staff, who remember us immediately (how do they do this, when the restaurant is always so busy??) and we always feel welcome.

We are looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    69
    18
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top pizza's !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Top pizzas, actually better than most pizza venues in my home city of Adelaide!
And I'm a hard pizza critic!
My wife much enjoyed the pasta she ordered.
Good service though venue lacks atmosphere.
Love the pizza's though & excellent value.
Ciao

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real surprise - fantastic pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wanting a break from local cuisine during a stay in Sanur the family and I popped into this place and were remarkably surprised. Sale e Pepe do one of the last things you would expect to find in Bali - wonderful, authentic, wood fired, thin crust pizzas. Because the prices were relatively low (about 80,000 rupiah each) and servings in other restaurants in the area had sometimes been quite small, we ordered big - a pizza each. We were pleasantly surprised when they came to the table and turned out to be large 12" numbers. The big shock, though, was that these pizzas were some of the best we'd ever eaten. Fresh toppings perfectly cooked on a thin, crisp base. I can't offer an opinion on the other courses - although what I saw going to other tables looked pretty damn fine - but if you are after great pizzas I'm pretty confident that you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiggySawdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A new find this year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I believe that Sale e Pepe has been around for a few years but the restaurant has recently been expanded to make it more visible from the main road. This was our first visit, having "missed" it in previous years.

Superb: good-quality food at sensible prices, modern, clean, open kitchen, good service and an excellent maitre d'. This restaurant makes a refreshing change from the standard offerings along the "strip".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent modern Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a find. Great modern Italian. We had the prawns and the chicken involtini which were b oth excellenty cooked. Staff were lovely and friendly and efficient. A bit expensive but worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Sale e Pepe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing