We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as every other time!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Sale e Pepe - CLOSED

Ristorante Sale e Pepe
Price range: $3 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We've been topping the charts as one of the Best Italian Restaurant in Sanur, Bali. Opened in December 2008, we're a casual all day dining, catering uncompromising Italian food to local expatriates and tourists alike. We've gone through a total renovation and expansion of the restaurant in March 2012. With a brand new look, a larger open kitchen, a bar, and an indoor and outdoor dining area, we're ready to serve you with a totally new atmosphere starting in April 2012.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not as good as every other time!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is no longer the cheap little Italian gem it used to be.

9 of us who are semi regulars to this place were there just to catch up. The food was, on the whole very good. 8 people enjoyed their meals but 1 was very disappointed with theirs.

We had to call a waitress over to take our food orders after waiting over 20 minutes for service. Our orders were taken and we then waited an hour for our meals to arrive. They dribbled out of the kitchen and the first to get their meals where well and truly finished eating by the time the last meal arrived at the table. I could see no real reason for the extended wait times as the restaurant had other customers but wasn't, by any means, near full.

Our table was cleared and after another half an hour or so, we had to attract attention again to ask for the dessert menus. These were delivered but no staff member seemed interested enough to come back to take our order. After waiting another good 20 minutes, we finally decided that we didn't really want dessert after all. We would have gone elsewhere for dessert but by this time of night every other kitchen in the area would have been closed.

So, overall this place was a huge disappointment given that we have had wonderful experiences there in the past. When you combine the almost non existant food service (the drink service was adequate though), the fact that the serving sizes seem to have shrunk considerably since our last visit and that the prices for these servings have increased signficantly since our last visit, I am inclined to say that we not ever return here. This is a real shame because this place used to be a winner. Maybe increased popularity is having a negative effect..........something for the onwer to consider!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiki_andriyani, Owner at Ristorante Sale e Pepe, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
hallo Mrs Whinnie
first i would like to say thank u for your input about our staff service and i do apologize if our service was not your satisfaction.
As manager and owner I would like to ask u when u came to our restaurant and as our semi regular guest may i know your really name ?
Usually I'm always in the restaurant and pay attention to the service but i can't remember which group u were.
Normally our staff work fast and pay attention to all our guest, might be take a bit longer because you or some or your group were smoking or had a conversation, so they was worry to interrupt you.
I really do appreciate for your input and hope we can do better on next visit to our restaurant.

Regards
Sale e Pepe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    69
    18
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Italy in Sanur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was craving for a good pizza and was told this is one of the best in town. Ventured and returned heart warmed with the super good pizza and a pasta. The complementary drink was a bonus and a perfect end. Try this place if you are around Sanur beach and you think you need a pizza.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank d_world12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llagostera
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG!! Fantastic! Fantastic!Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

First of all, let me tell you, that you HAVE to forget ALL the negative reviews you read about this restaurant!! They cannot be true!!!
My husband and me love italian food, we make several trips every year to Italy to relax and enjoy the food. Also during every holiday, whatever we go we eat at least 2-3 times in an intalian restaurant.
The Sale e Pepe definitively one of the best italians we ate!! The staff is very very friendly and very professional! They watch even your thoughts!! Also very unusual, that they are quick in the service, but they always ask when are you ready for th next course. Normally in Bali we had the bad experience that the courses comes very quickly after each other. In this restauratnt the service has a great balance!!
We have for appetizer the most wonderful fresh made millefoglie with fresh tomato and avocado and with light tuna cream! This is the MUST to try!!!! The pasta's are with real italian taste, simply delicious!! Also great pizza and desserts!! Everything is just brilliant, prices included! If you are in Sanur, don't miss this fantastic experience!! Thank you for all the stuff and to the brilliant chef for this delightful dinner!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellence in customer service and food quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

After two nights of indonesian we thought we would mix it up and also had a craving for pizza but we were also dubious of Bali's interpretation of a pizza! We decided on Sale Pepe and the customer service was excellent. The young girl serving us had a good grasp of english, coped with our additions and omissions for pizza toppings! Beautiful smile! The garlic bread/brushetta was great and tasty without being oily. The pizza was wood fire cooked, was huge with great base and toppings - all for about $6.50 per pizza. The manager/owner went to each table ensuring customers were happy, asked for feedback where improvements could be made - there were none! 'We were asked if we were ready for our main after the brushetta. Really enjoyed it - great pizza - well done to the team!! Wouldnt hesitate in coming back to Sanur just for the pizza!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One choice : Sale e Pepe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

If You are in Sanur don't need to think where to go for a dinner,just sit here and enjoy. Everything is brilliant food, service, chief, prices...I tasted lasagne, gnocchi, spaghetti, tagliatelle...and cannot say what is better and my wife ate always pizza.
Also one more good thing is open kitchen, that you can see the way they are preparing food.
We met chief, talked with both of them, what can I say...amazing people.
Kiki, Egi salute from Croatia, Zagreb.
Rivederti
Inga & Damir

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Damir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Sale e Pepe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing