We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Resort Sanur
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We only stayed here for 1 afternoon and night on our way to Ubud but enjoyed the experience. We were upgraded to a family room, which was HUGE for only 2 of us, it had it's own garden facing the pool! It had a lounge, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms - the main bathroom was very nice and had a walk-in rain-shower. The pool area was nice and quiet for relaxing and taking a dip away from the hot sun. We had a little saunter to the beach to dip our toes in the very warm sea - bliss! Dinner at the restaurant which was very nice - Nasi Goreng was lovely - and also had breakfast the next morning which was a buffet with a wide selection.

Overall, a very welcoming hotel with courteous and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur.

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful holiday experience in our resort. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback.

We will pass your comments to our team, we are sure that this feedback will encourage all of us to provide excellent service to our guests.

Once again thank you, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    1,025
    450
    147
    82
See reviews for
558
1,098
127
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I had stayed at the Mercure last year in one of the newer rooms and was very pleased with it.
On this occasion however, the room I stayed in (283) had an airconditioner that leaked water on the floor, potentially dangerous for slipping and falling; the bathroom was disgusting, primitive, with a shower curtain which had mould on the bottom seam and a shower recess that was not cleaned before my stay and not cleaned while I was there.

On the day we arrived and for a couple of days later there were men working on building a structure nearby in the hotel grounds and they were using a high-pitched power tool that just about drove me crazy. I was trying to rest on the short holiday I had but was not able to, owing to the noise.

The room safe did not work and I had to call upon staff twice to open it for me.

The "Breeze Bar" , cocktail bar near the dining room, is much smarter now than it was before, however the coctails are watered down and largely tasteless and the staff seem to come and go and you could be sitting there for a while wondering if anyone is going to serve you. So, we went up the path to the "Bamboo Bar" at a nearby hotel for some proper cocktails.

On one evening we took the hotel buffet, which I assumed applied a fixed charge (not cheap)for the entire meal. However we were charged an additional cost for a small plate of fruit after the main meal.

The morning breakfast menu is tired and not as good as it was a year ago. The Services Directory in the room says that breakfast is open til 10.30, but the staff say 10.00. The Services Directory in our room was tatty and grafitted, with pages coming adrift.

I ordered almost every item on the room service menu and without exception, the food was almost terrible. One crab dish just consisted of a whole lot of crab claws and no crab meat, plus a sugary sauce. But hey, the rice was good.

The management staff of this hotel need to take a long, hard look at themselves and try to work out if they really want to be in the hotel business. The penny-pinching and cost-cutting is really obvious. This hotel is situated in beautiful grounds but the hotel itself is just a disgrace, and much as I would like to stay there on my next Bali trip, I can get much better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on our resort.
We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation, please accept our sincere apology.

Your feedback concerning the condition of our guest room, noisy project, and our F&B service are very well noted. Please understand that the maintenance project was conducted in order to provide better hotel facility to our guests. Rest assured that we will take appropriate measures to improve our guest room and F&B situation, as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our facilities and service.

Once again thank you very much, we do hope you will consider to return to our property on your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Breakfast & dinner Buffer selection & food quality is not up to standard.
A lot mosquito at the resturant.

Pool with play concept & balls for loan are good idea & fun for family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur.

Thank you for your review on our resort, we highly appreciate your feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were very much enjoy our pool activities.

We are sorry that the condition of our restaurant, breakfast and buffet dinner did not meet your expectation, please accept our sincere apology. Rest assured that we will take appropriate measures to overcome this situation, as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our service.

Once again thank you, we are looking forward to servicing you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights after arriving back from Lombok. This was a nice hotel, on the beach front with two decent pools. Perfect if you want to spend a few days in the sun. The beach was not the best in Bali but ok. The hotel was located just outside Sanur town but it was easy enough to get there, and there were lots of local beach front restaurants nearby that were great - and cheap. As for the hotel itself there was plenty good about it - a free shuttle bus into the town, a range of activities organised by the hotel, modern rooms with good sized beds, free wi-fi. However, a few things about it were not so good - nothing major so as to spoil the stay, but frustrating enough to prompt me to write something on this site. Firstly, we arrived at 4pm to be told our room wasn't ready (check in was at 2pm) so had to wait around. Secondly, the breakfast buffet was unbelievably busy; it was difficult to get a seat and a lot of the food had run out. It near impossible to get a seat by the beach and other small things were irritating like the kettle in the room not working, the air conditioning requiring fixing etc. Value for money wise it wasn't bad but probably not the best in Bali. However, I did enjoy my stay and particularly the village bike ride, organised by the hotel activities crew. I do concede we could have just been unlucky to be there at a particularly busy time, perhaps coinciding with a package holiday of some sort (though it wasn't peak season), but I think the hotel could have done more to allow for this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur...

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our resort.

We are pleased to know that you were very much enjoy your holiday in Sanur, especially the bicycle tour surround the resort and beyond.

We are sorry that your check in and breakfast experience did not meet your expectation. Please accept our sincere apology. Your feedback on this issue is highly appreciated, as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our service.

Once again thank you, we are looking forward to servicing you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

This hotel is a bit old and tired although the rooms are well maintained and cleaned reguarly. The gardens are lovely and very well maintained as is the pool area. The air con is a let down due to the bad positioning of the unit within the room. The plumbing needed some work as the shower area wasnt draining properly. Communication with the staff was sometimes challenging due to the language barrier which I have never experienced in my 7th trip to Bali in an upmarket hotel. But Its ok. Room service?? Its probably the best I have had and I had very little expectations at 11 pm. The food is consistently good and so is the service. I give it a good rating. Nasi Goreng was to die for!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWideGuru1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur.

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful holiday experience at our resort, we highly appreciate it.

Our Nasi Goreng is indeed one of the best signature menu of Mercure Resort Sanur! Glad you like it.

Your feedback concerning the condition of our guestroom, air conditioner, and language barried with our staff is very well noted. Rest assured that we will take serious follow up to improve this condition, as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our product and service.

Once again thank you very much, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our resort.

Best regards,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed here for 10 nights in October. The staff here were so welcoming. We had a problem with our initial room as the patio door did not close properly, and there were insects coming in all night. The non-refurbished rooms are also very dated and quite dirty. We raised this with the hotel staff but they were all booked up for the next night. After 2 nights we were moved to a higher quality room but had to pay quite a lot of money to do so. However, it was defeinitely worth it as the next room was completely refurbished, modern, and no insects. Throughout these problems, the staff were really helpful and accomodating.
The location of the hotel is right on the beach, and there are 2 moderate sized pools, neither of which were ever too busy. It is in a really peaceful area of town, and about a 10 minute walk into the main centre where there are lots of restaurants, shops and bars. It is a really relaxing place and tlhe town is great.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you can afford to upgrade your room. Bali is such a beautiful country.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferlou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Madam,

Warm greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur.

Thank you for your review on our resort, it is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We will pass your comment to our staff, we are sure this will motivate them to always provide excellent service to our guests.

Indeed, the location of our resort is a perfect choice to those who need full relaxing holiday.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the improper patio door in your room, please accept our apology.

Thank you for trusting your holiday accommodation in our resort, and also for your kind recommendation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Very nice staff friendly food really nice I would highly recommended it, lovely surroundings. Typically I had been working very hard and chose to relax there and I did

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our resort. It is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are delighted to know that you were very much enjoy your last stay with us. And we will pass this comment to our team, as an encouragement to all of us to always give excellent service to our guests.

Once again thank you, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#31 of 78 in Sanur
959 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Sanur

Property: Mercure Resort Sanur
Address: Jl. Mertasari | P.O. Box 3476, Sanur, Denpasar 80034, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#18 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#18 Family Hotel in Sanur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Sanur 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali, a resort with contemporary Balinese design featuring 189 guest rooms in 41 Balinese cottages with traditional thatched rooftops. Each guest room has it’s own private balcony overlooking the tropical garden. Only 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport. Has a direct access to a white sand beach. A stone pathways will lead you around 5 hectares luscious tropical garden, with its fragrant trees, towering palm and coconut tress, and more than 100 species of flora.A perfect place to relax while experiencing the beauty of Bali’s unique culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Sanur Hotel Sanur
Mercure Hotel Sanur
Accor Hotel Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing