We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet Resort with Private Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Resort Sanur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Resort Sanur
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice quiet Resort with Private Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed from 01/05 to 01/08/14 in Deluxe. The resort is bungalow-style with 3-floor superiors and 2-floors deluxe and family rooms. Got # 220. Close from Resto & Beachfront even the room itself is facing away. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Check in is ok even we havent got our preferred room of king-size deluxe.

The room is well spaced even with shared our 12 yo daughter. Amenities are complete. Rainshower equipped even with no door separating the shower room so the area in front wash-basin was easily wet with splashes.

The Pandawa restaurant is nice with one small pool and beach at the front. But unfortunately the meal is not. I have to say the taste was not matching the price. The seafood soup was ok, but the steak dressing was too sour and the tiramisu was also too sour for my taste (the waiter said it was the bread and it's usual). Easily spent over IDR 800k if not for our complementary dinner from internet-accor booking. Again my verdict - over-priced.

The beach is my favourite. Private. Sunrise spot. We used it very early @ 4.30 AM :) Also for plane-spotting lover as the airspace above the beach is the approach landing route to Ngurah Rai Airport.

Service was great. Housekeeping was sufficient as we found our room cleaned after our everyday's trip. Internet was sufficient as my room is near the restaurant.

Overall verdict - Great Resort with Private Beach for quiet vacation, but not the in-house meal.

Room Tip: Ask for the room nearest to the beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FO-CGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, General Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Foctavian,

On behalf of the team, thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We have bought your comments to our chef and they have been taken on board by his team.


General Manager
Mercure Resort Sanur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    965
    424
    137
    78
See reviews for
529
1,011
126
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed in Sanur as we wanted to be in the less manic, and club filled Kuta or Seminyak. We were glad we did! We loved this hotel, as the bungalows set in beautiful tropical gardens barely felt like a hotel! The rooms were nicely decorated, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. as we went in September, there were less crowds, and we never had difficulty getting sunbeds. We found the beach bar became a daily favourite, with very nice staff, making very good cocktails, and a ever refilling plate of nuts! The hotel is in a good location for local shops, and restaurants, but also still in good location for trips to Ubud, Jimbaran and Seminyak.

The only thing I can think of that was not so great, was the food in the restaurant. It was very expensive, compared with local prices, and since it was a buffet, I felt it wasn't good value. Having tasted the food, we were disappointed as it wasn't as nice as the local restaurants, so I'd avoid that.

As for the room, the only down side was that the shower tended to flood the floor, so you needed hand towels to soak it up afterwards.

Also, we tended to get taxis from the hotel taxi rank, but later discovered these were over priced and the it's much better and cheaper to walk up the street and hail a Bluebird taxi for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: To avoid stairs, and gain a nice garden area to sit on, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, General Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Charlotte B,

Thanks for your posting on our Resort. With the new toll road opened up. The Resort is so much closer to areas as you have written.
With the Resort putting in the new rain showers, some flooding occurs and we are working with our team to see how we can improve the bathroom drainage to help resolve this.


General Manager
Mercure Resort Sanur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

having booked 3 deluxe king rooms months in advanced and paid in full it was very disappointing to only get 1 king bed room. for the standard of the Mercure I would have expected clean bathrooms not all mould ridden, rubbish was not taken out the room on each daily service and plates and food from room service was still outside door 2 days later. l would certainly look at other resorts before staying here again, having been Advantage Plus Members for more than 10 years and Accor Vacation club members I would have expect better service and standards very disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, General Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Robyn P,

Your posting is an interesting one. I accept on behalf of the Resort the short comings you faced during your stay. I also an informed by my team that the mix up certainly did occur and was rectified the following day where you declined the offer of the other king rooms.


General Manager
Mercure Resort Sanur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I was rather skeptical coming to this resort as I saw some negative reviews. However after my stay I have no idea what they were taking about. The mercure was the 3rd resort we stayed at, and frankly for money value was the best
- The staff are very friendly, professional and willing to help out with anything you need.
- the room we stayed in was spacious and clean ,except for a bit of mould in the shower. The staff that make up your room go to the extra effort to make your towels into little animals and place them on your bed.
- the food was relatively cheap and quite a good feed.
- location is picture perfect on the beach and is nice and quiet, a welcomed change from Kuta.
- there are plenty of activities and things to do here eg boating, snorkeling and other water activities.

I would recommend this resort to the young and old, it will accommodate everyone's needs. Thanks for the stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, General Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Ty6345,

Thanks for your positive review on our Resort.

We are glad to read both positive and negative aspects of all our guests stay. We were delighted you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you again.


General Manager
Mercure Resort Sanur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Amazing experience. Mercure managed to destroy the Balinese culture and turn the majority of staff into grumpy people. The whole week did the supervisor in the restaurant not greet me once or even made eye contact once. This was not an exception as the whole week, the only friendly staff I encountered was a couple of the labourers being friendly. First time that I have seen that a management can destroy a culture and morale. I have been to bali several times on holiday and business and this is the first time in seven years in bali that I have seen local people being so unhappy.
Sure Mercure is training them in "no eye contact and no smiling rule"
It is scary and sad.
This is a old resort and one expect the rooms to be dated and facilities to be dated. The gardens are well maintained. The rooms are however not very clean and they don't clean it properly every day. Literally a 5 minute per room policy. Was in room with a broken basin, which I reported three times and on day five still not fixed.
The staff in the bar is extremely unfriendly and the cost of Alcohol is priced to chase everyone away.
Asked the lady at bar for a towel at pool as there was no attendant and she did me " a favour" to assist. Must have received her training in Perth Australia.
If you have zero expectations for service (and like to be surrounded with grumpy staff) and are willing to pay ridiculous amounts for mediocre food, then this resort is the place for you.
This resort has so much potential, but something is seriously wrong here as the staff is reflecting a zero customer service attitude. Please don't get me started on the food in the restaurant.... OMG.... How insulting to eat breakfast out of a side plate. Clearly they want to prevent food wastage and use portion control, but it is an insult! You just don't serve food using side plates. The food is extremely basic and expensive. Walk across /down the street and you have many options of excellent food and excellent service.
I don't believe I will recommend anybody who is used to basic service and has basic requirements when on holiday to stay here - the basic principles of customer service is not evident at all! If you have basic expectations, it is ok, the problem is, they ask 5 star prices for everything....

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, General Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear BeegMelbourne,

Thank you for your in depth review. As a senior contributor, i was a bit astonished by your review. Knowing all posts are an independent and subjective opinion by the reviewer. Fortunately i also get to post my response.

Our entire team team work very hard to ensure all guests who stay with us have an enjoyable stay. The team this morning are quite disappointed with the comments made. As a team, we are disappointed you had not mentioned our happy hours in all our Bars through out various times of the day. Food daily specials and or entree size plates are not quite as small as you suggest on for your reference of food wastage or portion control.

Our Resort is happy to boast 25 years of great Balinese service and have had well over 85% of our staff here for 10 years or longer with many repeat guests over this time.

It will be unfortunate that we won't get a chance to welcome you back and show you what we believe is not quite a factual review written.

Again a subjective response by the General Manager.


General Manager
Mercure Resort Sanur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the Mercure. The location in Sanur is excellent with regular free shuttle bus services to the main shopping street of Sanur. The beachside environment is lovely..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, General Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Monica2795,

Thanks for your review.
We hope to see you both back real soon.


General Manager
Mercure Resort sanur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Sanur

Property: Mercure Resort Sanur
Address: Jl. Mertasari | P.O. Box 3476, Sanur, Denpasar 80034, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#18 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#18 Family Hotel in Sanur
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Sanur 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali, a resort with contemporary Balinese design featuring 189 guest rooms in 41 Balinese cottages with traditional thatched rooftops. Each guest room has it’s own private balcony overlooking the tropical garden. Only 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport. Has a direct access to a white sand beach. A stone pathways will lead you around 5 hectares luscious tropical garden, with its fragrant trees, towering palm and coconut tress, and more than 100 species of flora.A perfect place to relax while experiencing the beauty of Bali’s unique culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Resort Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Sanur Hotel Sanur
Mercure Hotel Sanur
Accor Hotel Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing