We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel with friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Sanur
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just came back from a week stay at Mercure Sanur, and was very pleased with my stay. After reading a few complains about the service, outdated rooms, pool, wi-fi etc...i was curious to test if they were true. Let me assure you, that overall the resort is worth visiting!

Check-in: I was greeted by a very pleasant receptionist, who made me feel right away that I was on holiday. After quick formalities, she explained about the resort facilities and my luggage was taken to the room in no more than 5 min tops.

Rooms: My biggest worry, after reading other comments was that the rooms are in bad condition. I had Superior room and was very pleased with it. Yes, the room is not contemporary style like those you find in ibis Styles or Novotel, but the resort is not aimed to be. After all, Mercure is a mid-range hotel brand and not a luxury brand. Everything in the room was in great condition, nothing broken and no mold in the shower etc....Great 32" flat-TV with lots of channels, comfortable bed & a balcony overlooking beautiful peaceful garden. Room cleaning was done daily and done thoroughly. The housekeeping even realized that i liked my water bottles to be placed on the tea table, rather than in the bathroom and they did so every day!

Wifi: the speed of free internet is not great, as some mentioned and you have to pay for premium bandwidth package. However, it was sufficient enough to check email, facebook and even skype. The connection was steady and did not interrupt.

Breakfast: Contrary to what some were saying, I found the price very reasonable. They had a promotion at that time, you could purchase pre-paid breakfast coupons at the reception and get 35% off putting your total bill at approximately USD 10. Yes, you can get breakfast for USD 6 just around the corner outside of hotel, but please take into consideration that it will NOT be all you can eat and prepared with quality. So please do not compare and complain that the breakfast at the hotel is too expensive just because you don't have big budget yourself. The only thing i would comment, is to make self-service tea/coffee station. Would be faster/easier for both guests and staff.

Restaurant Lunch/Dinner: The prices are very reasonable and just slightly more expensive than outside. Quality was good and service fast. I really liked the band that played every night during daily buffet dinner!

Staff attitude: I think the people that complained about staff attitude are those impatient people that arrived exhausted after 15 hour flight complaining about every little thing going wrong. I found most of the staff smiling throughout the hotel. What i liked the most that all staff take effort to greet you and wish you "good day" when you walk past them. Yes, there were one or two staff that didn't smile, but that was not a major issue as some would say. At the end of the day, nobody can be perfect.

Overall, I would say its a good mid-range hotel with perfect value for money. Beautiful relaxing setting with friendly service is definitely a winner. If you are looking for a quiet hotel at a reasonable price, definitely go for Mercure Sanur! If you are looking for something more contemporary and luxurious, please don't be shy to spend more and stay at Novotel Nusa Dua, but then again, its all about your budget!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travepassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are glad that you had a memorable stay at Mercure Resort Sanur and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. This has always been rewarding to hear such compliment since it will boost the spirit of our staff to deliver the better hospitality service to our valued guest. We do hope that your next visit in our hotel will be as pleasant as this time. Very look forward to welcoming you again in our resort in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This resort has such a tranquil and relaxed feel about it. The grounds are lush, the location on the beach is absolutely great. The deluxe room is well appointed and spacious. The breakfast was good value and varied from day to day. Just about a 30 minute walk along the beach you'll find the Main Street of Sanur which has plenty of restaurants , bars places to have a massage. The only thing that is missing from the resort is a gym. I recommends his resort if you're looking for a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta, Legian or Seminyak.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthoney83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are glad that you had a memorable stay at Mercure Resort Sanur and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. This has always been rewarding to hear such compliment since it will boost the spirit of our staff to deliver the better hospitality service to our valued guest. We do hope that your next visit in our hotel will be as pleasant as this time. Very look forward to welcoming you again in our resort in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We were concerned at first seeing some negative reviews as we were in Bali for the first time and on honeymoon. To be fair the room we had was a superior room and was perfectly fine clean and had what we needed. The first meal we had on the beach from the bar was fish and chips 68k and was really good not sure why they had he bad reviews pool was fine as well though we spent majority of time of the loungers on the beach. There were plenty of restaurants 300m right of the hotel just be careful of alley way money changers as they tried to rip us off 200k with slide of hand tricks but we managed to avoid as we recounted in front of them but they tried every trick in the book. I think the hotel for what it is was more then satisfactory.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kieronabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Mercure Resort Sanur Bali. It is with a great pleasure that we have accepted your compliments towards us. Your satisfaction is the best reward for our staff to strive the best quality of service.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I found this hotel as a last minute deal and saw mixed reviews. I will say I was impressed with my room (and I had the basic room) plenty big for 2 people and modern bedding and bathroom. 2 big pools and plenty of beach chairs. It's walking distance to many restaurants, bars and spa and there's a wonderful beachside walkway connecting all hotels next door to explore.

Big plus - they have an early check in/late departure lounge to hang in, shower and lock up valuables for late flights.

I was there 2 days and would return.

Only item needing help was check in reception team. Painfully slow and never enough staff to help guests. I had to wait 15 minutes to be acknowledged let alone check in. Same for check and asking a question was thought as there usually was 1 person who was helping another guest. Always friendly just not enough front desk staff for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13_Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Mercure Resort Sanur Bali. It is with a great pleasure that we have accepted your compliments towards us. Your satisfaction is the best reward for our staff to strive the best quality of service.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect, direct access to the beach and only on walking distance from Sanur's main street with plenty of good restaurants.
The Erin was outdated but clean and very spacious with a large terrace or balcony.
The service however was definitely below expectations. Housekeeping was very basic and we had to ask for a refill of guest amenities on one day and for towels on another day.
On one day we found a room service plateau next to our room and it remained there until the next day. As the hotel is build up out of many villas/cabanas, it is not very hygienic to not clean up such a plate within a short time. We even saw a dog sniffing on the leftovers...
Service in the restaurant was also way below expectations. In general the Balinese people are very friendly, but not in this place. Instead of good morning they only said: "room number?". The cutlery on the tables was not complete on most occasions and we had to wait a long time for coffee or tea every morning.
I've been to Bali many times, but this hotel does not represent the Balinese friendliness. (Except for reception department, check in and out was perfect!)
There are plenty of better options in Sanur.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJanssen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. We're concerned with the satisfaction of our guest and your feedback is a great value of us. Please let us apologize for letting you down on your return. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our team and facilities. On behalf of hotel team, we wish to say thank you for your continuous support.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for a yoga retreat and it was a great all-around experience. The grounds are stunning, well kept and tropical. The service was friendly. The two pools were fun for all ages. The breakfast buffet priced around $17 was high for Bali, and offers many fruit, juice, meat, and pastry options, along with a long queue at the egg station. The rooms were basic Balinese and a little worn, but well worth the $80/night price for a twin room which includes a spacious balcony for relaxation. The nearby Aroma Spa (adjacent to hotel along beachfront) was amazing - book early and book often! The onsite yoga facility was exceptional. This is a good hotel in Sanur, just don't make it your only stop in Bali.

Room Tip: Buildings are 2-story so book upper rooms for private balcony, or lower rooms for easy access to pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Mercure Resort Sanur Bali. It is with a great pleasure that we have accepted your compliments towards us. Your satisfaction is the best reward for our staff to strive the best quality of service.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank EgoTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,380 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
1.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,592 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Sanur

Address: Jl. Mertasari, Sanur, Denpasar 80034, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#15 Family Hotel in Sanur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#22 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Sanur 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali, a resort with contemporary Balinese design featuring 189 guest rooms in 41 Balinese cottages with traditional thatched rooftops. Each guest room has it’s own private balcony overlooking the tropical garden. Only 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport. Has a direct access to a white sand beach. A stone pathways will lead you around 5 hectares luscious tropical garden, with its fragrant trees, towering palm and coconut tress, and more than 100 species of flora.A perfect place to relax while experiencing the beauty of Bali’s unique culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Resort Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Sanur Hotel Sanur
Mercure Hotel Sanur
Accor Hotel Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing