We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Sanur
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    1,013
    448
    146
    82
See reviews for
552
1,088
127
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The resort was fine there were just a few thing that made the resort come down to an average over all rating.
1. The pools temperatures were hot....... so we went swimming in the resort next door! Not the sort of thing you want to be doing every day.
No shade arounds the pools as well.
2. The breakfast were boring after a few days no variety.
3. The resort is at the end of Sanur so you really need to get into a taxi to go anywhere.
But on the plus side staff were friendly the rooms were a good size.

We did call the resort before we arrived and asked to make sure that our rooms that we book were as close as possible together as we had our teenaged son in the second room that we booked and wanted to be close by if needed.
This did not happen I cant say that we were at opposite end of the resort but we were not close at all, this was disappointing but I am sure our son found it so!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Mercure is a large resort with lovely grounds. However, the front desk service and cleanliness is appalling. No welcome drink or cool towel as you usually receive at Asian properties on check in. The check in process was also extremely lengthy. Luckily I asked to check our room before accepting—twin beds for the few romantic nights my boyfriend was going to join me wasn't going to cut it, I was also concerned about the damp, mouldy smell. I was shown another room, upgraded which on first look seemed lovely, large bathroom and good location, close to pool, beach and restaurant (Room 138). However, it also smelt, but it appears that all rooms at Mercure Sanur smell of mould. In the middle of completely the paperwork with the older man at the front desk he asked if I could wait while he dealt with another enquiry. Expecting this to be quick, I moved away from the desk. Instead of an enquiry, he proceeded to check another couple in! And this is with me supposedly a preferred customer, being an A Club member!

Once settled the tiredness of the room, the softness of the bed and the poorly maintained bathroom were apparent. During the entire stay I'm certain the shower was never cleaned. The drain didn't work as it was clogged with dirt and hair (not ours). The set up of the bathroom was attractive but not practical if it wasn't going to be mopped out each day. There was a large slug in there one day, still there after the room was serviced. I had to throw the slug out the door. I ended up using dirty towels to also mop up some of the water, hair and dirt from the drain as it was never clean the entire eight days. They don't service the rooms until about 3–4pm which is also annoying as you don't have clean towels if you want to shower and be ready to catch the last shuttle into town or have a sunset drink. The towels are also in poor condition, grey and thin, sometimes stained. Several times the staff came to clean the room as I was getting ready to go out as it was 4pm. I'm not sure why they service the rooms so late, it's not like they take much time to do them—as well as the shower and bath not being cleaned, there was still sand on the floor in the bedroom, often not enough towels were left and there was no tidying of tea and coffee amenities or other room facilities.

They were fairly prompt at bringing more bath or hand towels when I rang reception to complain not enough had been left. Room service was also prompt, although the menu limited. Didn't eat dinner at the restaurant as there was only buffets or the limited poolbar/room service menu available. But there are several nice cafes and restaurants at other resorts that were nice. Use the Trip Advisor best rated restaurants to get some good ideas.

One saving grace is the spa. Lovely service and atmosphere and reasonably priced for the quality. They were the only ones who could get a knot out of my shoulder with the shoulder and back massage, even though I had tried several in town and close to the Mercure in the first three days. The pamper package was also a lovely way to end a holiday.

The location is fine, it is at the opposite end to the main drag but there are plenty of restaurants close by and no markets can be a good thing. There are small convenience stores, phone credit places etc within a couple of minutes walk on the road. A better route is the easy walk along the lovely footpath that follows the beach all the way to the other end of town—about an hour of strolling and looking at restaurants, resorts and markets on the way. The pools and beach area are lovely but the ridiculous Accor policy of only allowing one towel per customer is ridiculous! You are issued with pool cards which you must swap for a single towel, They won't provide any additional towels. One towel doesn't cover a beach chair and if they continue this policy in Bali it will be a factor in me not choosing another Accor property (although nothing would convince me to stay at the Mercure Sanur again—even the $35 a night paid).

To sum up, the grounds are immaculate, many people constantly sweeping up leaves and fallen flowers but it would be a much better use of staff time to have more staff spend longer cleaning and airing rooms so they were in better condition as a few leaves on the grass don't bother you but a smelly room and dirty shower does!

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting! Large resort so a room close to the beach is worth requesting. Up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LMT_001traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have been coming to Sanur for years and we paticularly like the Mercure for its location gardens and the individual accomodation set up. We travel as a couple with a child under 12. We stay for up to 2 weeks at a time. The Mercure is clean and comfortable, but certainly not a progressive resort. It seems stuck in a time warp, and somebody needs to grab it with both hands and shake it out. The foundations of location gardens and accomodation are fantastic. Something that modern hotels do not have. All that is needed is a complete renovation / update and you would have a top class facility.
The beautiful pathways through the garden are lovely, but dangerous and slippery when wet. A simple waterblast would fix that.The swimming pools are both in need of a makeover, with the rear pool close to being unhygenic due to a failed filtration system. The kids club is token only, mainly a place to dump the kids with a carer. There are no programs. The main dining area is overpriced OK and boring. You won't get food posioning and you won't walk out with a WOW factor either
.
Staff are kind and courteous, but do not activly engage in customer service. The rooms are cleaned daily, and though the linen etc is clean, it is in dire need of replacement. Bath towels were thread bare. Pool towels were no better however we did see new ones being handed out towards the end of our stay. Customer requests are accomodated, but there is no pro active customer service. This hoilday we booked for 7 nights. An attempt to extend this period was hard work. (Resort was at 65% occupancy go figure!) We got there in the end, but why make it so hard to keep a guest you already have on site. Surrounding Resorts were bending over backwards. We will go back again for the location etc, and we will eat and drink outside of the resort. Room rates cannot increase until the place is upgraded. If they did increase the rates we would choose from the many other modern madeover resorts that are close by and pay the difference. All in all a good resort that has been let to run down, and in this competitive world something an operator can not afford to do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaptainCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your concern on our resort.

Your comment has been noted very well to be shared to our team, and rest assure that we will treat it as a reference for our future improvement.

We are waiting to welcome you again, and we hope that your next stay will be even more pleasant.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location.
Sanur is located on the East Coast of Bali away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. the location makes if very easy to travel to central and Northern Bali without the hassle of dealing with the Airport and Kuta Traffic. If you are looking for somewhere to go to relax, but still have the choices of some great evening entertainment, this is the place for you.
I booked one of the cheaper rooms on offer at the hotel and was very happy in regard to value for money. The decor was a little tired, but the rooms in the block next door were undergoing renovations while I was there, so no doubt this will be an ongoing project. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Staff were friendly and service was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennykmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Pennykmg,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for sharing your recent stay in our resort. It is a real pleasure to hear that you were satisfied.

We are impatiently waiting to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights and was our first visit to Bali.

the rooms where in typical Balinese style houses which where lovely to look at and created lovely grounds. the rooms where of an ok standard although i agree with other reviews that the rooms aren’t spotless and furniture dated. we had a balcony but didn’t use this as the mossies where quite prevalent at night when we were there. Also room towels weren’t the greatest and quite threadbare.

There were 2 swimming pool at the hotel - we used the one near the beach which was lovely and was well maintained. it was lovely and refreshing place to chill out. The quality of the pool towels weren’t great and you had to collect and drop them off at one of 2 designated pool huts on a daily basis.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was a good buffet spread, the internet is free here but is very slower and dropped out frequently.

We found out as we transferred to Jimberan for our next hotel that there is a free shuttle service to the Mecure hotel in Jimberan if you have dinner in the hotel. The only issue in Dec 2012 was the transfer times due to the 'project' that is going on - it seemed to take a long time to get anywhere by road. what seems like a short journey took nearly 90 minutes, we where advised it should take 30 mins.

We enjoyed the location of the hotel and having walked the full length of sanur beach we would definitely stay at this end of the resort again as the beach area is alot quieter than at the northern end and seemed to be alot cleaner.

I would also pre book a taxi/car to pick you up from the airport. the queue to get a taxi at the airport took about 30 mins to queue up and get the airport taxi when we arrived. There where a number of individuals offering taxis but these where 30% more than the offical taxis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tashca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Tashca,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort. We are delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable.

Some remarks that you mentioned related to our room condition, as well as the internet connection are very well noted. Rest assure we will review further for our improvement.

We are waiting to welcome you again, and we hope that your next stay will be even more pleasant.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,236 reviews
1.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#31 of 78 in Sanur
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Sanur

Property: Mercure Resort Sanur
Address: Jl. Mertasari | P.O. Box 3476, Sanur, Denpasar 80034, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#18 Family Hotel in Sanur
#19 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Sanur 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali, a resort with contemporary Balinese design featuring 189 guest rooms in 41 Balinese cottages with traditional thatched rooftops. Each guest room has it’s own private balcony overlooking the tropical garden. Only 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport. Has a direct access to a white sand beach. A stone pathways will lead you around 5 hectares luscious tropical garden, with its fragrant trees, towering palm and coconut tress, and more than 100 species of flora.A perfect place to relax while experiencing the beauty of Bali’s unique culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Sanur Hotel Sanur
Mercure Hotel Sanur
Accor Hotel Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing