We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Sanur
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location.
Sanur is located on the East Coast of Bali away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. the location makes if very easy to travel to central and Northern Bali without the hassle of dealing with the Airport and Kuta Traffic. If you are looking for somewhere to go to relax, but still have the choices of some great evening entertainment, this is the place for you.
I booked one of the cheaper rooms on offer at the hotel and was very happy in regard to value for money. The decor was a little tired, but the rooms in the block next door were undergoing renovations while I was there, so no doubt this will be an ongoing project. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Staff were friendly and service was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pennykmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Pennykmg,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for sharing your recent stay in our resort. It is a real pleasure to hear that you were satisfied.

We are impatiently waiting to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights and was our first visit to Bali.

the rooms where in typical Balinese style houses which where lovely to look at and created lovely grounds. the rooms where of an ok standard although i agree with other reviews that the rooms aren’t spotless and furniture dated. we had a balcony but didn’t use this as the mossies where quite prevalent at night when we were there. Also room towels weren’t the greatest and quite threadbare.

There were 2 swimming pool at the hotel - we used the one near the beach which was lovely and was well maintained. it was lovely and refreshing place to chill out. The quality of the pool towels weren’t great and you had to collect and drop them off at one of 2 designated pool huts on a daily basis.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was a good buffet spread, the internet is free here but is very slower and dropped out frequently.

We found out as we transferred to Jimberan for our next hotel that there is a free shuttle service to the Mecure hotel in Jimberan if you have dinner in the hotel. The only issue in Dec 2012 was the transfer times due to the 'project' that is going on - it seemed to take a long time to get anywhere by road. what seems like a short journey took nearly 90 minutes, we where advised it should take 30 mins.

We enjoyed the location of the hotel and having walked the full length of sanur beach we would definitely stay at this end of the resort again as the beach area is alot quieter than at the northern end and seemed to be alot cleaner.

I would also pre book a taxi/car to pick you up from the airport. the queue to get a taxi at the airport took about 30 mins to queue up and get the airport taxi when we arrived. There where a number of individuals offering taxis but these where 30% more than the offical taxis.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tashca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Tashca,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort. We are delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable.

Some remarks that you mentioned related to our room condition, as well as the internet connection are very well noted. Rest assure we will review further for our improvement.

We are waiting to welcome you again, and we hope that your next stay will be even more pleasant.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

after 2 weeks in Indonesia we arrived in Sanur on dec 30th and had booked another hotel that proved to be quiet far from the beach. We decided to look for something more suitable for New Year's Eve and following days.

We checked availabilities for hotels on "booking.com" and discovered that Mercure showed some rooms available. On an initial call to the Mercure we were given a quotation for a "NY-package" consisting of a room for 2 people + 2 NY "gala dinner". As we were 3 people we decided to drive over to the hotel to have a look and decide in situ.

Once there, a sleek manager, Mr Triana, welcomed us and listed us a confusing number of options, none of which corresponded to what had been offered by phone. Only when i mentioned that I had previously called he could remember that there was something like NY-packages which could give "better value". We were shown a nice duplex-suite in a private garden with direct access to the beach which would accommodate the three of us. He said he needed to "talk to his superiors" in order to "get a cheap rate for you" and he came back with a price which was horrendous but which we were willing to accept. Once we installed in the room we noticed a number of things:

a) the door to the "private garden" was locked an un-openable because the key had gone and with it the main selling point of this room. It took them 4 hours to get this fixed i.e. most of your first day in the hotel consisted of watching friendly but totally incompetent people try to open a locked door with hammers, knifes, screwdrivers, etc… Finally they called a locksmith from outside who opened the door in 5 seconds and that should have been done before renting out the room.

b) the electrical sockets are wired in a way that charging devices (phones, laptops, camera batteries) are systematically without power once you touch a switch. I am an engineer and have not succeded in understanding the algorithm or logic that commands the wiring. It left some of our modern world "necessities" powerless.

When we complained about the lock and the electrical problem we were always treated with friendliness and utter inefficiency. They somehow noticed that we started to be slightly unnerved so they came by us and offered my wife a complimentary "balinese massage" emphasizing the "value" of this "extraordinary gesture". She took the massage the day after and it proved to be of far lesser quality than the ones you can buy on the beach for 50.000 rp (5 USD/hour).

In our package for 3 people they omitted to tell us that the breakfast for our son was not included and they charged an extra 179.000 rp (18 USD) for a mediocre buffet. It is not the mere amount that counts but if a family of 3 books the most expensive suite of an hotel, the least you can expect is that the price you are given includes the same treatment for the whole party. At checkout I asked M. Triana to reconsider this and he called once again "the superiors" who refused to adjust the bill. I said we would not take breakfast in their hotel the second day so they could count one of the not used breakfasts for the previous day and they even refused that - hiding behind so-called rules from ACCOR.

The so called NY-gala dinner was a farce for european standards. Cheese was on display for hours at 30° Celsius and so were oysters. Indonesian dishes were decent. All the rest tasteless crap. Not even water was included in the 140USD "gala-dinner" and had to be ordered separately and signed off. 35 USD for the cheapest bottle of indonesian wine to several hundred USD for decent french wine. Greedy and ridiculous in a country where staff is probably paid less than 300USD per month.

The pools are extremely dirty. In one of the pools you could merely see 6 feet under water. They have a ridiculous vouchermania for everything: vouchers for towels at the pool (they threaten to charge you 20USD if you loose the voucher !!), vouchers for breakfast, vouchers for dinner, vouchers, for SPA, …) …

The staff is friendly but - as said - totally inefficient and hardly trained at all.

All the top executives from ACCOR should make a case-study on how you annihilate customer fidelity with such behaviour.

I would like to invite Mr Triana NOT to post a response to my post because I do not believe a single word of what he says. He should save his time and change the spirit of "his" hotel - it is definitely going in the wrong direction.

DO NOT GO THERE - I do not understand the positive feed-backs. They can only come from unexperienced travelers


I will take the time to post also a feed-back in french

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PittP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank markb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CloudPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location of this hotel is in Sanur area. Very nice location with a lot of shopping places and local restaurants surrounding . Actually this is a good hotel with nice garden, but unfortunately the hotel is not well maintained.
Entering the lobby I found some tiles are cracked , undone , dirty couch . Inside the room you'll find moist odor radiating the room.
There is not too much option for breakfast and waitress were unkind.
There are two swimming pools and there is a private beach .
Basically this hotel needs refurbishments in every aspect. Sadly very nice location and landscape are not counterbalanced with hospitality and building maintenance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikaylaSativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Mikaylasativa,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for your telling us your feedback about your recent stay in our resort. Your concerns on the hotel condition is greatly appreciated. We have noted your comments and rest assure we will review further and take the necessary actions to improve this condition.

We are waiting to welcoming you again, and we hope that your next stay will be even more pleasant.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found that the overall conditions of the hotel were fine but our experiences with the staff were all terrible. There is a complete arrogance about everyone we dealt with for checking in, issues when the safe in our initial room was missing and then when they tried to charge twice even though we had pre-paid through their own website.
It certainly put a negative twist on our stay there and we wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leemundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Leemundo,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for taking your time to share about your recent stay in our resort. We regret to read that your experience, especially related to our staff service, did not meet your expectations.

We have remarked your concern, and rest assure we will take the appropriate measures to address this problem and improve our service quality.

We sincerely hope that you will grant us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
1.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,593 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Sanur

Address: Jl. Mertasari, Sanur, Denpasar 80034, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#15 Family Hotel in Sanur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#22 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Sanur 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali, a resort with contemporary Balinese design featuring 189 guest rooms in 41 Balinese cottages with traditional thatched rooftops. Each guest room has it’s own private balcony overlooking the tropical garden. Only 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport. Has a direct access to a white sand beach. A stone pathways will lead you around 5 hectares luscious tropical garden, with its fragrant trees, towering palm and coconut tress, and more than 100 species of flora.A perfect place to relax while experiencing the beauty of Bali’s unique culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Resort Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Sanur Hotel Sanur
Mercure Hotel Sanur
Accor Hotel Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing