We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff let the place down, won't return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Sanur
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found that the overall conditions of the hotel were fine but our experiences with the staff were all terrible. There is a complete arrogance about everyone we dealt with for checking in, issues when the safe in our initial room was missing and then when they tried to charge twice even though we had pre-paid through their own website.
It certainly put a negative twist on our stay there and we wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leemundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Leemundo,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for taking your time to share about your recent stay in our resort. We regret to read that your experience, especially related to our staff service, did not meet your expectations.

We have remarked your concern, and rest assure we will take the appropriate measures to address this problem and improve our service quality.

We sincerely hope that you will grant us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Actually when we pick up Sanur beach, we have plenty option of hotels to choose. But we decide to pick Mercure Resort due it's front beach and resort type.We can say (Almost) private Front beach due again beach is Sanur is free public beach, but we barely see many people use the beach but one thing for sure Sanur hotel treated the beach in their hotel area respectively. In the afternoon especially after bad weather/rainy season with high tide then beach is full with seaweed, but we can use the upper beach to play. But AMAZINGLY in the calm morning day, the beach is very clean and staff using traditional bull plow and clean the sand. Also security staff is guarding and standby on the beach, around the lay bed, so it's gave a sense of secure when we left our belonging in there while playing on the sand near the sea.Sea is calm almost to have outdoor pool sea and only have depth around 80-150cm. Sea water is clean and water although the colour may greenish not so crystal sharp blue. Our older parent and children enjoying play there.

Now for room, Mercure have an open space set up, indeed resort feel like, with each room enclosed in small bungalows like (some with thatch room), may consist of 2-4 rooms.Green garden sorrounding the hotel area and staff keep working to keep it clean. We get connecting room for our family, side beside in 1 bungalows. So, if you travel in groups and booking several room then you may ask the hotel for specifically arrangement rooms in 1 bungalow or at least near each other. Inside the rooms, TV is LED with good Sattelite channel. Independent Daikin AC we can control using remote. Small fridge, water boiler with tea/coffe amenities and safety bin. Bathroom is shower only (no bath tub). Room is big provided with small sofa. And no doubt of quality of sleep being so quite in the hotel area. Maybe the furniture kind outdated, as we get the bed with problem on 1 of its leg being shaky.

Mercure Sanur have 2 pools. One is bigger which is include adult and kiddie pool. Other one is smaller in front of Pandhawa Restaurant. Main pool is enjoyable & safe for kid to play, they have somekind of water curtain to pass, bring exciting for little children.

Bufee breakfast in Pandhawa restaurant is very good. At our stay, mainly are Western food available, but we very enjoy to take breakfast in nice open area of the restaurant. Restaurant Staff is very helpful and offering tea/cofee when glass is empty.

CONCLUSION : Sanur Hotel is good resort which offer clean & nice front beach area also with good rooms and service for this hotel. Even some reviews may wrote as old hotels in outdated beach (Sanur) but we can feel Mercure still give the best on its own class. Afterall each hotel have its own style, so do Sanur Mercure Resort

Room Tip: If you plan to spend the day on the beach or pool, then better asking for room located behind the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear 4nn4,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

We very much appreciate your comprehensive comment regarding your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback from our guest, and we are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff to keep continuing to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again, and we are waiting impatiently to welcoming you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kojonup
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I arrived on Jan. 6, 2013, hoping to get a nice reprieve after staying in a bad hotel in Sanur. Turned out it was almost the same experience at the Mercure. It's just the room was a nicer. The TV didn't work. I was hoping to catch up with the news, but nothing - oh well.

I got a room with no bath tub. It was a let down, because I was looking forward to take a bath and soak myself in the tub.

Lucky for me I stayed only one night. I don't think I ever want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Sri G,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your recent stay at our resort. We are sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback related to the TV problem has been brought to our attention. Rest assure that we will take the appropriate measure to address this problem with our team and improve our service quality in the future.

We appreciate your sharing and your concern, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mercire Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Sydney
22
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This about my fourth stay at the Mercure in Sanur , WE love it. The price is good, its quiet, rooms are perfect, clean, cool and dark for good sleep ins. The two pools are great.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to main shopping strip, walk or take a taxi for next to nothing.The rooms are not luxurious, but everything u need .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Sharon123s,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

We greatly appreciate your review about your fourth stay with us. We are very delighted to know that you are satisfied, and willing to stay with us for years.

We are waiting impatiently to welcoming you again for your fifth stay very soon.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The room was of a good standard after getting a free upgrade. A very big resort after the small resorts that we stayed in previously in Bali. Reason for choice was the convenient location to the airport before our return home +- 20 minutes on the by pass road.

The breakfast buffet was very good, however the other meals and drinks was very expensive.
Fortunately there is a large selection on the beach walkway and the street accessing the hotel property.

The beach is sheltered by a reef far off shore and bathing is in very shallow water. Great for families with small children. The two resort pools made up for this shortfall.

There are a large number of shops in the street fronting the hotel, but not up to Kuta and Legian numbers.

There are a number of houses of ill repute on the nearby Poso street; these are designated by a X after the street number.

Room Tip: I think most of the views from the rooms are the same with garden views predominating (if any sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Riempie,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

We very much appreciate your willingness to tell us about your recent stay at our resort. It is a great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied.

Thank you again, and we hope that your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
1.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,592 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Sanur

Address: Jl. Mertasari, Sanur, Denpasar 80034, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#15 Family Hotel in Sanur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#22 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $66 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Sanur 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali, a resort with contemporary Balinese design featuring 189 guest rooms in 41 Balinese cottages with traditional thatched rooftops. Each guest room has it’s own private balcony overlooking the tropical garden. Only 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport. Has a direct access to a white sand beach. A stone pathways will lead you around 5 hectares luscious tropical garden, with its fragrant trees, towering palm and coconut tress, and more than 100 species of flora.A perfect place to relax while experiencing the beauty of Bali’s unique culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Resort Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Sanur Hotel Sanur
Mercure Hotel Sanur
Accor Hotel Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing