We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good if a little expensive...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I originally had no idea where I was staying in Sanur and was driven around to a few resorts, initially put off by this one due to the rude remark from the owner of 'you won't find anywhere cheaper'. He was right, unfortunately I could not find anything cheaper that day so had to settle here. As I was now checking in, the owner was more friendly and had a room available for me with the potential of a cheaper room the next day. Room itself was pretty decent; good shower, bed etc with air con all looking fairly clean if a little dated compared to other places I've stayed at in this price range. Location was pretty decent, walking distance to most places in Sanur. Overall, it's probably a pretty average, good value place to stay in Sanur but just was not for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

I've stayed with Willy and the guys twice over the last 8 months - for about 3 months overall. When I come back to Bali, I stay here. The place has a great little feel it to. Breakfast is included daily (simply fare, but good).

Staff are friendly and get to know your name. Willy is a great guy to chat to. Jati is my semi-permanent 'home' (I travel a great deal for work).

A few different options on rooms. I've had a bedroom with ensuite. Small, simple, but clean, tidy and with your own little patio area (its raised off the ground). Comes with a bar fridge and television. You can get wifi in the room, though in Bali the wifi is generally slow. Again, its basic, but it about $30 a night.

The 2 bedroom villa I've stayed in has a private courtyard with a little fish pond. In fact, there are a couple of them around the property. Larger residence obviously, with a kitchen cooker, bigger fridge, kitchen sink.

Bathroom in the villa is larger with a large showerhead and a bath. The single room has a bath too.

Rooms and the villas are A/C and the villa has a ceiling fan too.

The great thing, and it hard to overstate these kinds of things, especially when you travel a lot, is the service. The guys here are attentive and if you have any problem, it gets addressed immediately. There is a reason I've been back there and there is a reason I'll go back again.

In terms of location: Sanur is the older part of Bali - its quiet and more laid back than the areas of Kuta, and the more expensive Seminyak. Sanur's beaches are protected by reef, so you don't have the waves and rips you do in Kuta/ Semiyak, so its great for kids. It'll take you roughly 30mins in a cab to get to Kuta/Semiyak - though this depends on traffic. In the wee hours of the morning its quicker, but on a Friday evening its longer.

There is a 'boardwalk' of sorts along the beach-front with is nice, with a variety of hotel restaurants backing onto the beach and small food vendors. From Jati, it is literally across the road to the beach area.

There is a golf course about 10mins away - which is a great place - and has super-fast internet (a goldmine in Bali). On the same road, about a 5 min walk is the 'Hardys' supermarket, so you can stock up on all your groceries. The main road also has a plethora of cafes/ small bars - you're sure to find something you like.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 27mangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Excellent location, charming balinese bungalows, breakfast served on private balconies in a beautiful garden, very helpful staff... Excellent value for price.
.... but... in fact, there is not but, everything was great !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Always a nice place to stay, very Balinese style rooms, 2 with cooking facilities

4 fully furnished, , beautiful villas, with western kitchen, available short stay or stay long stay, up to one year or more

Staff very good, Western or Indonesian breakfast delivered to your room

Pool very clean, and no diving or jumping, so have breaky by the pool
4 minutes to the beach, so many nice restaurants all within walking distance

No traffic noise at night, and security at night, plus they have just extended the covered parking area

A good place to stay, book directly with the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in Jati hotel and home stay Sanur for 5 days in March, 3 of them in superior rooms and 2 of them in villas (villa number 2 had an exclusive design and was very spacious). We booked it via info@hoteljatiandhomestay.com (since you cannot book it through internationl booking sites like booking.com and similar ones) and exchanged numerous messages with Willy (a very trustworthy person!). An unbelievable thing was that Willy confirmed our booking and didn't request any deposit.
The hotel is in a very good location. Around 5 minute stroll across the street to the sea, only a 5 minute walk to different eateries and a very good shopping mall (bought sooooooooo many presents home starting with ginger coffee and ending with Balinese style dresses!).
Th hotel itsef is small and very private which we really appreciated. It has a swimming pool which we used even in dark (the staff used to lit it for us).
The staff is very friendly. Every morning they brought breakfast to our villa. The lobby has WiFi. The rooms are large and air conditioned and have a separate space for a kitchenette.
Should we consider going back to Sanur, we will definitely address Willy and book this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank specas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Very nice place to stay, we chose it twice during our trip in Indonesia. Very helpful and friendly staff, nice location, garden and swimming pool, and good breakfast.
Sandra & Viktor

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraViktor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hi,
I have spent one night in this Hotel.
reception was ok, the small parking was recently renewed and in good state of maintenance.
An equally small pool in good condition, enogh for a refreshing swim.
The rooms are of 2 categories, Standard and Luxury, but I could not see a great difference in the look. A smal kitchenette was available in my room nr 1.
However, the room walls were not refreshed since long, and the bathroom only had a tub, and a shower handle that nneeded to be kept at abt 1mt in order to get enough water pressure for something similar to a shower.
Breakfast was ok, with juice, scrambled eggs, and toasted bread.

Room Tip: I have tried room 1 and my friends 2 and 4 and could not see apreciable differences except the stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dado_63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.1 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#55 of 78 in Sanur
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#27 of 78 in Sanur
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#37 of 78 in Sanur
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanur House
Sanur House
#25 of 78 in Sanur
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 78 in Sanur
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jati & Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jati & Home Stay

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 168 - 170, Sanur, Denpasar Zip:80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $32 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jati & Home Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Jati & Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jati & Home Stay Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing