We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time back, even better :) !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“2nd time back, even better :) !”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My 2nd time here after 2 years and glad to say that this time round, the experience was even better. Some similar positives and negatives as per the last trip, but what definitely improved over the last visit was the 1. free wi-fi (it's available ALL over Bali now) and 2. the 24 hrs free-flow of freshly ground and brewed coffee (it's actually pretty good coffee). 3. service was actually friendlier and better than last visit.

It was also good to see the hotel take its maintainance seriously. There were a couple of villas under-going complete overhaul when we stayed there- flooring, furnishing etc. were stripped and changed.

Pros:
1. good price
2. not too many units
3. great location - quieter part of Bali, near Hardy's supermarket, beachfront
4. beach front restaurant for daily breakfast
5. great service - the blinds at the beachfront were down due to rain, when we inquired if they could be raised, the staff replied that they were there to prevent rain from coming in. A little while later, once the rain had let up, the same staff came by with another to raise the blinds without any prompting or reminder.

Cons:
1. still no blinds across frosted glass in family room, which means sun light comes in at about 6am, making it difficult for kids to sleep in late.
2. some imperfections to property still e.g. bathroom door that couldn't be locked (didn't matter to me as I was staying with family, but may be important to some)

All in all, a boutique hotel for people looking for something quiet, a little quirky, nicely located, relaxed and affordable place, who are prepared to accept some imperfections.

Room Tip: For family units, ask for odd number rooms which face west. Even numbered rooms face east, meaning i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    304
    104
    26
    14
See reviews for
224
212
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here with a yoga retreat group. The whole experience was terrible. It might not have been so bad, if I didn't pay so much. I realize that this is a cheap hotel so had I not paid much to stay there, I would have expected a lot less. But I paid A LOT to the group leader. She made a big profit I guess. Either way, it was disgusting. I was in India last year and stayed at a few scary places. This one was close to the worst. It was filthy! I was afraid to sleep in the bed, the sheets seemed like they had not been washed in several weeks or months. I took my shoes off and my clean feet were black in about 2 minutes. The smell in the room was terrible. The breakfast was terrible. barely edible. I had a problem locking my door and thought I was going to have to sleep alone without the door being locked. I got it working in the end though after they told me I could not switch rooms. We did yoga outside by the pool and they could not even manage to clean the floor for us. It was an icky experience I hope never to repeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaktiFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Started well with an upgrade to a two bedroomed villa instead of a club lumbung room. A little big for me on my own but nice to have space.

Very pleasant facilities, long narrow block. The restaurant by the beach was wonderful for breakfast and lunch. The pools were like warm baths! The villa was comfortable and air conditioning good. An issue was attended to within an hour.

Handy location, walking distance to Hardys and several restaurants on the main road.

More than happy to stay again. Good value for money for a hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavoPerth29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Centrally located and right on the beach. Gardens are lovely giving you a real Balinese feel. Breakfast area is overlooking the beach and you have a choice of toast, eggs anyway, nasi or mie goreng, fruit etc so was quite adequate. The rooms are not 5 star but we didn't pay for 5 star. The beds are comfortable and the A/c works really well. The bathrooms are quite nice. There are 3 pools on the property and most of the time we found we had a pool to ourselves. Most of the guests were very friendly and chatty when having our breakfast and we met some really nice people. I loved getting up early every morning and watching the sunrise with the local beach dogs. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Tip, out the front on the beach (to the right) is a small warung called Warung Pantai Indah that has cheap cold beers and really good satays. We had quite a few lunches there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicki t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Friendly staff, handy to the big Hardy's 3 story department store, supermarket. Good Massage facilities just up the road. Very safe, located well off the road right next to the beach. Lots of nice resaurants walking distance. Breakfast is superb and good value.

Room Tip: Its well priced so go for the most expensive and have breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norvsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel on the beach in Sanur as we were only staying a few days. I'm very glad I chose Peneeda View as I thought it was excellent value and had all the facilities you need. I recommend the mother & daughter who do the massages there - some of the best massages we've ever had (and that includes professional ones in Australia!) and pretty much the same price as you pay on the beach. I'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms have a great view and also get a nice cool breeze off the ocean but the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our second stay at Peneeda View. We stayed in a beach side bungalow and were very happy with it for the price. It is clean, roomy and very well located. If you usually stay in big brand hotels at 3 times the price you may find it basic so don't expect top quality for a low price.
Our one criticism about the rooms is that the water pressure is not satisfactory and you can not get a comfortable shower.
In the past we have found the staff a bit lazy but that was not the case this last visit.
The food in the restaurant is very basic and a missed opportunity for this hotel because very few guests eat there except for the free breakfast. When this hotel first opened its food was probable on par with other establishments but over the past 20 years the quality and variety of food choices in Sanur has probably moved up two or three notches unfortunately this one has not moved with the times. They really need to employ a chef. Having said this it is not a big deal because there are plenty of restaurants to chose from nearby. We will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.9 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#27 of 78 in Sanur
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#25 of 78 in Sanur
2,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peneeda View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peneeda View Beach Hotel

Property: Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 89, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#21 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Peneeda View Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peneeda View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peneeda View Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing