We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayu Manis shines”
Review of Kayu Manis

Kayu Manis
Ranked #4 of 437 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayu Manis shines”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Having missed out on dining at Kayu Manis on our last visit to Bali 2 years ago when it was closed for renovation & expansion, we were very happy to be back there a couple of nights ago. There were 8 of us including a 3 year old and all tastes were catered for beautifully. The menu comprises some Balinese and classic European dishes. The new extension includes an aircon room but we sat in the open air part. We had duck leg, duck breast, tuna steak, Balinese chicken salad, chocolate pudding, home-made mango ice cream and more. Every dish was delicious and the presentation beautifully done. We had Two Islands chardonnay to drink with the food - which was all reasonably priced.

Our 3 year old grandson was taken by Ecka the waitress to see what was happening in the kitchen, he certainly enjoyed the attention. We will be back at Kayu Manis again for another meal before we leave Bali next week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaketty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    246
    94
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“2nd visit 2 years later”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We took our friends here after visiting 2 years ago and again this restaurant did not disappoint. My good friends had just renewed their wedding vows along the beachfront to one another and we wanted to take them for a special dinner, the beachfront was also a bit windy.. beautiful modern food, excellent value and service. I love the little extra tasting we for also of eggplant and tuna steak, delish..Thanks Bagus and Staff

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best of Sanur”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Anyone who has dined out in Sanur will be aware that there are not a lot of standout places, in fact probably none so for that reason I think Kayu Manis is the best. The best position to sit would no doubt be at the very front as the separate air conditioned section at the rear is a little stark. Service is very good. Food on reading the menu, doesn't jump out at you, but we went twice and each thing chosen was very good. Highly recommend the Balinese chicken salad which is listed as an entree but too big for that so we shared as an entree on the second visit. This would make a wonderful light lunch. If you've eaten at Charming and liked it, then I suggest trying Kayu Manis as it is in my opinion superior.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJGurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“one of the better ones in Bail”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Kayu Manis is a smallish restaurant tucked away in a side street, once you find it it has a very pleasant road facing entrance. We sat in the air conditioned section at the rear of the restaurant which was fantastic considering it was extremely humid that night, the only negative is that if you have a loud party of diners in the same area the noise can be a bit annoying. The food was certainly above average and we could not fault any of the dishes we ordered. The portions however are not overly substantial, if you are a big eater you may find yourself still a bit hungry at the end. The owner chef and staff were very pleasant and the chef made the effort to come to the table to check that every thing was to our satisfaction which was a nice touch. As the taxis do not pass this restaurant as often as most others you may have to walk up to the main road or get the restaurant to order a taxi. Overall a very pleasant experience and worth a visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Loved this place ended up coming here twice it was that good. Presentation is perfect and the pumpkin soup YUM YUM YUM never tasted a soup as good as this. Lovely and clean and the staff so friendly. Went the second time for my uncles birthday and they even gave us all a surprise birthday dessert.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 967Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Manis also viewed

 

Been to Kayu Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing