We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly a good restaurant.”
Review of Kayu Manis

Kayu Manis
Ranked #4 of 437 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Certainly a good restaurant.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice restaurant. Clean and very welcoming decor. Mostly friendly staff (always one which ruins it for the rest). Prices were very reasonable and the food (including some componentry surprises) and deserts was seriously excellent. My only comment for improvement would have to be regarding portion size. I thought over all everyone had small portions. Although given excellent presentation, you would be forgiven for confusing this place for a fine dining restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank MFGhodsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    246
    94
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One coffee machine please Bapak Bagus”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Despite some criticisms, the chef and owner of Kayu Manis has never claimed his restaurant to be fine dining. However, I think it has lost its charm since the whole restaurant was renovated from a little authentic Balinese style to a minimalist all white decor. We are still puzzled by the little garden which we thought would have looked better with a water feature. The service is still great even though one or two staff could still do with better training. The food is always great with a few additions to the old menu. A coffee machine that can make real coffees like latte would certainly be most welcome as well as a choice of coffees, not just Balinese.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, but not as good as it proclaims”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Based on TA reviews, we tried this place for dinner. The interior was very contemporary, cool and pleasant and the ambiance nicely embodied the western-indonesian fusion menu. We were greeted with typical, yet great Indonesian hospitality. They have a clean and open kitchen, which always instills a sense of confidence as you can see what's cooking (and how it's being cooked).

We had beef carpaccio, grilled duck and seafood skewer, and for desert steamed chocolate and tartufo. The presentation of the dishes was very nice and the staff might just have been the best we've seen in Indonesia. However, although the food tasted pretty good, it was by no means extraordinary and to my opinion not on par with the rest of the experience. I feel that the overall presentation, interior, relatively high prices and TA reviews raised expectations which unfortunately weren't satisfied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arrewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

What a breath of fresh air. A fab and funky little eatery that is small, ultra clean and delivers great quality food at a great price. Highly recommended place that's a cut above the normal Aussie/Irish/expat bland eating places that rule the roost in Bali.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardinya
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We took some friends here and we had an excellent evening. I love the way guests are greeted and farewelled. The food lived up to expectations with all of enjoying the duck and seafood. While the prices are competitive for bali we could not eat out at home for the price which included two bottles of wine. We will definitely be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Racheala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Manis also viewed

 

Been to Kayu Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing